We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ventana Grill, Pismo Beach

Ventana Grill, Pismo Beach
2575 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
+1 805-773-0000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 93 Restaurants in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American, Latin, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Doing business, Scenic view, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Banning, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is a busy place. We tried to late to make reservations so we showed to a long line. We actually got in pretty quick, since we opted for a small table without a view of the ocean. We were served fresh tortillas with 3 sauces to choose from ( they were all very tasty). My wife had the halibut ceviche and I had the nachos. Both were great. For the main course my wife had the lobster special which my wife didn't care for (too much sweet cream) and I had some carnitas tacos which were okay, not spectacular. I guess one of our problems is we live in an area that has excellent authentic Mexican food. We like traditional re-fried beans and rice , not the new-wave creations. We enjoyed the atmosphere and the waitress was a bit hurried, but pleasant. We do understand as the place was packed.all in all a nice dining experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    214
    70
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quality Dining Experience - Ideal for a Special Occasion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Food was well presented, tasty and portions were generous. Not bargain prices but fair for a quality dining experience. Staff were attentive and helpful. Highly recommend for your next special occasion.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in Pismo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This place is by far the best restaurant in Pismo Beach. The food is Latin inspired and outstanding, I've never had a bad meal. Everything I order is off the charts fabulous, including their specialty drinks. The service is outstanding and the location is superb. Oceanfront sitting up on a cliff with a fantastic view. If you're in Pismo Beach, you have to try it. You won't be disappointed. Make a reservation though, it gets crowded.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Delicious Latin Inspiration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Super crispy Calamari appetizer, Flank steak with various sautéed Zucchini, Tiger prawns, homemade tortillas. Excellent cocktails and a fine Zinfandel . Pretty good flan too. Beautiful setting over looking the ocean.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Better than average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Had dinner at 6pm on Wednesday, July 2nd. No waiting. Seated immediately. By the time we left at 7:30,there was an hour wait for a table. Our waiter was Adam. He was knowledgeable and attentive
We started with clam chowder. It was chock full of clams, potatoes, celery, and it was very good. My wife got the bowl. It was big enough to feed three people. We also had the scallop salad, which was loaded with scallops,and, again, a large portion.

We had crab encrusted Mahi Mahdi. This was served over long thin slices of carrots and spinach and diced bacon. It was accompanied by a bowl of rice and a bowl of pinto beans. The portions were more than adequate. The beans were disappointing. Not very flavorful. The rest of the meal was very good. There are some gluten free items available. All things considered, it's worth four stars.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ventana Grill, Pismo Beach also viewed

Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Ventana Grill, Pismo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ventana Grill, Pismo Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.