We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kon Tiki Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kon Tiki Inn
Save
You added Kon Tiki Inn to your Saves list
1621 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Galt, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Gorgeous View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

The view is spectacular and every room has either a balcony with chairs and a table or a patio. We were able to watch the surfing contest, at the pier, from our room. Balconies are very good sized and chairs/table looked new and very well taken care of. The balconies must be cleaned daily as everything was so clean and shiny...chairs, table, railing, floor... everything! Other reviewers have said that the hotel decor is dated and this is true, but the cleanliness is impeccable! The bed was as comfortable as ours at home (memory foam topper) and the pillows were definitely the most comfortable pillows I've ever had in a motel (also seemed to be a type of memory pillow, but not foam). We were given a room on the fourth floor, I believe there are only four, and it was extremely quiet. We knew there were no vacancies in the hotel, so we expected a noisy hotel, but we didn't hear our neighbors at all until the final day they left. The grounds are kept as immaculate as the rooms and the grass area is huge, giving families of little ones ample room to run and play. The continental breakfast is the normal fare, waffle machines, toasters, bagels, danish, muffins, cold cereal, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, coffee, milk, juices. All were kept restocked regularly...it's a very busy breakfast place, get a table as soon as you walk in or you might not find one. There is a full athletic club on the premises that guests can use also. In addition the hotel has air conditioning (central heat/air type, not ust below the window) that was BIG advantage given the western exposure to every room! All this, and only 2/3 the price of other beach front hotels in the area. I highly recommend this hotel and will stay again if we are ever in the area!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    157
    14
    3
    9
See reviews for
156
267
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madera, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have stayed here many times and have never been disappointed. The rooms are nice with a great view off the ocean. We love leaving the sliding door open at night to hear the surf. The pool and hot tubs are a great place to relax.

Room Tip: Get a room on second or third floor for a better view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Best hotel of all we stayed in during a 3 week tour of California – unbeatable combination of location/view (above the wide sandy beach - c.100 or so steps down to the beach), large room (all with balcony facing the sea) with good facilities, high standards of cleanliness, free parking & breakfast with unrivalled value. Wished we had stayed there longer. Breakfast buffet was regularly replenished and kept clean. Steamers restaurant, adjoining, served ample and reasonable fare with spectacular view over the sea and setting sun. (Note room prices significantly more c.60 miles up the road in Cambria, perhaps due to proximity of Hearst Castle and the Big Sur – however, on reflection we would have added an extra night here rather than 1 in Cambria!)

Room Tip: None - they all have a glorious view of the ocean and evening setting sun...........
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have stayed here a couple of times and will continue to do so. You must call the hotel directly because you can't book it anywhere on the internet. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the hotel is clean and located at the perfect spot right on the beach with the best view you could possibly ask for. The decor maybe a bit dated, but it is still in good condition and doesn't look worn. They have a refrigerator and coffeemaker in the room. Microwaves are available without a fee upon request. There is also free WiFi in the rooms, you just have to tell them that you want it when you check in to the hotel or call the front desk and let them know so they can give you the password. The beds are so comfortable! This is the only hotel I have stayed at where I actually sleep better on their beds than I do my own. The heated pool is overlooking the ocean as is the hot tubs. We stayed here during the fourth of July week and it was a full house, but it didn't feel overly crowded. It was so nice watching the fireworks that they let off over the pier from our hotel. I love that there is no smoking on this property, not even on the balconies! I especially enjoy this because I have asthma and would have to go inside if someone were smoking out there. The only negative thing that I could say about this hotel is that there are a lot of stairs to get down to the beach. I think it is around 110 steps or something like that. So, for older people or people that have a hard time getting around, it'll be a workout to get up those stairs. My husband had total knee replacement a few months before we went there, so we would go down the stairs slowly, walk down to the pier, and walk back to the hotel through the town as to avoid the trip back up the stairs. Still, this is our favorite place to stay in Pismo!

Room Tip: Every room has a beautiful view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel was just perfect for us, after a long day of driving we got into the hotel's jacuzzi for some good relaxation.
All the rooms has an ocean view and you can take a walk from your room straight to the beach. The rooms are big and very clean with a wide plazma screen.
The breakfast is really nice, there are fruits, Jam, 3-4 kinds of cornflakes and bread and good coffee to start your morning.
I'll definitely come back on my next trip.

Room Tip: If you stay in one of the first floor rooms, you can go out side to the pool and beach from the bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have been visiting the Kon Tiki Inn since 1998. It is a great place to just relax and listen to the ocean. It is always clean and comfortable and the staff is friendly and helpful. We like the "penthouse" rooms in the cooler season because of their gas fireplaces. This is a very popular hotel, so book early!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hornchurch
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I loved it here. I stayed with my 2 teenage sons. The room was fantastic and on the first floor. It had a balcony and sleeping with the door left open with the sound of the ocean was fantastic. My sons took full advantage of the basketball court and gym facilities. I went to a Zumba class too which was fun. The breakfasts were good too.
You can hire surfboards nearby and the beach is lovely. We only stayed for 2 nights but I wish we had stayed longer.

Room Tip: Ask for a first not ground floor so you can leave the door open and listen to the sea!!! Marvellous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kon Tiki Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kon Tiki Inn

Address: 1621 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, a smooth sandy beach and the sounds of the Pacific Ocean all welcome you to the Kon Tiki Inn, where every room features a panoramic ocean view. Located on the coastline midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, our oceanfront inn is perched on a bluff overlooking the stunning and serene Pacific Ocean. From the comfort of your guest room watch a glorious sunset or catch a glimpse of a whale. During the day choose from a variety of outdoor activities and at night fall asleep to the rhythmic sound of ocean waves.The guest room décor reflects our seaside location with a neutral and ocean-toned palette accented by natural wood, tropical prints, and rich detail. Our hotel features rooms with one king bed or one king with one queen bed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kon Tiki Hotel Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Inn Pismo Beach
Kon Tiki Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kon Tiki Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.