We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kayaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pismo Beach Surf Shop

Pismo Beach Surf Shop
470 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
805-773-2089
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pismo Beach Surf Shop began in 1962 and has a great old surfing history. We are all about the Ocean from kayaking, Surfing, Sucba Diving and SUP surfing.We specialize in surfboards, Kayak Tours of the Central Coast and SUP and Surfing Lessons.
Pismo Beach, California
1 review
“kayaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Had a great time along the cliffs of Shell Beach. The owner and guide was knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Great tour for taking photos. All the gear was supplied that we needed. Both children and adults were welcome and everyone enjoyed themselves. Well worth the money!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fallbrook, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Much better than expected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife, 7 year old daughter and I took a dusk kayaking tour into the caves. The experience was awesome complete with dolphins, seals, and starfish. The guides were great and photographed the entire experience. If you enjoy sea life and enjoy the challenge of getting in and out of the caves without ending up in the drink then this is for you. We'll do it again next time in Pismo.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Kayaking: You Need To Do This!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

First off: You need to do this if you vacation in Pismo, CA. This was our groups's first time kayaking. There were nine people in our group: 7 adults and 2 children. All of our gear was supplied - safety being a top concern. The establishment was kid friendly and willing to accommodate all skill sets. The instructor was extremely knowledgeable and super fun. The tour began with instructions on how to kayak, followed by a tour through various caves and spot locations. Our group enjoyed the experience, and we would definitely visit again. Check it out!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun kayaking adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Ocean kayaking into the caves over Shell Beach was definitely better than your run of the mill kayaking trip. Cory was a fun and excellent guide. Our 8 person group ranged from some mild kayaking experience to abject fear of ocean water and we all had a good time. Some of us went into every cave and some just hung around the outskirts of them, but there was no pressure and it was a very laid-back trip. A few other key details

- $70/person includes kayak, wet suit, booties, paddles
- Can ride tandem or single
- You pay at the store then drive out to Shell Beach
- 2 hours of ocean time well spent

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Surf lesson was fun and age/ level appropriate. Shop is eclectic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We got our first surf board shaped at Pismo Beach surf shop. It was fun to take it back in and have them talk about the board.

They have great big fluffy towels, great signs, shirts, sweatshirts and just stuff everywhere in the store. Ask if you are looking for something they may know where it is even if you can not find it.Bill the owner was full of information about the history of the shop and the past owners, it was enjoyable to talk with him about it.

The surf lesson was for two girls at different levels but the surf instructor was able to help them both. They each got specific help to advance where they were stuck. One just needed to be able to put her head under the waves and be comfortable. The other was able to keep surfing the rest of our vacation and be out in the water all week long, comfortably after her lesson. I would pick the start time either before the store opens or after because I think we would have had more time but we got a bit sidetracked as the store was getting ready to open.

I wish we had more time to do the Kayak trip that sounds amazing, maybe next time?

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pismo Beach Surf Shop also viewed

Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Pismo Beach Surf Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pismo Beach Surf Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.