We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dog poop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pismo State Beach Oceano Campground

Pismo State Beach Oceano Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pismo State Beach Oceano Campground
Save Saved
You added Pismo State Beach Oceano Campground to your Saves list
Highway 1, Pismo Beach, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Hanford, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“dog poop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

we stay there for a week every summer love camping there camp hosts very friendly but last summer me and my husband walked by the lagoon on the front row and there was a lot of dog poop.people were walking there dogs in this area letting them poop and not picking it up.other wise great place im camping there this summer.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This site is close to the beach and all that has to offer. You have to drive into Pismo, but it's close. The site was well maintained and the other campers were very nice and well behaved. Major bummer was the luke warm shower. That might keep me from staying there again.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Many people get this campground confused with the Oceano Dunes SVRA, where the camping is right on the beach near the dunes. This campground is just off the beach and has hot showers, working bathrooms, fire pits and picnic tables. We have went several times to this campground and it is always clean and safe. The Ranger makes regular trips driving around to check on the campers and they even have a truck that pulls through to sell you water or firewood. Whenever we camp, we always compare any other campground to this one and have yet to find one as good!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

On a road trip in an RV from the beauty of Carmel, through Big Sur to Pismo and were tempted to carry on but too tired to drive. This was the worst RV site of the whole trip and the least helpful of all the State Beaches we have been to. It is basically a car park off the road without views of the beach, which is a 5 minute walk away through the dunes. We were told our spot was near the 'lake' but was just opposite a dirty pond and closest site to the railroad track. The site was pretty empty but for some reason all the people there seemed to be cramped into the one area and there is NO privacy between sites what so ever. We asked if we could move and you'd have thought we asked for the moon. We went to a slot at the other end of the site where there were only 2 other campers and was much quieter. On the plus side to this the showers were clean but the price $44 dollars a night was steep.
The beach was long and had beautiful views along the coastline but was not really safe for the kids to play on due to the numerous cars driving up and down which really spoils the natural beauty. Shame.
The

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALI
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Do not ever camp here on a summer day if you like privacy. I like to feel one with nature not with a camprground full of people. I do enjpy coming here in the winter time during the week, but on a summer weekend...forget it! campsites were close together, the good thing was it is a walk to the beach, the restrooms were very clean. I also did not have a reservation so that made it worse, when they told us we could stay on Friday night, they never mentioned that they would kick us out the next day! Waste of time setting up and driving there!

Room Tip: Make Reservations!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, California
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Clean enough bathrooms and showers. Showers had warm water and there were plenty of them, but you need quarters for them. We were in camp sight 71. It was small and there was no shade. But it was overcast and not too hot anyway, plus it was in a good spot because we were not next to anyone else. We were fairly secluded but near enough to the bathrooms. The beach is kind of a hike over sand dunes from our camp sight. But you can just drive your car onto the beach instead of taking the hike if you have kids. Cars on the beach are handy, but can be a hazard with little kids. If you go further down the beach no cars are allowed and there's a lifeguard. We had a nice time riding in a kayak on the lagoon. The kids loved finding so many sand dollars at the beach and the sand was very nice. Other campers were very quiet at night, which was good for us. You can hear the freeway from the campsite though and there was a train that rode through in the middle of the night on Monday night. I could literally feel the ground shake. It felt like the train was passing right next to me. There's a nice older man on the corner of highway 1/Casitas in Oceano that sells firewood for a good price.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I have never been to a campground where the rangers/staff were so incredibly rude. The lady we talked to at the front while checking in was very rude then we felt like we were being watched the entire time we were there. The rangers harassed us the second it hit 10pm while we were sitting around the campfire talking. They want you inside and completely silent. The rangers fully abused their authority. Our Adults all were 30 to 40 years old and we had children ranging from 1 to 5 who were all in bed at this time. The rangers treated us like criminals shining their flash lights in our faces and making us sit on a bench. All they had to do was let us know they thought we were too loud and we would have gone inside. Instead they yelled at us and told us they would be asking us to leave in the morning forfeiting what we had payed for the rest of the weekend. I will never go back here and don't recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pismo State Beach Oceano Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pismo State Beach Oceano Campground

Address: Highway 1, Pismo Beach, CA
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Pismo Beach
Also Known As:
Pismo State Beach Oceano Campground Hotel Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pismo State Beach Oceano Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.