We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay elsewhere” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Breeze Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Breeze Inn to your Saves list
Ocean Breeze Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   250 Main Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stay elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Very small room, old sagging bed, dirty tub, one small bed stand and kitchen chair were the only furniture. Not worth it, try another hotel. Good location is the only positive for this place. So called breakfast was toast and tiny muffens.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    35
    13
    21
    55
See reviews for
45
37
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

By far our experience at this motel was of top notch. Great customer service and perfect location. Our party booked a large amount of rooms and Ed was so helpful. The 2 room suites are perfect for families along with the kitchen. You can either eat out or cook in your room. I recomend this motel for long term or short term visits to Pismo Beach .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceansedge, General Manager at Ocean Breeze Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments and glad your group had a wonderful time. Ed really tries to take care of needs of groups with multiple rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights this past weekend at Ocean Breeze Inn. The only good thing about this place was its proximity to shops and the beach. Otherwise... terrible. Bed was hard as a rock. Bedspread was dirty. One towel in the bathroom. Towel were made of sandpaper. One tiny sliver of soap. Had to unplug the little refrigerator because it was so loud. They didn't clean the room or make the bed at the end of the first day. I asked the front desk guy if they didn't offer cleaning service... his reply... "I have no idea... are they suppose to clean the room in the middle of a two day stay?" My reply, "Well, it'd be the first time in my 46 years on planet earth if they didn't..." "Oh, I'll have to ask about that..." he said. Clueless! I don't go to Pismo Beach with great frequency... but the next time I do, I'd far rather sleep in the front seat of my car that pay $125 for a room in this place. SAVE YOU BACK AND YOUR MONEY... THIS PLACE IS TERRIBLE!

Room Tip: They don't have a good room at this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

When we first checked in, we paid more than what quoted by the manager. $199.69 was his quote from 3-22-13 to 3-25-13 on 1-17-13. When we got there he said he didn't say that and he would not honor his mistake. His receptionist said maybe we heard him wrong or thought he said 199.69. Our room stay was 269 plus tax. The manager was very persistent in him not making a mistake but stated that his manager wouldn't be happy If he'd honor his mistake because it was a holiday weekend and he'd have to explain why his rates were charged different for our room. He wasn't a man of his word at all. The beds felt really stiff, not a lot of space in the restroom to place our personal items, wifi didn't work in room 29 because it was too far from the office. The pool was out of service even though when we first made the reservation we weren't told how it wasn't going to be able to be used because of their not being up to code by the fire marshall so it was closed off. Parking was limited because each night the manager would park in a no parking handicap zone, possibly because of the construction material left on the premises taking up parking space. My wife also forgot a bouse and a pair of pants new in the hotel closet, we called back several hours when remembering about them and were told to call back the next day because the room hadn't been cleaned. It took two days later for them to tell us that they found nothing in the closet so we figured the maid service just stole them since they were the last ones to clean the room and since it took long enough for the hotel to look into it. We were the ones that had to keep calling back to them. I also paid cash for the rooms and I was still charged on my credit card. When I talked to the manager he wasn't willing or helpful to refund us our money. Stating that the computer automatically runs the charges and his investors would be upset for refunding any money taken out. He started accusing us of cancelling our room within the 72 hour cancellation policy, then finally checked his computer seeing that we cancelled a week in advance. And then not owning up to his mistakes being made, started saying he never told us any agreements made to us about cancelling the room or prices qouted. After 15 minutes of arguing with him, he then said he'll see what he can do for us. I insisted on speaking to his manager but he said there is no one higher than him, just his investors and their not interested in things like this, their from india, he'll call us the following day to see what can be done, never did. Worst anniversary stay ever. Other people in his position would have been fired, too bad he's the owner and can't retire because his customer service needs too.

Room Tip: Location is vood but I'd stay where your wanted, taken care of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceansedge, General Manager at Ocean Breeze Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Regarding items left in the rooms: we frequently ship items back to guests when we find the items. Over the many years in business, we've not had incidents where housekeeping or other staff has stolen a guest item.
Regarding your credit card. We verified that we did not double charge you.
Regarding the rate of $89.95 per night for 2 nights would be around $199, and additional $89.95 for the 3rd night. It would be incorrect for us to charge for 3 nights and the guest stayed only 2, and unfair for the guest to pay for 2 nights and stay 3.
The pool was open in January when you inquired about a room, but due to new regulations since that time, the pool is closed and we apologize for that.
Regarding the parking: while we're improving the facility, we sometimes have to store materials in the parking lot. The manager attempts to make space for guests to park by moving his car so guests can park.
We wish you good travels and a better anniversary next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinuba, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed in the kitchenette family suite, the room was very roomy and comfortable and our bathroom was of very decent size. The kitchenette was very convenient for our family, we bought grocerys and made meals in our room which saved us a lot of money instead of eating too much out, hey more money for souvenirs , I just wished they had a little more cookware, We were allowed to check in an 1 hour an a half early which was great. I loved the location the beach and pier half a block away, Pismo boiling down the alley behind the hotel , Splash cafe around the corner and just a few minutes drive to the Ocean dunes. The staff was very friendly, the gentlemen who checked us in was very helpful with questions as we had never been to Pismo before, housekeeping honored our request for our needs . Remember people dont expect the quality of the Hilton or Plaza, this is a small beach motel but still very lovely .My brother and his family also stayed in a 1 queen 1 king room and also loved it . We found our hotel in Pismo and will use it from now on.

Room Tip: If you book a kitchenette call to make sure what cookware and dishes it has, if not so you can requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceansedge, General Manager at Ocean Breeze Inn, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive experience. We continue to improve the facilities. We'll see you in Pismo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Not much good I can say about it. It was overpriced because it was near the beach. The lady at the front desk was rude. She told me she put an extra sheet on the floor because the carpet was dirty. When I asked for a clean room she told me "it was a beach hotel, none of them are clean". The room was tiny and the walls were so thin you could hear every word your neighbors said. There was no front desk staff; you need an extra pillow at 10pm, wait until the next morning. I stayed here because I thought it would be nice to be near the beach; not worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceansedge, General Manager at Ocean Breeze Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
This is an old review from 2011. It should be removed because guest has not stayed since the writing of this review and this is inappropriate that TripAdvisor is posting this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

For the price it was great. Mgr checked our room before we walked in and stuck around to see if we needed anything. We were allowed to check in early and upgraded . Noticed they are doing remodel and beautification for summer. Right around corner from Splash and Harry's and boardwalk.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceansedge, General Manager at Ocean Breeze Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your positive review! we appreciate you noting what thousands of guests experience but never write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ocean Breeze Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Breeze Inn

Address: 250 Main Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Breeze Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1/2 block from the ocean at Pismo Beach with Indoor heated pool. Beach style motel. Park and walk to restaurants and shops. Billiards, bowling, surf rentals are less than 1 block from the motel. Family suites with 2 bedrooms and/or kitchenette are available. Kids will love the pool.FREE Parking, FREE Continental Breakfast.Ideal for value minded guests who respect property and the right of others to enjoy Pismo Beach, reasonable rates, and convenience of a great location close to the beach, entertainment, and activities without having to drive the car after checking in.NOT RECOMMENDED for guests who wish to party loud after 11 p.m., or disturb other guests, or sneak in a pet, or smoke in the rooms, or allow kids to run around in the hallway/parking lot, or try to sneak in more guests then allowed in the room, or have a trailer or LONG VEHICLE, or would like to stay at a 5 star hotel but don't want to pay the 5 star rates and obey the 5 star policies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Breeze Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Breeze Hotel Pismo Beach
Ocean Breeze Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Breeze Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.