We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, but bad location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oceano Inn

Save Saved
You added Oceano Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oceano Inn
1252 Pacific Blvd., Pismo Beach, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice room, but bad location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night on a trip to the cost from Fresno. We were photographing a wedding and decided to stay the night at the last minute. The room was nice, clean and appeared to be recently remodeled. The outside was not scary, as some reviewers had stated, but it was a little weird. It's crammed in with apartments and the mini mart. It's location is not convent. There is that mini market next door, and a Mexican restaurant across the street, but they didn't serve breakfast, so we had to drive across town to get something to eat in the morning. If we had it to do over again we would have stayed closer to 101.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel is located very close to beach, the reception staff were very helpful in waiting for us as we arrived beyong their normal opening hours. They helped us with all local instructions and gave good advices. Room were of standard quality with Tea-Coffee. The price was not very expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We always stay at the Oceano Inn when we go to the beach there. The management is friendly and the rooms are always clean and fresh. If we forget something they call us and mail us what we left behind. They are the closest to the dunes and the most affordable in the five cities area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here on our trip from LA to SF on Highway 1. Clean but spartan rooms. The hotel grounds were pretty bleak - just concrete parking lots. The hotel lies just next to the access road to the beach which has a lot of heavy traffic during evenings/night. Mediocre ventilation - the air in the rooms were stifling in the morning.

No swimming pool or restaurant (a Mexican restaurant across the road).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crescenta, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Just an overnight while traveling. Very clean for near the beach. Sunday night in March, so no problem with rowdy summer folks whooping it up. Management very accommodating and efficient. Winter rate was very reasonable. King bed soft, but everything was very clean. TV was older CRT, but large and very viewable. Bar across the street, but we did not try it as we were dead tired.

Room Tip: Two story, so no elevator. We chose ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

I was a bit worried due to some of the reviews about this hotel. We arrived on a dark, rainy night and we were both pleasantly surprised when we opened the door to our room. It was clean and equipped with tv, cable, microwave, fridge, coffee maker, spacious bathroom. The hot water and heater worked fabulously. And there was a heat lamp in the bathroom too. The hotel is basic, of course, so it isn't a spacious layout. Some of the furniture is showing marks of age. And the bathroom could use a towel rack or shelf or hook on the door (SOMEwhere to hang the towels...). But overall, we were very pleased! The nearby restaurants (Juan's Cantina and RockNRoll Diner) had very delicious food. Everyone was friendly. Some bad reviews complained of the road noise and if we didn't have the hum of the heater, then that would have been a bit of an issue for us too. And the Oceano Inn definitely looks a little scary from the outside (especially with the resident who was sitting outside smoking and drinking). And the Pismo beach town sites are a few miles away (definitely not walking distance). The Dunes aren't as far, but I still recommend driving. Given the higher prices (more than double what we paid) of other hotels closer to the sites -- hotels that look just as "scary" from the outside -- we were definitely happy we chose the Oceano Inn.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Having stayed in the past in nearby Pismo Beach, I didn't realize until staying here that people who stay in Oceano are younger, therefore more likely to be louder and drunk in public. We left our place earlier than planned, as we had "neighbors" (on a Sunday night!) get loud, laughing past one a.m. They were clearly drunk.

As for the place, it had a nice king sized bed. It is definitely pet friendly, as our dog would attest to that. The TV was a flat screen, but would was a problem was some of the channels did not work, including the channel with the programming guide. The towel rack was far enough from the sink that our floor kept getting wet and I had to wipe it up.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceano Inn

Address: 1252 Pacific Blvd., Pismo Beach, CA
Location: United States > California > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Oceano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceano Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.