We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Wish I'd discovered this hotel 40 years ago!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kon Tiki Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kon Tiki Inn
Save
You added Kon Tiki Inn to your Saves list
1621 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Lake Arrowhead
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wow! Wish I'd discovered this hotel 40 years ago!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

What a find! Perfect location, gorgeous views, excellent staff and reasonable charge for an oceanfront room in this great beach town! Owned by the same individual since built in 1974. Staff is caring and professional, hotel is clean and updated; just a lot of bang for your buck.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    152
    13
    3
    8
See reviews for
149
259
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We've been coming to this hotel for years. The location can't be beat, with great beach views no matter where your room is located, although we prefer the 3rd floor. The decor is dated, with old furniture, but our room did have a flatscreen TV and the bed and linens were comfortable. The towels definitely need replacing; they are very thin and worn. However, the balcony views are fabulous and the staff goes out of their way to be helpful and to make your stay comfortable. Breakfast is included as well. We will return!

Room Tip: Third floor is quiet and has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Excellent location all ocean view. Very nice helpful staff. Decor was outdated but very clean. With in walking distance to shopping. Free breakfast. The hall where meeting was had a lot of room to move around. Thank you for a great business and vacation trip

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

The room was clean, the bed was soft, the fireplace in our suite warmed up our room after having the patio door opened to feel the cool breeze from the ocean and be inspired by the view! Lots of places to eat within walking distance.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the ocean!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamitos, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed at the Kon Tiki for one night on a road trip last summer. The hotel in on a bluff above the beach (steps, walkway take you to the sand), all rooms have an ocean view, wonderful. Room interiors a little dated - otherwise 5 stars - but very clean. You have to call for pricing, rates are well below nearby hotels with similar views, and the staff is very friendly. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellysford, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Wow, we were so happy to have found this place. The views are phenomenal. We had a ground level room that opened up to the ocean and ocean front pool and hot tubs. This is a place that you expect to pay more than we did; this is the best oceanfront value. The rooms are comfortable too as they are spacious with a king and queen bed and plenty of room for luggage. If you need an ocean fix this is it!

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We just had a very pleasant 5 day stay at the Kon Tiki Inn and recommend it. The room we stayed in was very spacious, clean and comfortable. As others have noted, the view is wonderful. It's a short walk to town (either by beach or street). The restaurant next door (Steamers) is also nice. It was our first visit to Pismo Beach but hopefully it won't be our last and next time we visit, we will stay at the Kon Tiki (all the staff were very friendly and helpful)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kon Tiki Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon Tiki Inn

Address: 1621 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, a smooth sandy beach and the sounds of the Pacific Ocean all welcome you to the Kon Tiki Inn, where every room features a panoramic ocean view. Located on the coastline midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, our oceanfront inn is perched on a bluff overlooking the stunning and serene Pacific Ocean. From the comfort of your guest room watch a glorious sunset or catch a glimpse of a whale. During the day choose from a variety of outdoor activities and at night fall asleep to the rhythmic sound of ocean waves.The guest room décor reflects our seaside location with a neutral and ocean-toned palette accented by natural wood, tropical prints, and rich detail. Our hotel features rooms with one king bed or one king with one queen bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kon Tiki Hotel Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Inn Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kon Tiki Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.