We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kon Tiki Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kon Tiki Inn
Save
You added Kon Tiki Inn to your Saves list
1621 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We found the hotel to be a great value. Our room had a beautiful ocean view. You have access to the athletic club on the other side of the parking lot. The staff was very helpful and friendly, they have lots of information on things to do. You can walk to central Pismo from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    159
    14
    3
    9
See reviews for
157
269
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

we booked a group there with 15 rooms and the service was excellent, very helpful, the general manager came in to help. The views are great, the sunset was excellent, the next morning, we were leaving early, they opened the breakfast a half hour early for us. I have been to pismo many times over the last 28 years, but this will be my place to stay for now on. Funny, i had never been here before. highly recommend, spa was a welcome relief too after a hard day

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stay at the Kon Tiki INN 3 nights Dec 2012. It was Our 12 year wedding anniversary. It was paradise for us. The price was very reasonable for what we got. A beautiful oceanfront view with palmtrees all around. Seagull flying. They had cozy reclinder chairs. King bed. Tv, icebox, micowave. Hair dryer, iron. A Cozy fireplace. Heated swimming pool and two hot tubs. They have Continental breakfast. Also while staying at Kon Tiki Inn they gave us free passes to the Great health spa. Which has everything for fun to a Great work out. Also the beautiful beach and pier to walk on is clean and so nice. They have safe is room, ice machines.

It was such a quiet room too. We had a wonderful time. It was worth the reccomendtions from Family members.

Room Tip: The fourth floor was a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were very happy with our stay at Kon Tiki. Every room has a balcony and the most spectacular view of the ocean! Sunsets were especially gorgeous! The room was clean and quite roomy. The bed was very comfortable. It was nice to have a coffee maker in the room and a safe too. Would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a million dollar view at a very reasonable rate!

Room Tip: Better view of the ocean if you're not on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed one night at the Kon Tiki in Nov 2012. It was like taking a small step back in time to about 1970 in terms of architecture, decor and the reservation system (telephone only, no web reservations that I could find); but every room has a great ocean view and stair access direct to the beach. We arrived the night before a storm moved in and the view of the sunset alone was worth the price of the room. They also have the largest parking spaces I've encountered in years!

Room was good size, but most of the space was taken up by the beds and furnture. I did not get exactly what I reserved, one king bed on top floor; but instead ended up with one king bed and one double bed on the 2nd (middle) floor. I mention this fact only because when I made the reservation I specifically stated I did not need the second bed and would rather have the extra floor space. In adddition to the bathroom sink, room also had a second vanity/wet bar sink above the undercounter frig. Sliding glass doosr open to a good size balcony with chairs. There's a pool and jacuzzi on the ocean side of the hotel.

A complete continental breakfast (similar to the spread at any Best Western Plus) is available from very early (I think they said 6:30am) in the morning until 10am. Breakfast included make your own waffles with both regular and sugar-free syrup, basic fruit (apple, oranges, bananas) , muffins, pastries, toast, bagels, hard boiled eggs, instant oatmeal and cold cereals (milk, 2% and soy milk, upon request) . The staff working breakfast were very friendly and made every effort to keep it well stocked.

A complete fitness center (not a little exercise room with a treadmill and stationary bike, but a real health club) is also on the property, ask the front desk for a pass to use it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Kon Tiki Inn prior to taking a Mexican Riviera cruise. The great reviews on this forum were spot on and the $100 per night was a deal. We visited the Hearst Castle and it was a one hour drive up the coast with amazing views most of the way. The staff was courteous, the room was clean and breakfast included the make your own waffles plus cereal, fruit, etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We decided to try something different this year, and go out of town for Thanksgiving. We'd stayed at the Kon Tiki Inn over Spring Break a few years ago, but were unsure what to expect in Pismo at this time of year. We couldn't have been happier!
Starting with the people who make your reservations, to the nice people who keep your room spotless (in a timely way!), the staff was terrific. They even stored our bicycles for us at no charge, and mailed our daughter's postcards for her, gave us restaurant recommendations, ect.

The warm pool and two jacuzzis (one of which has an amazing view looking out over the beach) were never overcrowded, but somehow there are just enough people for both our 8 year old and us to make friends with. It's a great gathering place, with a nice comfortable, communal feel.
Also, the grounds are immaculate and pretty.

We had a second floor room this time, and it was as clean as I remembered it. The room is good size, everything works well, free WIFI, and its remarkably quiet (except for the waves crashing if you leave the sliding door open to hear that) with comfortable beds for a good nights sleep. The linens are nice, pillows fluffy, but I do agree with another reviewer's suggestion that they update their polyester bead spreads to nicer comforters.

The free breakfast is basic but ample, and having a gym with a childcare option is awesome.

There are many nice things to say about the hotel, especially if you are looking for a great value, but its the location that really draws us to Kon Tiki!
We easily walked down the steps to the beach (take a flashlight at night though!), and strolled to the Pier, in to town for ice cream, went for morning runs along the ocean, ect.
You can see a great stretch of coastline from your balcony, from the Oceano dunes to the lighthouse in Avila Beach.
There are plenty of little shops and delicious restaurants within easy walking distance too. And the area feels really safe too, even at night.
Steamers is right next door, and is a great place to eat (cozy bar with live music at times) when you just want to walk a few steps for food.

We may make this our Thanksgiving tradition...great hotel, great weather, great town.
Our daughter got a bit tearful for a minute when we had to leave, and I almost did too!!!
Thank you Kon Tiki Inn

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view, but the higher floors a bit better. If you have a first floor room howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Kon Tiki Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon Tiki Inn

Address: 1621 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, a smooth sandy beach and the sounds of the Pacific Ocean all welcome you to the Kon Tiki Inn, where every room features a panoramic ocean view. Located on the coastline midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, our oceanfront inn is perched on a bluff overlooking the stunning and serene Pacific Ocean. From the comfort of your guest room watch a glorious sunset or catch a glimpse of a whale. During the day choose from a variety of outdoor activities and at night fall asleep to the rhythmic sound of ocean waves.The guest room décor reflects our seaside location with a neutral and ocean-toned palette accented by natural wood, tropical prints, and rich detail. Our hotel features rooms with one king bed or one king with one queen bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kon Tiki Hotel Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Inn Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kon Tiki Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.