We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   230 Five Cities Drive, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-3004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #24 of 28 hotels in Pismo Beach
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Quick Trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were working our way down to Anaheim from Northern California and decided to stop by Pismo Beach.

It turned out to be the "Welcoming Weekend" for CalPoly so many hotels had increased their rates or were just plain full.

We were offered a great rate for a small room but the bed was comfy and the TV remote had to be exchanged. The lamp needed to be plugged in but the place was clean and available. This will be our "go-to" place from now on!

Room Tip: Southside can see the sunset. Great Staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    65
    55
    21
    31
See reviews for
73
62
11
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My mom and I enjoyed a day at the Avila Beach Resort for the 805 beer fest. After paying $150 for a room we expected at least Holiday Inn. This is more along the lines of Motel 6. The toilet leaked water from the bottom. The bathroom was so small, it may have been easier to just dig a hole. Your $150 also gets you a beautiful view of an RV storage place and the 101. The floor boards buckled with every step. The spa was by far the best part. Very relaxing. But not enough to make up for the fact that you were getting ready to sleep on a full size box spring. I think they missed the mattress.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

When you stay at a Quality Inn, you don’t expect a 5-star hotel stay so I base my rating on a budget motel standard (eg., Motel 6, Days Inn, etc), you just get what you need in a simple, clean room for a reasonable price. And this location did not disappoint. In fact, I was impressed to find an iron and ironing board and a decent free Internet wifi connection along with all of the standard QI amenities, such as swimming pool (though I’d never swim in it), shampoo, conditioner, soap and nice variety of TV channels. The included breakfast at this location was no different from other Quality Inn locations I’ve been to, but having tried the Days Inn’s minimal (toast only and that’s it!) breakfast, I realized that getting eggs, sausage, and waffles is a real treat.

The bed was one of the most comfortable I’ve ever had in any motel or even 5-star hotel stay, resulting in a great night’s sleep (for that alone, I give it an above average rating). I don’t know how or why it’s so good, but you can tell it’s a good quality, firm mattress. Staff are helpful and friendly and the rates were decent. Although the cost of accommodations for this area is generally not cheap, compared to other motels, this is one of the better options. As many people may complain about the high price, it does give you a small, though distant view of the ocean (if you happen to face that side). Best to book it on the weekdays ti save a lot more.

Room Tip: Ask for the side of the building facing the water, to get a decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We needed a place to stay in Pismo Beach on short notice and everything but this facility was booked. The room was very small and we had to rearrange some of the furniture in order to move. It was very well worn and the bed was not comfortable. We had a view of a storage facility and RV parking lot. The worst part of the three day stay was the lack of sound proofing. We could hear everything upstairs and to the sides of our room. The breezeway outside the room was heavily traveled by guests with very loud running and footsteps and you could hear every word they said as they passed constantly by our room. The air conditioner took on a life of its own and we either froze or were way too warm. The location was convenient to Pismo eateries and shopping and we tried to spend as little time as possible in our room. It was very run down and verged on dirty. I wouldn't use the bathtub or shower due to the rust and stains. Housekeeping forgot to give us clean towels on one of the days. We would rather camp in a tent than stay at this facility again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the parking lot side of the facility. Higher floors might have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Across the parking lot from Pismo Beach Winery tasting room. BONUS!
Just a couple of minutes by car to downtown.
Room was clean. Bed could have been softer. Noise from parking lot is my main gripe with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Very convenient location. Got here after a long drive. The property is older but the room was very clean. Although we didn't have the time to enjoy the pool it is very clean and artfully done. The staff was very helpful. The king bed was comfortable, a bit on the firm side but that's how I like my bed, anyway. The hotel is a short drive from many different restaurants and the beach.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The room was tiny with a queen size bed. On entering we found what looked like a dirty tee shirt on the floor. On checking the sheets found them to be stained!! The front desk person did change the sheets and clear the rag but this left a very distasteful feeling.
We also found the walls were paper thin and we could clearly hear people outside our door. Secondly the housekeeping area was next to this room....hence early morning we could hear chatter. There was no privacy!! And we paid a pretty penny for this stay...a total rip off!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 230 Five Cities Drive, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-3004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 hotels in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn hotel near Pismo Beach Pier Enjoy affordable rates in a convenient location when choosing the Quality Inn(R) in Pismo Beach, CA. Our hotel is ideally located near many area points of interest, which include: Lane Bryant Outlet Oceano Dunes State Recreation Area San Luis Obispo California Polytechnic State University Get refreshed in our inviting guest rooms, all of which feature expanded cable television channels, hair dryers, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards, in-room desks, wake-up services, microwaves and refrigerators. Additional amenities include: Free deluxe continental breakfast Free wireless high-speed Internet access Free local calls Outdoor pool Take care of basic business needs with access to copy and fax services, and for added convenience, a business center is available onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Pismo Beach
Quality Inn Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.