We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth a visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marisol at the Cliffs

Marisol at the Cliffs
2757 Shell Beach Road, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
805 773 2511
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Marisol at the Cliffs is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 90 Restaurants in Pismo Beach
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Californian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Spy Glass
Transit: The bus stops right in front of the cliffs or down the street at spy glass.
Description: "Marisol" translates to "The Sun and the Sea" and no where is this more evident than through the flavors of the food. The menu at "Marisol" has been developed as New American Cuisine. As the premier choice of Pismo Beach restaurants, all of the dishes at "Marisol" are prepared with a soulful touch by Chef de Cuisine Gregg Wangard, featuring produce from fields of local farmers, seafood fresh off the boats of local fishermen, and naturally raised meats and poultry. The wine list for "Marisol" is awarded by Wine Spectator and has an amazing wines by the glass page with many local wines from Monterey to Santa Barbara County. For the finest oceanfront dining experience, try our award-winning Pismo Beach California restaurant "Marisol at the Cliffs".
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not worth a visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I wasn't expecting stellar food but I was expecting it to be pretty good being next to a few cliff side resorts. The service was stellar but our food was pretty awful. An Applebee's would have been better and we hate Applebee's. The kid's chicken and fries were overcooked and very bland. The chopped cobb salad was crisp at least but the portion size was minuscule with only a few pieces of vegetables larger than the small chopped lettuce. The nachos were the saddest of all with nothing fresh tasting about them.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at Marisol at the Cliffs, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
I am so sorry the food didn't meet your expectations when you dined with us this winter! We have a few new menu items that might impress - our kale salad is very filling and we have been getting some great reviews on our chicken nachos. If you happen to be back in the area we would love to have you back, an I hope our servers can make some suggestions for a more satisfying, well-cooked meal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    46
    16
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lompoc, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food...great ocean view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had a great dinner there right in time to see sunset over the ocean. Service was very good as was the food.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at Marisol at the Cliffs, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you so much for writing in, Professor! I am happy to hear you enjoyed the service, the food, and the sunset!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tasty 3 course meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Had the "restaurant month" special. Started out with the risotto, it was really creamy and well cooked. For the entree, I had the duck breast. While it was overcooked (well done), it was still juicy and tender so it was still pretty good. For desert, had the chocolate cake. Huge portion and very decadent. All in all a fantastic deal for such a nice dinner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at Marisol at the Cliffs, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Happy to hear you got to take advantage of our Restaurant Month deal, Mustafa! We got such a great response this year that we kept that menu available through most of February as well. I am glad you liked the selection and that the food turned out well, and we hope to see you back in before next January!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Delicious Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had dinner at Marisol on January 3rd 2013. It was a really nice experience. We were there for the January restaurant special which is a Prix Fixe meal for $30 with 3 courses. Many of the San Luis Obispo county restaurants participate in this and we try new restaurants every year during the special. At Marisol we had a choice of several appetizers and chose a soup and a squash and corn risotto. The risotto was great. For main dishes I had Sea Bass with was very well prepared and the sides were excellent. My dessert was a key lime cheesecake with a little sorbet, very good. He had a chocolate decadent cake that was huge, rich, and very chocolaty. Definitely meets any chocoholics needs. The meal was plentiful, the service attentive, and the atmosphere was perfect. It was dark so we couldn't see much of the ocean view, but were able to walk on the grounds along the ocean bluff after the meal. The noise level in the dining room was pleasant. In comparison to a very nearby and highly touted restaurant we tried a couple of years ago, this was much better, more food, and a much better atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at Marisol at the Cliffs, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Di, thank you so much for such a beautiful review! We tried to make sure we had a diverse menu this year for Restaurant Month, since many restaurants only have one or two choices. Our Pastry Chef Hannah is definitely an enabler for chocoholics, I'm glad you got to taste the refreshing cheesecake as a complement to that rich dessert! I hope that you get a chance to come out again, we've added some new artwork and lighting that enhances the atmosphere at Marisol even more, and now that we have those later sunsets there have been spectacular views each night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Superbly cooked food and fabulous wine list.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We live in the area and do not often eat out unless out of town friends are visiting. While not our favorite restaurant in the area (the view is good but not great from within the restaurant) it was after dark anyway so we chose it for variety.

All of us remarked on how well our appetizers and entrees were prepared and presented. However the best aspect was the wine list. Not only did they have an extensive list of local (as well as out-of-the-area) wines, the wine prices appeared to be uniformly less than twice the retail price - in the case of some good local choices they seemed to be about 70% over. This is a very attractive markup for a wine considering the extra effort needed by the waiter. I don't know if they have a wine steward (we are familiar enough with the local vintages to know what we like so we didn't ask for help) but someone with sound knowledge of local wines is managing their service.

Recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at Marisol at the Cliffs, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
I am glad you got out to come and experience Marisol this winter! It sounds like our kitchen did a great job with the food, and I'm happy to confirm that we do have a great Wine Steward in house, Jeff Chaney, who has done a great job highlighting local winemakers and setting up our menu so people get a chance to try out some exciting bottles. I hope you get a chance to come out this Spring to see our new wine list and enjoy the view, maybe at a table on the patio to enjoy the real oceanfront view!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marisol at the Cliffs also viewed

 

Been to Marisol at the Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marisol at the Cliffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.