We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place for some quality family time! Love it there!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear River Lake Resort

Bear River Lake Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pioneer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear River Lake Resort
Save Saved
You added Bear River Lake Resort to your Saves list
40800 Highway 88, Pioneer, CA 95666   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pioneer
East S.F. Bay Area, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A lovely place for some quality family time! Love it there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

I love this place. It's a camping resort so if you are looking to "rough it" or be completely secluded... this is probably not the place for you. Our family has been going there for a few years now and we love it. The campsite has lots that are kinda close to one another but it has never been a problem for us. We usually get one (or two) of the spots right off the water. There are plenty of water faucets, some electrical outlets, 4 hot showers (run off quarters), 2 restroom locations with 2 stalls in each the womans and mens. Horse shoe pit (bring your horseshoes) and a sand volleyball area. There is a swing set with two swings also. The fishing is good and there is a store that has plently of fishing equipment... a bar/restaurant/some groceries. The boat ramp is right in front of the store. If your looking to have some fun family time this is a nice place. People do stay up fairly late so you might hear them laughing etc.... BUT PLEASE if you have a new baby that cries all night... don't bring them hear because you will keep the whole site up... This happened to me the last time we went. =/

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    2
    5
    6
See reviews for
8
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
GrahamW58
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

Just returned from a 2 day camping trip at Bear River Lake. This place is terrible and the worst camping experience we've ever had.

To start off, mapquest and google maps have completely incorrect directions in a crucial spot telling you to go left on hwy 88 instead of making a right. We ended up driving 10 miles out of the way before calling and getting the correct directions from the office. The person we spoke with said they were aware of these sites giving incorrect directions. They said they've written to the sites about the incorrect directions and there is nothing else they could do. How about posting the correct directions on their website, since that is how we based our directions and they actually provide a link to mapquest. But no mention at all. In fact they just give the address of the campsite and you are forced to use an outside source for driving directions. Even the Garmin GPS system had the incorrect directions. This should have been a red flag before we even arrived.

Finally arrived and set up our tents and quickly realized this is not the place for tent camping as 95% of the sites were occupied by trailer or RVs. There are no fire rings except for a metal box that was leaning up against a table when we got there and no grills, eventhough the website stated each site had grills. When planning the trip we considered booking one of the "cabins" they listed on the website. The term cabin could not be used more loosely as these are nothing more than single wide trailers and the entire cabin section looked like a crowded trailer park.

There are no hiking trails around the campsite, so unless you are going to spend the entire time fishing or renting their equipment, there is really nothing to do here.

One of the most dissapointing parts of the experience was the staff. Whether it was calling for directions, checking in, renting kayaks, or buying firewood, everyone we spoke to and dealt with was unpleasant, unfriendly and not helpful. Only cared about taking our money which it became pretty obvious was what this place was all about. A very small bundle of firewood was $7.25, you could easily spend $100 on firewood at this place. The canoe and kayak rentals were average hourly prices ($10-$15 per hour), but when asked what was available no one there knew what they had and when we finally made decisions they ended up not having the amount of equipment they originally stated they had.

In summary, avoid this place at all costs. Unpleasant staff, expensive services, and terrible facilities. Although the surrounding area is beautiful, this place is not the way to enjoy it. I would reconmmend Wrights Lake or Jenkinson Lake for a great camping experience.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pioneer hotels

Vacaville
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2007

I have been going to Bear River Lake Resort since 1985 (22 years). My parents after retirement found this place and kept there RV there for 1/2 year at a time. My oldest now 23 was going there since she was two and I would join them on the weekends. My family and I started going there after both my parents passed away and we always go by there favorite site and remember them. We enjoy our week there every August and have a special spot. We camp in a tent but our camping gear gets more and more civilized each year. We love it there and I can not see us ever not going there. We also camped (in a tent) in April or may two years ago. It was wet and there was some snow in shady areas. It rained all week long and was freezing. We had to make shelter where our table and fire was and would freeze when we went to take a shower. By and by that was our most favorite trip.

  • Liked — The trees
  • Disliked — The trees
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleasanton, ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2007

I love Bear River, I have been going since I was 3 months old! I wait a long time to go and the weekend is the highlight of my summer vacation. They have a lot of things like biking, camp fires and they have a full stocked store. It has stuff you might have forgotten at home like lighters and food. The campsites are wonderful, i suggest the group campsite. We have a group of about 40 people and need the room. We alway have a lot of tent space left over. We always have a great time with riding bikes all over and swimming. I suggest going during the summer when its still cold at night, but warm during the day. Like nice for a camp fire at night an good for a campfire and smores. During the day go swimming and fishing. I really recomend this place!

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2006

This place is one of a kind!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2006

I went to bear river lake resort in the summer. It was great, we rented a cabbin, and when we got their, it was a trailer, It had enough room to sleep 5 people, a small, but comfurtable kitchen. It also had a shower, and a bathroom. It was right next to the lake, so we fished every day. The fishing is great, I caught a 2 1/2 foot trout!!! What a great time. The other people are just too picky.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2006

I became aware of Bear River Lake Resort through the Boy Scout program. We made reservations to take our four children there for fun in the snow. When we arrived the lodge was closed and you were unable to purchase a meal. The snowmobile shop was closed and rentals were not available. Neither of these services ever opened the three nights we were there. The trailer lacked the necessary plates or silverware and the doors didn't lock from the inside. The lodge caretaker was polite. So much for having fun in the snow. Especially when you had to drive a half hour to a gas station for a bite to eat.

  • Stayed January 2004
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bear River Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear River Lake Resort

Address: 40800 Highway 88, Pioneer, CA 95666
Location: United States > California > Pioneer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pioneer
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Bear River Lake Hotel Pioneer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear River Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.