We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Libby's Restaurant

Libby's Restaurant
8651 Highway 128, Philo, CA 95466
707-895-2646
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 restaurants in Philo
Restaurant details
cincinnati
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our server at our tasting at Handley Cellars recommended this place for lunch. It's small and service is slow. But the food is great and well priced with big portions. Worth the drive and wait.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    19
    7
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great local spot with authentic Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a very local spot, very down to earth. Service is not stellar, not bad, just kind of sullen. Food is great and very resonable. We ate twice while in the area but got take out the second time to eat at the courtyard of our accommodation - much nicer surroundings!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Maybe the best Mexican food I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

After unsuccessfully trying to get into a restaurant in Booneville, we opted for Libby's -- at the suggestion of Jim, our host at The Madrones, nearby. We loved the casual (and I mean casual) vibe, the fabulous food and Libby was darling. She's a one-woman show that does it all. The only thing that would have made it perfect was a margarita (beer & wine only -- but a very nice wine list featuring local producers). We loved it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Another Happy Libby's Customer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I just have to add my voice to the chorus of positive reviews for Libby's. My husband and I were travelling through the Anderson Valley and based on other recommendations decided to go to Libby's rather than have a more high end meal elsewhere. And we are so glad we did!

Yes, the space has pretty generic linoleum/coffee shop decor, but who cares when the food is so tasty. We were there around 6:00 on a Saturday evening, but no problem with crowds. Mostly local folks and family groups. The service was friendly and efficient, and we never felt ignored or dissed at all.

We started with an order of guacamole that really hit our taste preferences just exactly right--nice balance of citrus and spice heat with perfectly ripe avocado. For main courses we each ordered an entree. The husband had what he pronounced to be the best carnitas he ever tasted (and this from a serious Mexican pork fanatic...), and I had a carne asada ribeye steak. Grilled to perfection and wonderfully tender. Yum! Both servings were enormous with sides of rice and beans and fresh salsa. I'm not much of a rice person, but the pinto beans were delicious--obviously NOT from a can. The whole meal reminded me of food I used to get long ago at a little hole in the wall place in a tiny village on the west coast of Mexico. Minimal fuss about presentation and such, but maximum flavor. The husband washed down his meal with reasonably priced Mexican beer and I had a large glass of tasty local Pinot Noir. Absolutely no room for dessert, but we suspect the day's special blackberry sundae would have been delish, too.

All in all, we couldn't have been happier with our choice of dinner. We will most definitely make sure to eat at Libby's again the next time we're in the area!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Yum yum yum.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

I'm glad we took the advice of many to check out Libby'a on our trip through Anderson Valley. It was delicious. I had the carnitas burrito- it was perfect, crispy just how good carnitas should be. My boyfriend had the pork special burrito- it was spicy and yummy. He ate the entire thing and talked about how good it was the entire time.

Libby'a has a simple menu of some gray Mexican options. Everything is fresh and made in house. I am a native San Diegan and have had my share of Mexican food. This is one of my favorites.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Libby's Restaurant also viewed

Philo, Mendocino County
Philo, Mendocino County
 
Boonville, Mendocino County
Boonville, Mendocino County
 

Been to Libby's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Libby's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.