We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really cute place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pismo Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Pismo Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Pismo Beach Hotel
230 Pomeroy Avenue, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Bakersfield,CA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Really cute place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I really liked this hotel. The free parking and how it is close to everything really make this place amazing. Its right across the street from Mo's Barbeque and Splash cafe. 2 of my favorite restaurants in Pismo. Not to mention right above the crepe place.
The front desk people are really friendly. The room made me feel cozy like I was at home. A comfy king sized bed, and a cute little fireplace. I do however have 1 compliant. It was really noisy in the morning. Our room did face the street though. Im sure if we would have requested a back facing room it wouldnt have been a problem.

Room Tip: if you want quiet request a back or side facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    36
    11
    10
    6
See reviews for
22
67
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

After reviewing many Hotels in the Pismo Beach Area. This is by far the best Hotel in Pismo when it comes to Guest Services starting with Debbie, Front Desk Agent Robin, Miguel in Maintenence and all her other staff. We had a small wedding at this property and could not be happier. They were able to accomodate our wedding party and all of our guests. Our immediate family stayed in the apartment suites and the wedding was held in the courtyard. We received so many compliments about our choice of venue. The best part is that you are right downtown located just across the street from Splash Cafe and a short walk to the pier. Thank you so much Pismo Beach Hotel for the wonderful memories and we will see you on our anniversary!6

Room Tip: The apartment suites are worth every plent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMike, Owner at Pismo Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for the kind words, we are glad you had a good time. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My Napa Winetasters group recently concluded our 3rd annual Central Coast road trip headquartered at the hotel. 11 couples enjoyed the exceptional attention of Manager Debbie and her staff. Would be great also for a large family gathering. 4 couples stayed in the hotel's adjacent apartment units, with its private courtyard providing a gathering place for wine sharing and two planned bbq-in dinners. The evening it was too chilly for outside dining the staff converted the lobby into a cozy private dining room for us.
For the wine fans the location is very handy to the Edna Valley (20+ wineries), Arroyo Grande and the budding Avila Beach tasting scene. All can be reached in a few minutes via quiet back roads. And do not miss the Tastes of the Valleys wine shop/tasting bar 2 blocks up from the hotel. Superb selection and they will open any wine in the store for "by the glass" pouring.
As others mentioned, great location for beach, pier and all of the favorite beach fare from a younger era -- Splash, Brad's, Mo's...
Aside: we were there when the huge rooftop "PISMO" sign was reinstalled. This well-worn beacon to the town of Pismo was completely rebuilt by the family that owns the hotel.

Room Tip: Apartments highly recommended for groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMike, Owner at Pismo Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you very much, we are very happy that you and the wine tasting group enjoyed your stay. We appreciated the opportunity to host your group each year. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Location is great...close to beach restaurants..close walking distance to the beach and pier...very nice staff, room was small but very clean..great place to spend a long weekend...fourth floor street side room had view of beach....a diamond in the rough...can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: front room on the fouth floor has a nice view of the beach, pier and downtown area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
248 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This hotel reminded me of beach hotels I stayed in as a child. We had a king suite so had lotsbofnroom. I thought that it was good value for money. We had a view of the beach & pier from our room. The lift was old & frustrating to use if you had a couple of lzrhe suitcases as we did. Wifi was only available in the lobby & was of line during our stay. Staff when we arrived we helpful, but gave us incorrect information a. Couple of times. Despite this I'd rather stay here than in are sort.

Room Tip: Book early. Choose a suite if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMike, Owner at Pismo Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Sorry for the communication mixup at the front desk, we will work hard to correct that. Glad you enjoyed your stay overall and hope you will come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The location for this hotel is great. It's right in the middle of Pismo Beach and the pier is at the end of the block. There is also a great sports bar right next door. The hotel staff was very accommodating to our group as well. I tried to call multiple hotels out there and very few returned my calls - this was one that did AND they were very helpful. It's an older hotel but it was recently remodeled so it has the cool exterior and nice interior. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Worth, TX
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stopped at Pismo Beach Hotel on our trip to San Francisco, as my husband had experienced summer vacations here as a boy (we are now retired). What a find! The hotel is very near the ocean, and though we didn’t have ocean views from our room on the fourth floor, some rooms do. From the moment we entered into the beautiful courtyard, we knew we were in for a treat. We rode up the old-fashioned elevator in style (the kind with the metal accordion closure, followed by the door that closes – I think they used to be run by an elevator operator).

As we were staying for one night only, we did not opt for a suite. Our room was clean, comfortable, and full of charm, with its gas-burning stove (not needed!) and so many original or restored furnishings and fixtures. We wondered if some of Clark Gable’s or Bette Davis’s entourage might have stayed there. (We figured that the stars would have been in the suites!) The bathroom did not have a plethora of electric outlets, but you know, that was life in the 1930s. We were willing to sacrifice just to enjoy the history.

We were absolutely blown away by the magnificent first floor, replete with Spanish-style arches, original wooden bar (now serving as the breakfast area), and comfortable seating everywhere. Maybe the best part of the whole experience was our chat with Robin and Ellie, though. (So yes, the service exceeds the historical charm, as difficult as that may be to believe!) They really enjoy what they do and made the whole stay that much more special. Robin filled us in on how Pismo Beach has changed over the years, where to go for the “really best” clam chowder, and how to enjoy the ambiance of the place (as if we hadn’t already!). Ellie wanted to make sure that we were well-fed and comfortable. Together, they acted as long-lost nieces; we thoroughly enjoyed sharing stories and chuckling over each of them!

From the hotel, we walked to the beach and the pier and wished we could have stayed longer. I now understand why my husband’s family vacationed here; the whole experience was grand.

Room Tip: We did not notice any renovation noise where we were, although we noticed lots of workmen the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#5 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 809 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#12 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 727 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge
3.1 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#15 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 567 reviews
0.7 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#10 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pismo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pismo Beach Hotel

Address: 230 Pomeroy Avenue, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Pismo Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pismo Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.