We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, nice place, awesome value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pismo Lighthouse Suites

Save Saved
You added Pismo Lighthouse Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2411 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #3 of 28 hotels in Pismo Beach
Transcona, Manitoba, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great view, nice place, awesome value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I will start with the bad... no air conditioning & if you don't get oceanfront part of your suite is facing the freeway.

We were there Feb 12-14 spending 2 nights in a suite with my parents. My husband & I took the room by the elevator as I knew it & the traffic would surely keep my mom awake. The room had no a/c so we had to sleep with the window open as it was way to hot in there otherwise. The traffic wasn't too bad except for motorcycles but the biggest issue was people leaving at 5-6am chatting right outside the window waiting for the elevator and the ice machine shifting the ice at 7:15am that just about made me crap my drawers as it startled me out of a very sound sleep. I could have sworn it was a car crashing right through the hotel! We were on the 2nd floor which was open air to the freeway. On the lower level they had put windows all down the side so a lot of the sound was blocked.

Now onto the pluses... Check in was a breeze and very welcoming. They told us where to park to best access where we were going to be staying. The room was nicely decorated and very clean. The 2nd bedroom was a bedroom with a bathroom attached... sink/counterspace outside of the bathroom and toilet & tub/shower in the bathroom, an arm chair & TV & a cupboard for hanging clothes. It was very hot in there as soon as we opened the door even though it was already late in the evening.

The main part of the room was larger and contained a fridge, bench & table & chairs & another TV. It also had the same style bathroom with the sink outside it. There was also a patio door out to the balcony with a view of the courtyard. During the day you can also see beyond the other buildings to the ocean.

There was lots to do here if you didn't want to leave the hotel. Large checkers, ping pong, a putting green, pool, hot tub & lots of games.

The breakfast was very good with waffles, toast, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, cereals, pastries & juices, coffees & teas to pick from. There was no breakfast meats but there was so many other choices. I enjoyed that you could sit outside with a bit of an ocean view to enjoy eating.

We did use the pool & hot tub and both were in good shape and clean. Lots of towels. An awesome spot to sit and enjoy watching the sun set!

We also used the coin laundry which was very handy.

If you come to this area make sure you go to the drive on the beach at the Oceano Dunes state park. It was so much fun for the guys especially.

Room Tip: Do not get a room on the 2nd floor right by the elevator if someone is going to be sleeping in the 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikmund, General Manager at Pismo Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Denise, thank you so much for your detailed review of your stay with us. We are very happy that you chose the Pismo Lighthouse Suites during your visit to the Central Coast. You definitely were able to explore a lot of the amenities that we have to offer. We appreciate all of your comments and hope to see you next time you are back on the California coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    466
    219
    43
    17
    5
See reviews for
386
170
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is a fantastic to place to stay for families. They have spacious, nicely decorated 2bed room suites. Perfect for a family of 4. The 2nd room has 2 queen beds and can be closed off from the master room. 2 bathrooms plus fridge & microwave. The buffet breakfast has a great selection. Facilities are the BEST! The children LOVED the games deck which has Chess, Mini Golf, Ping-Pong, Badminton.... hours of entertainment and the opportunity to make new friends. Off course you would expect a pool great +plus hot tub. It is in a wonderful cliff top spot and with a short walk down to a huge beach. There are plenty of great restaurants around, so all in all a perfect family weekend break

Room Tip: Would suggest either sea front or facing the sports deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikmund, General Manager at Pismo Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
It's great to hear that you had a great family weekend break. It's so much fun to watch the families out having fun on the game deck, just as your kids did. Please let us know if we can help with any future weekend getaways!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The place was great! Friendly staff, lovely rooms with a lot of space and storage. We had an ocean view (not ocean front room) and it wasn't so bad, but I regretted not having chosen the oceanfront. The rooms are large and clean. Be aware that you do hear walking upstairs if on lower floor, but it did not bother us. Super family friendly. The kids loop bed playing ping pong, badminton and chess on the human size chessboard. They also have board games available in the lobby! We will definitely be staying here next te we're in Pismo. (They also have another sister property in Avila Beach which is also very nice!)

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikmund, General Manager at Pismo Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send us a review of your stay at the Pismo Lighthouse Suites. It was our pleasure having you and your family stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Pismo Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Overall a great stay, clean rooms, good location, awesome view. The front desk clerk asked what the occasion was and we told her it was one of our stops on a road trip for my boyfriends birthday, so she gave us a complimentary bottle of wine! So nice!! Only downfall... The jacuzzi took 2 hours to warm up in the morning, but luckily we were able to enjoy it the night before.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikmund, General Manager at Pismo Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Stephanie, we were thrilled you chose to stop at our hotel during your road trip down the coast. We're glad that you enjoyed the wine. If you need assistance with a future visit, please don't hesitate to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed at the Lighthouse Suites for one night on our way to Northern California from LA. It is the perfect place to break up the drive. Upon arriving we were warmly welcomed by Matt. He informed us that our room was ready and a crib for the baby was already in the room. We had a ocean view suite. The view was gorgeous! The room was spacious and clean. Everything about the Lighthouse suites was wonderful - easy to find, great parking, quiet, wonderful activities for kids, great self-serve breakfast and fantastic ocean front location. The only problem we experienced was the pull out couch mattress was terrible to sleep on. The mattress on the regular bed was great. Otherwise we had a fantastic time. Thank you so much!

Room Tip: I would imagine all the suites are wonderful. Of course the Ocean View is well worth the extra money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikmund, General Manager at Pismo Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
I agree, the ocean view suites are well worth the money. The view is sure hard to beat, especially at sunset. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night on our drive down from Monterey to L.A. We arrived after dark, and it was really quite around the place. Check in was not overly friendly, but prompt and efficient.
Our family suite was located at the front of the buildings, overlooking the main road. Noise wasn't too much of a problem. We could hear the traffic but it didn't bother us too much.
The suite itself was huge. There were two bedrooms, both with queen size beds, flat screen T.V's and own bathrooms. There was also a coffee maker and small fridge. There wasn't any complimentary milk or creamer in our room so hubby went down to reception and asked for some there.
The buildings and grounds were very clean and well set out. Rooms at the back (away from the road) overlooked the ocean.
Complimentary breakfast was plentiful and served in a comfortable, clean setting
We enjoyed our brief stay and would return if ever in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikmund, General Manager at Pismo Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. While we don't stock milk in the room, I'm glad that you were assisted by the front desk. We are happy that you chose to stay with us during your travels down the California coast. Thank you as well for sharing your check in experience, as we are always striving to be better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Pismo Lighthouse was a pleasant surprise. Partial ocean room came with a great view of the ocean, along with a second bedroom, which was perfect with kids. Tasteful, nice decorations and the room felt very clean and spacious. Great breakfast that we enjoyed on the wrap around terrace outside. We will come back soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikmund, General Manager at Pismo Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We love to surprise! It was our pleasure to welcome you and your family to the Pismo Lighthouse Suites. If you need any assistance with a future visit please don't hesitate to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pismo Lighthouse Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pismo Lighthouse Suites

Address: 2411 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pismo Lighthouse Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy this recently renovated, all-suite, oceanfront family hotel in Pismo Beach featuring spacious two-room/two-bath suites with private balconies or patios. Enjoy the family play deck with ping-pong, badminton, multiple putting greens and life-size chess and checkers board. Guests also enjoy a daily deluxe continental breakfast, guest laundry facilities, fitness center, spa services, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Loews Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Pismo Lighthouse Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pismo Lighthouse Hotel Pismo Beach
Pismo Lighthouse Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pismo Lighthouse Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.