We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pismo Lighthouse Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pismo Lighthouse Suites to your Saves list
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2411 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15%
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Loved our Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We booked this hotel because the room configuration suited our needs and it was a beach front property. We were definitely not disappointed in the room or the property. Our room was one of the family suites, with two queen beds and a bath in one room and a king bed, bathroom, sitting area and microwave/fridge in the other room. There is no actual "living room" or kitchen, just a table and two chairs and a small fridge and microwave in the larger king size bed area. The larger room also had access to a balcony area that had two chairs and a small table.

Everything was very clean, well maintained and nicely decorated in a seaside motif. Being from Colorado, having the ocean anywhere close to us was wonderful. We had a teeny, tiny view from the balcony, but the beach access from the hotel is very close and easy to get to. The hotel is right on the beach, although a huge cliff restricts immediate access; a somewhat uneven wooden stairway gets you down to the sand and we had a wonderful time collecting seashells and dozens of sand dollars. There is also a fitness room, nice pool and hot tub area and another area for playing ping-pong, badminton, basket ball, mini golf and giant chess or checkers.

The breakfast offerings were reasonable, primarily carbs, but hard boiled eggs were available along with the normal cereal offerings, fruit bowl, donuts, sweet rolls, toast, and bagels. An attendant served Belgian waffles made in irons that turned out four mini Belgian waffles at a time - considering all the kids that are here, having an attendant for this is brilliant! During cooler months, there is very little inside seating, but if it is warm enough, sitting on the deck surrounding the breakfast room is a great choice.

The buildings have wood floors and the hallways are, of course, also wood, so the noise level is a little loud, but not unbearable. I loved the fact that each room had it's own thermostat to control room temperature, although there is NO air conditioner, there is the option to have the fan run continually, which helps to drown out some of the noise. There are also ceiling fans in each room and the windows and patio doors can be opened to let in the ocean breezes.

All in all, we were in love with the place and could have stayed a lot longer than five nights!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikmund, General Manager at Pismo Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We loved having you and your family stay with us on your visit out to the coast from Colorado. I am glad that everybody enjoyed their stay. While you did stay five nights, I do agree that a longer visit next time is in order! Please let us know if we can assist in any way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    242
    53
    18
    6
See reviews for
421
188
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Romoland, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

On our way to San Francisco we wanted to make a stop but we didnt have reservations, we stopped at Pismo lighthouses and they only had 2 rooms , beachfront! Since it was my birthday we decided it was worth it, and we are soooo glad we did, we had our 2 kids with us, the room had a sofa sleeper in the living room we they spent the night with the sounds of waves all night, the view was incredible and the beach was beautiful, clean and not many people at all, we walked to the pier and it wasn't far , less than a mile i think, the room was clean, the only "but" i have is the mattress, it was a lil too hard for my preference, but that's what it is, my preference, my husband had no complaint about it, so i guess ijust like fluffy mattresses..... and continental breakfast was great, a lot of variety...it got a lil crowded but they still had plenty of selection for everybody.....we are so happy with our stay that we are planning on going back in september for my husbands bday, this time with a reservation.....we def recommend Pismo lighthouse to everyone!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikmund, General Manager at Pismo Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Elena, thank you for spending your birthday with us at the Pismo Lighthouse Suites. While reservations are almost always recommended I'm glad that it worked out that we had availability for you. We look forward to seeing you back in September for your husband's birthday celebration!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night while in the area for a college tour of Cal Poly. We had our dog with us, as did quite a few of the other guests. The rooms were extremely clean, and decorated very appropriately in a nautical theme. The suite we had was overlooking the beach, so we could hear and see the water - very relaxing and beautiful. Each of the suites facing the beach had a small fenced in patio, which was perfect for our dog, as well as grassy areas and walking paths.

