We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last choice on a low budget vacation, but a short drive to the beach.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Quality Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   230 Five Cities Drive, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-3004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
1 review
“Last choice on a low budget vacation, but a short drive to the beach.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Nothing fancy. Rooms are a little small, but if your just planning on sleeping there, not to bad. Rooms appeared clean, but pretty dated.
Large selection to choose from for their complimentary breakfast. Saved us lots of money, for a group of 8.
Best part was the shopping at walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    93
    78
    31
    34
See reviews for
96
94
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Perfect location, nice clean rooms, great staff and willing to help and answer questions. Our room had updated bed, bedding, counter top and had fridge and microwave plus other amenities. Free breakfast was enough to get you down the road and good quality. Only issue was the door seemed to be a tad small or the frame needed insullation. Didn't use to pool or sauna but it looked great! Lot so foeverything right there; shoppng at the outlet mall right on the corner across the street, food and fuel everywhere plus close to the beach at Pismo.

Room Tip: Try 2nd floor and not on the freeway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Inn_PB, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review on tripadvisor.

We are certainly not one of the higher end or fancy hotels in the area but we do provide best value for our guests' money with the quality of rooms, amenities and service we provide. This is the reason our customers come and stay with us over and over again. And I am glad you feel the same way.
As for the breakfast, we have recently added fresh make your own waffles, biscuit & gravy and fresh oatmeal. We also have some renovation projects going on which we hope to complete within next couple of months. Please come and check us out again!

-Kiran (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Exceptionally clean rooms, great location, unbeatable price & fantastic service. Will definitely be back and highly recommend. Not far from the wharf and also near shopping centers. Lots of gas stations. Easy off and on to Highway 101 & 1. One small complaint, if you will, was that when we first went into the room there was a very strong smell of Pinesol or what ever cleaner they use. I just ran water in the shower and flushed the toilet several times. Left the door open awhile and it seemed to help dissipate smell.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Inn_PB, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
BW, Thank you for the generous rating you gave us. I am glad your stay with us was a pleasant one. We will try to do better during your next trip :)

As for the cleaners, I think given some time, it does dissipate but it is possible that you may have checked in shortly after having cleaned the room. I will have our maintenance check the chemical concentration to make sure it's within the limit. Thanks for the feedback.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again during you future visits to Pismo Beach.

-Kiran (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
323 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

When we checked in to room 109 the first thing I did was adjust the thermostat to 'our' comfort level. The digital thermostat would not turn on the unit and displayed a wrench in a triangle. I've seen these before, it usually indicates a fault with the unit. I went to the front desk and the staff member was very nice and closed the office to check on the problem. She unplugged the unit and plugged it back in, the wrench disappeared. No problems...until later.
The next morning I got up to take a shower and there was no hot water, needless to say it was quite uncomfortable to get going in the morning. I reported it to the desk, got a surprised response from the staff with a response to correct it. When we returned, the hot water heater was being replaced...until later.
The next morning, no hot water again...the thermostat had the wrench on it and the unit wasn't working. Needless to say it appears there are maintenance problems looming here that are not being responded to. Otherwise it was a comfortable stay. The manager was apologetic and offered 20% reduction in my next night's stay, a genuinely kind gesture. We will see.

Room Tip: I prefer the 'ground' level rooms but they are noisier than the 2nd floor. The rooms in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Inn_PB, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
I would like to Thank you for your review and your experience while staying with us.

I appreciate your comments about having a pleasant stay other then the issues you encountered relating to hot water.
Yes, the water heater did stop working that day and we were not able to provide hot water to all our guest rooms. Other water heaters were not able to keep up with demand that morning. Fortunately we did manage to find new one locally and had it replaced quickly (at premium weekend rate :).
As for the room A/C, I did have maintenance check the controller and the A/C itself and we did not find anything wrong with the A/C, however, the controller was not functioning properly. These controllers are installed by the utility companies to control energy consumption and we have no control over temperature range. We have replaced the controller and the unit appear to be working normally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The room was fairly clean, and in a good location. However, there is very little insulation, and was extremely loud. The door seemed to be about 1-2" too small for the frame, and windows were very thin. Anytime someone walked by, it sounded like the door was open and the people were talking to us. We overlooked the freeway and an RV storage lot. Although we didn't get a chance to use the pool and hot tub, they looked extremely nice...with the hot tub having a waterfall flowing into it. I feel the room I had was worth at least $50 less than what I paid, I guess it could have been worse.

Room Tip: Request a room NOT overlooking the freeway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Inn_PB, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
I am glad you found the room comfortable and clean. The hotel staff are well trained and organized to to ensure comfort of all our guests. The pool and hot tub with waterfall is open and heated throughout the year and this amenity is usually appreciated by most of our guests.

Pismo Beach in general tend to be very busy during weekends, specially over long weekend such as the President's day weekend (during which you may have stayed with us). When we have high occupancy, it does tend to get noisy due to families and kids. We are in process of addressing some of the issues you mentioned and working on completing these as soon as possible.

As for the price, it is all about simple economics of supply & demand....during high demand days, the rates tend to be higher no matter where you go. Although, we always tend to be lower compared to other hotels in the area, and provide all the same amenities that all hotels provide.

On behalf of Quality Inn & it's staff, Thank you for staying with us and letting us know what you liked and what we need to improve on :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Good location, friendly staff, clean room, would recommend it to anyone with a budget. The place has steady wi-fi and good breakfast, close to outlets and is across the street from wine tasting room......................................................................................

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Inn_PB, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us on tripadvisor. I am glad you had an excellent stay with us and hope you will choose us next time you visit "Classic California" :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our stay at the Quality Inn was a good experience. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. The pool and hot tub were very nice and clean too.
The Mexican restaurant adjacent to the hotel was a good alternative to driving to find dinner.
On the negative side, the bath towels were rather thin and the walkway outside the room was a bit noisy.
When the opportunity arises again, I will make another reservation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keyrun, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for posting your experience while staying with us. We look forward to having you back :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Ocean Palms Motel
Ocean Palms Motel
#18 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
#11 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#12 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beachwalker Inn & Suites
Beachwalker Inn & Suites
#23 of 28 in Pismo Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
3.8 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#15 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 567 reviews
0.5 mi away
Motel 6 Pismo Beach
Motel 6 Pismo Beach
#26 of 28 in Pismo Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 230 Five Cities Drive, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-3004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn hotel near Pismo Beach Pier Enjoy affordable rates in a convenient location when choosing the Quality Inn(R) in Pismo Beach, CA. Our hotel is ideally located near many area points of interest, which include: Lane Bryant Outlet Oceano Dunes State Recreation Area San Luis Obispo California Polytechnic State University Get refreshed in our inviting guest rooms, all of which feature expanded cable television channels, hair dryers, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards, in-room desks, wake-up services, microwaves and refrigerators. Additional amenities include: Free deluxe continental breakfast Free wireless high-speed Internet access Free local calls Outdoor pool Take care of basic business needs with access to copy and fax services, and for added convenience, a business center is available onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Choice Hotels so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Pismo Beach
Quality Inn Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.