We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Police and broken door!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pismo Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pismo Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Pismo Beach Hotel
230 Pomeroy Avenue, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Police and broken door!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stopped here on our way up to San Francisco. Hotel was overpriced for the dated style but it was getting late so we took the room, after this we noticed the door did not shut properly as the lock itself did not sit securely flush. The door did lock, just not securely but we risked going out to the BBQ across the road (excellent). On our return just outside the door a couple were having a physical fight, which ended with the ‘man’ kicking open the fire escape and shouting abuse from outside the woman then spent a full hour shouting woman beater out of the window (we had called security who had alerted the police). When the police arrived the woman then spent an hour arguing with them before finally calming down (I could give the entire life story the walls were that thin!), 3 hours later the man returned and you can start this story again. Despite several complaints during the night and in the morning, we only received a massive 5% off the bill. I believe we probably got 5% of the sleep so not sure why we had to pay nearly in full. On another note I would question the description of free continental breakfast....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMike, Owner at Pismo Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
I am so sorry that your stay was not enjoyable due to the other guests who were fighting. We try to minimize those unfortunate experiences with security cameras on every floor and security guard patrolling constantly. Sometimes we fall short.

Glad you discovered Mo's bbq across the street - they are a favorite of mine as well.

Your comments about the locks are noted as well.

I hope you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves on your next trip through Pismo Beach. We will make every effort to make your stay more enjoyable than the last one. Please ask for our manager, Debbie Scott when you come by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    31
    7
    9
    5
See reviews for
21
60
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here two nights. The location is perfect. Walking distance to the pier, restaurants, bars. We love the bar next door (I forgot the name). The price of the room is great. They also provide free parking, free wifi, free breakfast. I would stay here again if I come back to Pismo Beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMike, Owner at Pismo Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thanks for the review and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again on your next trip through Pismo Beach. By the way, the name of the bar next door is Harry's Night Club & Beach Bar. Good things happening over there, too. Look them up on Facebook to keep up to date on the happenings.

Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Are there more lavish places to stay in the area, yes, but these rooms are put together very nice, offer a great view, and you CAN NOT beat the location. Best of all, the price of the rooms. The room we had was great. We overlooked Pomeroy and still could see the beach as well. Nothing better first thing in the morning than that site right there. They also have a decent continental breakfast in the lobby. Will be staying again and again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMike, Owner at Pismo Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thanks for the review Ivan. We take a lot of pride in providing a great value and we are very happy to have great customers like you who appreciate it.

See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester le street
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Arrived to a seamless check in, and free wireless, a nice touch.
Went to beach, about 300 yards away, hotel in a superb location.

Only niggle would be when the neighbours woke up, sounded like a freight train was passing through as they had a shower!!!!

Other than that a really enjoyable 1 night stay.

Room Tip: Look for a sea view room, possibly a bit more £££ wise, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel was decent to stay at. The staff was nice. I think the best part was how convenient the location is. You are in walking distance to everything. It was nice to be able to walk down at nine at night and walk the pier. We had a semi secluded room in the back by the parking lot. It was quiet for the most part. Monday morning I think will always be loud because the trash man comes. I love that we did not have to worry about parking while we were there and they gave us a pass to park in the back. It isn't fancy, but clean. Some might think the price is a little steep for what you get, but I did like it.

Room Tip: We were in room 209 which was on the second floor in the back by the parking lot. You had sort of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Pismo Beach is fun but definitely not upscale and neither is this hotel. Always up for an adventure I stayed here while visiting my daughter. The room was small for two full beds, no side tables, and had a lean to it, but that's part of the adventure. Bathroom was ok but the small cabinet sink didn't have room to put stuff on and my daughter dropped her phone in the sink which had a slow drain. Yep! Trash truck came by each morning at 6:30am. We skipped the breakfast because of the packaged pastries. Beautiful view, but a bit noisy as we were near the elevator and the stairs. Love the beach and pier but would try another hotel is Pismo.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
469 reviews 469 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
324 helpful votes 324 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were desperate for lodging the evening we arrived in Pismo Beach; and, as we searched hotels along the coast, we just couldn't find anything to accommodate two adults and one child. Apparently, California law requires two beds; and, no one had a roll-away; or a two-bed room.

Luckily, we stumbled upon the back parking lot of the Pismo Beach Hotel; and, I went inside to inquire about a 2-bed room. They did have one available; at a modest price, which we took.

The property is old... and, being renovated -- look at the new lobby, the new fire escape, the new sign out front... so, it's quirky. My family and I got the biggest kick out of wrestling with the old elevator, with the sliding gate; and, security doors. The back patio is charming, with hand-laid brick around the whole area, forming what looks like an owner's suite; but, is currently vacant.

Bedding was comfortable; the rooms are quiet; except the party on the main street does continue until 2:00 AM... the bathroom and furnishings could use an update. But, registration was friendly, informative; and, very accommodating. If we are ever back in Pismo Beach, we'd love to check this place out as we hope it continues to improve.

Room Tip: Don't forget, free Continental Breakfast at 7:00 AM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pismo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pismo Beach Hotel

Address: 230 Pomeroy Avenue, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pismo Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pismo Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.