We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pismo State Beach North Beach Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pismo State Beach North Beach Campground
Save
You added Pismo State Beach North Beach Campground to your Saves list
555 Pier Ave, Pismo Beach, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Simi Valley, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great beach area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We spent a few days at Pismo Beach and enjoyed the beach area. The sand is so soft and fine. The tree line is beautiful and the campground is nicely located. Must get reservations 6 months in advance and if you are lucky enough to get your dates, you will have fun.

Room Tip: Not a Hotel...it's a Campground
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    6
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
15
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Can't believe I haven't reviewed this campground yet. AWESOME. AMAZING. ALWAYS A GREAT TIME. We love camping at Pismo. It is one of our favorite campgrounds. The North Beach Campground is definitely an easy type of camping. All the campsites are on a grassy field. There are bathrooms with pay showers- the best campground bathrooms I have ever used. This is the only campground that doesn't require my bathroom/shower tent.

The beach is yards away, which is the obvious key point about this campground.

Dogs are allowed!

It's very quiet at night, allowing one to focus on the stars.

We always have been lucky and were able to grab a great site by showing up as a walk in. Unfortunately, this campground now requires reservations, which are booked 6 months in advance, which explains why we haven't been here in awhile. But I can never forget this campground.

Pismo beach is a little slice of heaven...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, Usa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

North Beach State Park is nice with a big park atmosphere and a quick walk over the dunes to miles of beautiful beach. You can walk into Pismo Beach and dogs are allowed on leashes.
Nice pull through sites, 9,11,24,25 are good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This is a state campsite, so there are no frills! However, it is very well maintained and a 10 minute walk into pismo, which is great if you don't fancy packing up and driving!! Very close to beach and a creek. By far my favorite campsite and would definitely revisit.

Room Tip: It's first come first served. We were lucky that it wasn't peak season, I guess you'd n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Largest camp sites I've seen for a campgrounds near civilization. Nice beach walk to Pismo restaurants and gift shops. Well cared for by the camp host's. quiet all night, normal hustle bustle during the mornings, then everyone is off to visit central coast sites on Route 1.

Room Tip: Bring our own camper, it is a campground
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed for one night with my wife in an RV. Campground facilities are good and it's ideally located close (but far enough away!) to Route 1.

Facilities are good and clean. The beach is 2 mins walk away, and what a beautiful beach it is.

Ideal for anyone traveling between L.A. and San Francisco.

Room Tip: North Beach is better than Oceano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights. Brilliant location, about 30 seconds to the beach. Well managed with attentive camp hosts. Clean showers and restrooms (1 dollar for 2 shower tokens). I would definitely go back, a great stop off on your drive along the PCH. You can buy logs from hosts for 6 dollars. Also, don't get confused with the other state beach site in pismo, this one is the best!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pismo State Beach North Beach Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pismo State Beach North Beach Campground

Address: 555 Pier Ave, Pismo Beach, CA
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Pismo Beach
Number of rooms: 103
Also Known As:
Pismo State Beach North Beach Campground Hotel Pismo Beach
Pismo State Beach North Beach Campground Pismo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pismo State Beach North Beach Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.