We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pismo Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pismo Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Pismo Beach Hotel
230 Pomeroy Avenue, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This was a GREAT experience. The place was very nice, and comfortable too. It is rare to check in somewhere and instantly feel relaxed and at home. The location was great, as there were many placed to walk to. I should also comment that the staff was incredibly friendly. There was a nice little continental breakfast in the lobby where you can sit and chat with a morning coffee and bagel. I can't emphasize how great this experience was!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMike, Owner at Pismo Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for the kind words. We do have a great staff and I am happy that you feel at home here. Next time you visit, please check out Cafe Mon Ami just across from the hotel lobby, as they have excellent breakfast and desert crepes plus all of you favorite coffees, lattes and cappuccinos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    33
    8
    9
    5
See reviews for
22
61
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one stormy night in February 2014.

I was checked in by a super nice guy to the two bedroom "Captain's Suite".

While a bit oddly laid out, with one bedroom accessed through a Jack-and-Jill bathroom, the beds were comfortable and the room clean. Updates include a newer mini fridge and flat screen TV's. Nice view too.

Parking was easy despite the central location thanks to a generous parking lot in back.

I would recommend this place without hesitation.

Also, we asked about motorcycle parking (for a future Oceano Dunes) and it appeared to be a routine request.

Looking forward to returning in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMike, Owner at Pismo Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay in the recently remodeled 'Captain's Suite.' We actually moved the front door and 'captured' a substantial amount of hallway and foyer to make this suite larger for some of the large family groups that stay here. It also has an adjoining door to the room next door, making the combination 3-bedrooms, 2 baths plus kitchen.

Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The hotel is in almost on the actual beach. It's very close to the 101 freeway. Awesome view on the ocean.
I stayed with friends in a little annex (unit #C) that was in a fact a little apartment, with a kitchen and separate rooms. Very clean, comfortable.
Service was good. The lobby is gorgeous.
We had a great rate, probably because it's the low season.

For once I don't have anything to say, that means a lot!

Room Tip: Ask for unit #C, upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMike, Owner at Pismo Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you, Bernard. The upper deck C Suite is our flagship unit with 3 bedrooms, 2 baths full kitchen and living room plus the private deck. With the ADA compliant A and B suites down below it makes a great place for a family reunion or small corporate getaway. The private fenced in 'compound' area has a built in bbq and outdoor sink for the suites. And, of course this place is just a short walk from Harry's next door.

Come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I stayed in the 3 bedroom "apartment" that is separate from the hotel. The room was HUGE, with a fridge, tv's in every room and even a washer dryer. Everything was very clean, bed was comfortable, and while the styling made have been a little dated, it was still very nice. The free continental breakfast was a nice bonus too. My only complaint is that the free wi-fi doesn't reach all the way back to those apartments, but that really isn't much of a deal breaker. Also, the weather was rainy, so we didn't have a chance to really use the bbq or the deck to enjoy the great view of the beach and the pier.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMike, Owner at Pismo Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for the review Andy. We enjoy reading about your good experience and we will keep your comments in mind as we constantly strive to improve and upgrade the customer experience here at the Pismo Beach Hotel.

Come back and see us again when the weather is better and until then, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Hills, California, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I had recently stayed at this hotel and the service was awesome. Ben was really great every time i spoke to him....The service at this facility was through the roof....If your going to be in this area please check them out, I promise you will get the service you want.....

Aja

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMike, Owner at Pismo Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Pismo Beach and your stay at the Pismo Beach Hotel. Our staff strives to provide excellent service and I am gratified to see that customers like you appreciate it.

Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stopped here on our way up to San Francisco. Hotel was overpriced for the dated style but it was getting late so we took the room, after this we noticed the door did not shut properly as the lock itself did not sit securely flush. The door did lock, just not securely but we risked going out to the BBQ across the road (excellent). On our return just outside the door a couple were having a physical fight, which ended with the ‘man’ kicking open the fire escape and shouting abuse from outside the woman then spent a full hour shouting woman beater out of the window (we had called security who had alerted the police). When the police arrived the woman then spent an hour arguing with them before finally calming down (I could give the entire life story the walls were that thin!), 3 hours later the man returned and you can start this story again. Despite several complaints during the night and in the morning, we only received a massive 5% off the bill. I believe we probably got 5% of the sleep so not sure why we had to pay nearly in full. On another note I would question the description of free continental breakfast....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMike, Owner at Pismo Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
I am so sorry that your stay was not enjoyable due to the other guests who were fighting. We try to minimize those unfortunate experiences with security cameras on every floor and security guard patrolling constantly. Sometimes we fall short.

Glad you discovered Mo's bbq across the street - they are a favorite of mine as well.

Your comments about the locks are noted as well.

I hope you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves on your next trip through Pismo Beach. We will make every effort to make your stay more enjoyable than the last one. Please ask for our manager, Debbie Scott when you come by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here two nights. The location is perfect. Walking distance to the pier, restaurants, bars. We love the bar next door (I forgot the name). The price of the room is great. They also provide free parking, free wifi, free breakfast. I would stay here again if I come back to Pismo Beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMike, Owner at Pismo Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thanks for the review and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again on your next trip through Pismo Beach. By the way, the name of the bar next door is Harry's Night Club & Beach Bar. Good things happening over there, too. Look them up on Facebook to keep up to date on the happenings.

Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pismo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pismo Beach Hotel

Address: 230 Pomeroy Avenue, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pismo Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pismo Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.