We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BeachComber Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pismo Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
BeachComber Inn
Save
You added BeachComber Inn to your Saves list
541 Cypress Street, Pismo Beach, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Pismo Beach B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband and I pulled in here for the night while driving highway 1 to LA. We were delighted! The rooms are gorgeous, clean and have everything you could want (including face wipes, kitchen supplies, bathroom supplies, even a little stool for kiddies to reach the sink!). We wish we were able to stay another night. The inn keeper,Grace, was so friendly and even had a basket of pastries out for us the next morning! The hotel is a very short walk (all less than 5-10min) to beer and wine surf bar, shops, little market, world famous clam chowder in bread bowl at The Spalsh Cafe (highly recommend having this!) and to the beach. We could even see the water from our room.

Room Tip: Room 1 is far away from everyone else and you can see the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    4
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
23
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Georgia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The Beachcomber Inn is perfectly located; close to the beach, promenade & busy part of town, without being right on top of all the bustle & noise. The room was beautifully appointed, sparkling clean & well thought out. While not large, it was so well laid out, it felt more spacious than many larger rooms we have stayed in. Our last minute reservation was handled perfectly, and we were greeted with a cheery "you made it!" when we arrived. A perfect gem of a place :) We absolutely plan to return often.

Room Tip: Not sure there is a BAD room-they are located over the (free) parking area, and all on one level, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The redecorated rooms were really well done and the rooms had everything we could have thought of for our stay, including (and we didn't see this till we checked out) a step stool for kids for the sinks, dish soap and sponge, plates, utensils, microwave and even a laptop/writing desk. Grace is really lovely and the nicest thing was that after asking (upon booking) if they had sand toys to borrow and/or a place to put ours so that we wouldn't dirty up the room, we checked in to find that the owner (not Grace) supplied us with toys that my kids loved. It's very close to the beach and is in downtown Pismo so no need to go down and up a steep flight of stairs.
The only things I would have liked to have were a) two queens instead of two doubles and b) real water glasses instead of the disposables but the lack didn't detract from the stay.

Thanks for a great stay, Grace.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I love this cozy little place! Its personaly owned so you really feel caterted to. She saw we had a baby so she even brought up extra towels! The rooms are very clean and cutely decorated these pictures are not up to date!!!! Plus the room has lots of extra things to make your stay easy, like plates, cups and utensils, qtips, blow dryer, microwave and tons more. They even have an extra TALL shower head which was nice for my husband. My favorite is the fire place which makes it so cozy and romantic at night. This is the place I will definately stay EVERYTIME I go to Pismo. Its close to everything but quiet enough for a good sleep!! Heres the web for updated pictures :) http://www.beachcomberinn.net/

Room Tip: We had room number seven which was one bed it was a pretty big room and had tons of windows so we co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We had a great stay at the Beachcomber. The rooms are spotless, we had a very comfortable bed, loved the tile bathroom, and we were about a block from the beach. We had booked at motel in the area but from the look of the place, were afraid to enter their parking lot so we looked for a vacancy at the Beachcomber. Luckily, they had a room available. We want to thank Grace for helping to make our trip unforgettable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I was looking for a place to stay mid way on my trip from Southern California to San Jose; after much searching online I came across the BeachComber Inn --- and I am so glad that I did! I didn't realize that the Pismo Classic Car Show was in town that weekend until I pulled into town and saw all the activity; however, once we pulled into the covered parking area for the BeachComber I realized we were in the perfect place! Located just about a block from the beach, we found ourselves checked into the cutest hotel room ever!!! Elegantly remodeled, the owner has left nothing to chance - this room/inn provides better amenities that other large name hotels that charge double the price. So cutely furnished in true "beach" style, there is an armoire with a flat screen tv, free wi-fi, the most comfortable bed in the world, a cozy chair to read in, a small dinette table and a cute little kitchen area complete with a mini fridge, microwave, and a Keurig coffee maker. Grace (the owner) has thought of everything --- there's a corkscrew, some disposable cups so you can take your morning coffee down for a stroll on the beach, real coffee cups for the room, all the bath amenities you could think of --- even a notebook and pen in the nightstand drawer! The room we were assigned (#7, I believe) is on the very end (it might be larger than the others) and had two patio chairs and a small table on the deck outside. I cannot say enough about this cute, cozy, well-managed inn!! Kudos on a spectacular place to stay in one of California's last true beach towns. My only hope is that I am able to make another trip up the coast and stay here again!!

Room Tip: Ask for the last room on the back end --- you get a "peek" at the ocean from the kitchen w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed staying at the beachcomber. It's within walking distance of the beach & good restaurants. The rooms are cozy & very nicely decorated. Staff was very welcoming & helpful. Hope we have an opportunity to come back, would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BeachComber Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BeachComber Inn

Address: 541 Cypress Street, Pismo Beach, CA
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BeachComber Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.