It's not easy to find a dog-friendly place to stay that is also clean and up to my standards, but Pismo Lighthouse Suites definitely does. The only small problem we noticed was that the room had a bit of an odor when we first arrived, but leaving the sliding door open for a while took care of that. All-in-all, a perfect place for families and those traveling with dogs!

Room Tip: If you're traveling with your dog, ask for a bottom floor room facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikmund, General Manager at Pismo Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We are happy that you chose us for a stopping point while looking at colleges. I agree, our pet friendly ocean front suites on the ground floor are the perfect arrangement for families and pets. Whether you end up with a future Cal Poly Mustang in the family or not we would love to have the entire family come back to visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Great place to stay, close to the beach (you have to walk near a couple of other properties but that's not a long way). I was there in the middle of the week, so it was also cheap.

Staff was helpful and expedited cleaning my room, while I waited on the beach, because I checked in quite too early.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

What a great place!!!! From the time we made our reservation, to check-in, to the room cleaning staff till we left, the Service was outstanding every step of the way.
The folks working in the free breakfast (served 7-10 A.M.) were just as great, even offering to make our waffles, and actually kept the place spotless, even when the families with several kids "attacked."
The rooms are extra large (we had an unbelievable ocean view) with 2 separate bathrooms. The housecleaning staff kept ours spotless our entire visit, and couldn't have been nicer.
The rooms/suites are so comfortable you almost forget you are in a hotel, with extra pillows, complimentary toiletries, flat screens in both large rooms, etc.
You can walk down to the beach within 3-5 minutes. Great views for sunrise and sunset, and listen to the surf (should you choose) all night. We miss it already.
Right off 101 and only about a mile to town. Just far enough and close enough!!
Do yourself and your family (they will thank you...probably hug you) and stay here anytime you visit the area.

Room Tip: If available, you certainly would want an ocean view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikmund, General Manager at Pismo Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for the great review and sharing your experience with us. The Galley (breakfast room) staff works very hard and I am sharing your great comments with them. I agree, the sunsets and sunrises are truly the magic moments here in Pismo Beach. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Lighthouse Suites were amazing.We were only there for one night and had to drag ourselves away, We enjoyed an ocean view Master Suite. It was very roomy, exceptionally clean and the view was amazing. The only improvement I could recommend is checking out the mattresses on the sofa beds more often. Ours was a bit uncomfortable, but that seems to be common. Still got a great nights sleep with the sound of the ocean to lull me to sleep. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful with great dining recommendation just a short walk up the road at the Ventana. Food was delishious and another great ocean view. Can't wait to find a chance to go back and bring the grandkids. The game deck looked like such fun with the giant chess game, badminton, pingpong, putting green, etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikmund, General Manager at Pismo Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We too can't wait for you to bring your grand kids out for a visit. They will truly have a ball playing games on the sports deck. Those Master Suites are very large and spacious, I'm glad that you enjoyed it. We look forward to meeting the whole family next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Lighthouse Suites staff helped to make our 30 year anniversary the best yet! We had planned to stay two nights and extended it another two nights. They gave us a two bedroom suite, ocean views! The rooms were pristine, the staff were friendly and helpful, the outdoor courtyardand ppool area overlooking the ocean was dream like. Will stay here again and again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikmund, General Manager at Pismo Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Congratulations again on your 30th anniversary! I am delighted that you chose to spend your special occasion with us, and that we could make it that much more special for you. The dramatic ocean views and pristine suites will be waiting for your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pismo Lighthouse Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pismo Lighthouse Suites

Address: 2411 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pismo Lighthouse Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy this recently renovated, all-suite, oceanfront family hotel in Pismo Beach featuring spacious two-room/two-bath suites with private balconies or patios. Enjoy the family play deck with ping-pong, badminton, multiple putting greens and life-size chess and checkers board. Guests also enjoy a daily deluxe continental breakfast, guest laundry facilities, fitness center, spa services, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pismo Lighthouse Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pismo Lighthouse Hotel Pismo Beach
Pismo Lighthouse Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pismo Lighthouse Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.