We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giuseppe's Cucina Italiana

Giuseppe's Cucina Italiana
891 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
805-773-2870
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 90 Restaurants in Pismo Beach
Price range: $0 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Giuseppe’s Cucina Italiana was founded in 1988 by Giuseppe DiFronzo as a senior project upon graduation from Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. Joe, “Giuseppe”, is a son of Italian immigrants who along with the majority of their family emigrated from Bari, Puglia. Puglia is the heel of the boot region of Italy, otherwise known as the California of Italy.Joe grew up in Southern California where he learned his craft working for his four uncles who all owned Italian Delicatessens and bakeries. After fishing in Alaska on a crab boat upon graduation from Cal Poly, Joe returned to Pismo Beach and started his first 8-table restaurant in the old Landmark Hotel in Pismo. Three years later he moved to the historic Plessas Tavern, a Pismo landmark since 1921. This institution fed the likes of Eleanor Roosevelt, Bob Hope, Clark Gable, and many dignitaries and stars traveling between Los Angeles and San Francisco. Locals were thrilled to see the eatery reopen and thrive for the last 24 years! Today Giuseppe’s boasts an Italian deli and bakery across the street at 800 Price Street as well. Giuseppe also opened a sister restaurant in 2005 in downtown San Luis Obispo named “Palazzo Giuseppe.” Giuseppe spends his pastime cultivating his family farm from which he produces his 15 year old “DiFronzo Vineyards” wines, featured in his eateries. In addition to wine, he grows, cooks, and serves his organic heirloom fruits, vegetables, and herbs with pride and confidence.
Hartsville, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I believe that this is owned by the same people who run Giuseppe's Cucina Italiana (or something like that) which is almost across the street. The people were very nice and the pizza was outstanding. I haven't tried anything else there yet.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    116
    40
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place for a date”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

My wife and I were in Pismo for our anniversary. We wanted to go to a nice place for dinner and Giuseppe's Cucina Italiana seemed to be a perfect choice, and it was. They served a fresh loaf of bread with an amazing dip. The bread was really hard on the outside and soft in the middle (not ideal but still tasty). The dip was parmesan cheese (grated) with olive oil and balsamic vinegarette poured on top. This was great!
We ordered the Fried Calamari and Rock Shrimp appetizer. I'd order this again. The portion was really big. You get your money's worth for sure. Then we got an entree to split (they do charge a fee and they forgot to mention but it's only like $5 or something). We chose the Risotto di Pollo and Spinach Tortellini combo plate. The chicken was a little over done but the flavor was nice. The Tortellini were good, but you'll have to like spinach.
It cost around $45 (with tip) for the two of us. We would like to go back in the future.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Having landed in Pismo Beach on our trek from San Diego to Petaluma dinner time found us at Giuseppe's restaurant. Though they do no have a children's menu, as needed for 4-year old, they instead offer to half a meal, but in quantity and price, so we stayed to enjoy a sampling of appetizers and veal parmigiana, all very good. The chicken corn chowder was my favorite, though the bread dip was outstanding. Staff were friendly and attentive and the prices were just a bit over average. So an enjoyable dinner (other than the obnoxious woman at adjacent table who threw down a plate of food she didn't like).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Quite good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My wife and I recently had our first experience at Giuseppe's and will definitely return. Unfortunately we sat in a secluded section of the restaurant with two separate birthday parties of about thirty people occurring, so the noise level was not to our liking, but that's not really the fault of the restaurant. We were also seated right next to an exit in December, so as soon as the birthday people began leaving in bits and pieces, it was as if the door never closed and in winter that can be annoying.
Our food was fantastic. My wife thoroughly enjoyed her scallops in vodka-garlic sauce over gluten free pasta, which was better than most gluten free pasta. I loved my risotto with sun-dried tomatoes, basil and chicken.
Wine selection was good, would have liked to see it a dollar or two less per glass.
My only true complaint was the home-made bread. I even asked the waiter if it was always baked that way with a burnt crust, which gives it a very smoky (burnt) taste that I found inedible. The middle section of the bread was delicious, but I'm a bread lover and not used to leaving the entire crust on my plate because it's unappetizing.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Express service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

We ordered from express (via online menu club) to take back to our room. It was ready exactly at the time specified and tasted wonderful. We ordered spaghetti and meatballs, stuffed mushrooms and a cheese pizza. Will definitely order again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giuseppe's Cucina Italiana also viewed

 

Been to Giuseppe's Cucina Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giuseppe's Cucina Italiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.