We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Un-safe mediocre motel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Breeze Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ocean Breeze Inn to your Saves list
Ocean Breeze Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   250 Main Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
San Jose, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Un-safe mediocre motel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I read the reviews prior to arriving so I wasn't expecting much. We arrived a little early (1pm) and thought we would try our luck checking in. There was an older man who was rude and said "no try back around 2:30" without even looking in the computer or offering a smile. When we came back a nice young girl checked us in. Being two females traveling together we asked for a second floor room but was told they were all taken. Once we arrived to our room it appeared run down and tired. We reserved a suite and there was a sign in the kitchen that said "$100 cleaning fee for leaving dirty dishes" I'm pretty sure it does not cost $100 to wash a few dishes, makes me wonder if other guests half [--] clean them to avoid the fee... lucky for us we didn't end up using any. Our door didn't close property so we were unable to lock the second lock. The bottom lock and the dead bolt were our only options, the windows didn't look like they had any kind of locks on them either. As mentioned before being female travelers on the first floor I would like to feel a little more secure. The pool was closed, which from the other comments seems like it has been that way for quite some time. The continental breakfast was a joke. Banana, a mini muffin, and toast were the only options. Not to mention the sign that said "be mindful of other guests" which basically implies not to take more then 1 mini muffin...

Only plus side: Location, its only a block from the beach. Restaurants and a few bars all within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breeze P, General Manager at Ocean Breeze Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We apologize that you could not check in early and the signs offended you. Guests check out at 11 a.m. and the housekeepers need time to clean the rooms so the check in time, like most hotels is at 3 p.m. (many hotels now have a 4:00 p.m. check in time) We did inspect the room and the windows do have locks. About the sign "$100" sign, the intent is to ask the customers to clean any dishes that the guests use. When housekeeping cleans the dishes and pots and pans, it delays other rooms being cleaned which could also delay other guests checking in on time. The breakfast sign is to kindly remind guests to not use the complimentary breakfast to stock up for a hike or a beach outing. Thank you and we hope you'll visit Pismo Beach again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    31
    12
    16
    53
See reviews for
41
30
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here the weekend of the Pismo Beach Clam Festival. The room was small but clean. Bed was VERY uncomfortable. Pretty noisy too as we were located on the alleyway. Seems like everyone who drove through there had really loud vehicles and the people with more than a few drinks walking past didn't think anyone could hear them unless they were yelling. ;-)

Other than the noise my only real complaint was that the hot water heater that feeds our room also supplies water for 4 other rooms, two of which have Jacuzzi tubs which were apparently used on Sunday morning. This left us without any hot water at all which was more than a little inconvenient. Even more frustrating was the lack of response from the front desk, aka not answering the phone, when I called to ask about it. I even thought I was being tricky and called the main number from my cell phone but still no answer. That was interesting to say the least. When my husband went to the office to get us some coffee he chatted with an older man and his wife about the hot water and the attitude was "Oh well". Not even an insincere apology or faking concern, just oh well.

Oh well, we probably won't stay there again. :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breeze P, General Manager at Ocean Breeze Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We continue to improve the hotel so that guests can experience a great location at a value that leaves money to enjoy Pismo Beach. Interestingly, many of our guests post positive reviews that do not seem to post. We look forward to seeing you in Pismo Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend decided to take a break from hot Bakersfield!
We choose this motel because it was close to the beach! The location is great :) the room we got had ocean view! It didn't have the greatest beach view! We had the room closest to the the road and close to where everyone walked to the beach! We didn't have much privacy and I didn't have the greatest night of sleep! It was so loud with people talking and cars making noise! It was a inpleasant sleep! I kept waking up throughout the night and my boyfriend didn't end up sleeping until 4am in the morning when we attempted to sleep at 10:30. The rooms were alright over all! Just plain! I wouldn't mind staying again ! I would just want a less noisy room!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceansedge, General Manager at Ocean Breeze Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your review and we're glad you had a nice stay. We apologize for any noise from the people walking on the street and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

nothing fancy but just steps to beach and downtown. try Pismo fish and chips on cypress, best in town. old west cinnamon rolls around the corner. good live music most nights at harrys. guiseppes Italian deli is a good value for to go items.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceansedge, General Manager at Ocean Breeze Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your review and we're glad you enjoyed the convenient location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Position was excellent walk to the beach but that's where it ends - the manager was not friendly at all would not speak, rooms were old and need work, bed sags badly, pool out of order, we were worried about safety as people across the street dodgy, breakfast a joke - don't bother

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceansedge, General Manager at Ocean Breeze Inn, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
We apologize for your experience. We offer a basic breakfast consisting of coffee, tea, juice, muffins, bread, cereals. We'll use your feedback to review the bed condition. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Breeze Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Breeze Inn

Address: 250 Main Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Breeze Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1/2 block from the ocean at Pismo Beach with Indoor heated pool. Beach style motel. Park and walk to restaurants and shops. Billiards, bowling, surf rentals are less than 1 block from the motel. Family suites with 2 bedrooms and/or kitchenette are available. Kids will love the pool.FREE Parking, FREE Continental Breakfast.Ideal for value minded guests who respect property and the right of others to enjoy Pismo Beach, reasonable rates, and convenience of a great location close to the beach, entertainment, and activities without having to drive the car after checking in.NOT RECOMMENDED for guests who wish to party loud after 11 p.m., or disturb other guests, or sneak in a pet, or smoke in the rooms, or allow kids to run around in the hallway/parking lot, or try to sneak in more guests then allowed in the room, or have a trailer or LONG VEHICLE, or would like to stay at a 5 star hotel but don't want to pay the 5 star rates and obey the 5 star policies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Breeze Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Breeze Hotel Pismo Beach
Ocean Breeze Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Breeze Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.