We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax in Pismo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kon Tiki Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kon Tiki Inn
1621 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 28 hotels in Pismo Beach
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to relax in Pismo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

After reading prior reviews, we made sure to book two nights in Pismo during a road trip vacation from San Francisco down the coast to Los Angeles. I was surprised that you cannot book this hotel online anywhere, but calling them to make a reservation was quick and painless. The rates were great (weekday and just before high season in June) and the rooms were very comfortable and spacious. The hotel design was really nice as each room has a balcony or patio that looks out on the pool area and ocean. We had a convenient ground floor room and walked from room out to pool and down the stairs to the beach with our 1 year old (who got to eat sand and dip his toes in the ocean for the first time!). Each morning we ate the continental breakfast (included in the room price). It was really good and plentiful. The women running it were friendly and very efficient (they had make your own waffles, cereal, fruit, danishes, yogurt, juices) - great start to the day. The hotel has an attached seafood restaurant that is a really good option for a high quality meal with great ocean views and fresh fish. The Kon Tiki Inn is certainly where we will stay again the next time we are in Pismo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    360
    134
    12
    3
    7
See reviews for
137
231
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bexley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the kon tiki inn for one night, what an absolute hidden gem, the facilities were great, it was a great location, breakfast was plentiful and the staff were so helpful, I could not recommend this hotel highly enough, 5 stars

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

First time staying here. I honestly was a little concerned about how nice the rooms would or wouldn't be. We typically stay at Hilton's wherever we go so I wasn't sure.

The minute we walked into our room I was extremely happy. The room was nice and very clean. The beds were comfortable. The view was absolutely amazing. The grass area provided a place for playing catch with my son. People were in the pool. People were all out in front of their rooms enjoying the beauty. It was very festive!

The staff was extremely nice and helpful. This is our new place...can't wait to take a larger group so our family can enjoy this together.

The only downfall (which is not the hotel's fault) is there are 108 stairs to get to the beach. That said, because of the location it's almost like a private beach. No other access except the homes and hotels around there. There was a handful of people around us.

Great place to eat within minutes is Huckleberry's...for breakfast and lunch.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a "Hawaii" type feeling here in California!

Room Tip: Every room overlooks the ocean. The rooms on the Southern end have a better sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had a blast. Swim in the pool and whirlpool. Collect seashells by the seashore. Nice Continental Breakfast. Excellent Staff. Great price for all you get. Oceanfront view, swimmin pool, free passes to the Gymn, Contienental Breakfast. In room, tv, coffeemaker,air dryer, Iron and board ice box. whirpools. Nice Reclyner chairs.

Extra thanks to the staff member in breakfast conference room. You all my are time there safe and sound and enjoyable. We will be back!

Room Tip: Get the four floor if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I love Kontiki Inn! My family and I have been staying here since I was a kid. Every room in the hotel overlooks the ocean. The hotel is on a cliff but has beach access through a small staircase. The beach is wide and spacious. There is a pool overlooking the ocean. The room is a little dated in style, I like to say its retro, but very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights recently. My wife and I were blown away by the quaintness of this little town and the Inn. The location is absolutely perfect for a weekend holiday or even a week long getaway. You can't beat the ocean views, just incredible. The beach here is awesome. Great for walks and laying around. Always surfers around to watch. The Inn is located in a great spot to access the downtown and also to exit Pismo and venture over to San Luis Obispo quickly.

The staff was helpful and courteous. And the rates were reasonable considering the location. Try to get out on the pier to take in a sunset - the locals all clap when the sun disappears below the horizon. It was a revealing experience for 'Easterners'!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place. All rooms face the ocean with a beautiful view. The rooms are spacious with a mini fridge and chairs for relaxing. The property is landscaped beautifully. Beach access down a Cliff via a staircase. Staff was bee friendly. My only regret is that I only reserved one night here!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kon Tiki Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon Tiki Inn

Address: 1621 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, a smooth sandy beach and the sounds of the Pacific Ocean all welcome you to the Kon Tiki Inn, where every room features a panoramic ocean view. Located on the coastline midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, our oceanfront inn is perched on a bluff overlooking the stunning and serene Pacific Ocean. From the comfort of your guest room watch a glorious sunset or catch a glimpse of a whale. During the day choose from a variety of outdoor activities and at night fall asleep to the rhythmic sound of ocean waves.The guest room décor reflects our seaside location with a neutral and ocean-toned palette accented by natural wood, tropical prints, and rich detail. Our hotel features rooms with one king bed or one king with one queen bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kon Tiki Hotel Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Inn Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kon Tiki Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kon Tiki Inn to your Saves list