We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reno 1” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass
8317 US Highway 138, Phelan, CA 92371   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Phelan
Garden Grove
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Reno 1”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed the first night on my Motorcycle trip to Reno. The rooms were OK. They were clean and there were gas stations close by and a couple of fast food places within walking distance. Nothing exceptional but a good and cheap place to stay for first leg of trip.

Room Tip: Good place for an over nighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik L, Manager at BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for providing such great feedback. Our staff works hard to make sure that the rooms are clean, comfortable, and organized so that the guests have the best experience possible. The location is a great location and many of our guests enjoy the proximity to near-by stores. Our main goal is to provide value and make sure that our guests has a memorable experience.

Sincerely,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    20
    15
    11
    6
See reviews for
21
10
15
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

The train is located nearby and runs all night long. It's also located right next to the freeway, so if you get that side you'll hear cars in addition to the train. The room we were in needed some repairs, such as the roof in the bathroom. The rest was typical of a best western room. Will never return again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik L, Manager at BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for completing this survey and your feedback lets management know how we can create a better experience for the guests. We strive to be the best hotel possible and our staff works extremely hard to make sure that your stay is pleasant and memorable. Your feedback provides great insight into how we can improve all aspects of our hotel. We have a full-time maintenance department who are experienced in fixing all problems and the department is determined to fix all problems. We hope to see you again shortly.

Sincerely,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phelan, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I've stayed here when working a lot of overtime down in valley. It's more econimical than wear & tear on vehicle, and cheaper on gas, rather than driving 120 mi/day! I've always had clean rooms and the staff is excellent. It's NOT a resort, but is well worth the price/convenience. The trains/nor freeway noise bother me at all and I'm a day sleeper, due to work schedule. The staff will catch me coming and going and ask if I need ANYTHING, or if I ask, they're more than happy to accomodate any needs.

Room Tip: Call ahead! This location is normally quiet during week, but used by many contractors on railroad/fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik L, Manager at BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We greatly appreciate the compliments that you have given the staff members. The staff members are aggressive in making sure that our guests enjoy their stay and we see ourselves as a support system if the guest ever needs anything. They are accommodating and knowledgeable about the surrounding area and the attractions nearby. We look forward to seeing you again shortly.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Foothills
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was a very nice place, comfy bed, clean room, excellent staff, and very reasonable rates. Only complaint is signage - we came in from Hwy 138 and had a hard time finding the right driveway. Go in thru the Circle K driveway and head towards the back side of that.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik L, Manager at BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for sharing your terrific experience with us. We work very hard to make the establishment a wonderful place to stay and when we hear words like comfy, clean, and excellent, we know that we are headed in the right direction. On behalf of our entire team, thank you for providing us with this feedback and we want to continue to make sure that our quality reminds high and our guests continue to come back. I apologize for the difficulty in finding the correct driveway. We are in the midst of making the driveway more noticeable and easy for our guests to locate. We have a large Best Western sign mounted high in the air, and we will continue to find various ways to capture the guest’s attention. We hope to see you again shortly. Please stop by again soon.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branscomb, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Our first room was not cleaned well at all. The carpet was was littered with debris. I guess the housekeeper doesn't want to pack her vacuum cleaner up to the second floor. I requested a new room & was promptly assigned a new room. The second room was cleaner but still had issues. The carpet still did not look like it was vacuumed lately. After getting unpacked & situated I happened to walk by the refrigerator & stepped onto soaking wet carpet! I opened the freezer door to find it full of water! It looks like it was defrosted & allowed to just drain onto the carpet. At this point I wasn't gonna request a third room. Good thing I didn't need to use the fridge seeing as it was still flooded with water. Luckily this was just an overnite visit as I would not want to stay here ever again. One more thing.......the bathroom faucet barley flowed water with most of it leaking out of the handle onto the vanity.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik L, Manager at BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for completing this survey and your feedback provides great insight into how we can be the best hotel possible. I sincerely apologize if your expectations were not met and I can assure you that I will address this with the entire staff. We make sure that all of our housekeepers clean each room thoroughly and they have a checklist that they must fill out before they can proceed to the next room. We are currently completing our routine quarterly deep cleaning, where we will shampoo all the carpets, wipe/wash the walls, deep clean the bathrooms, steam clean the curtains, and really make sure that each room is stellar. In addition, we have a full-time maintenance employee who is adamant on fixing all damaged products on our property. Any damages are reported to the maintenance department, and they are determined to fix it immediately. Sometimes, a guest would damage something in the room and it wasn't reported to the front desk. However, we complete inspections to all the rooms and make sure that everything is working properly. We do not overlook any aspect of the guest’s stay with us and we hope that you can give us another chance to provide you a wonderful experience.

Sincerely,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
183 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

On I-15 between San Bernadino and Victorville is the turnoff to Wrightwood and Palmdale. It' route 138. At the exit sharing the interchange with 3 gas stations, a Del Taco, a Subway, and a McDonalds is this Best Western. The closest restaurant is 15 minutes away either in Wrightwood, Phelan, or towards Victorville. If you find railroad trains comforting and the freeway something you can ignore, this is a great hotel. The rooms are well maintained. The internet worked great. The room was clean. The bed was comfy. It's not a destination, but a great layover. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: If noise is an issue, ask for a room away from I-15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik L, Manager at BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We appreciate your encouraging comments and we will continue to work towards improving all aspects of your stay. The location is quite unique and there are many different attractions nearby that many of our guests enjoy. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our property and hope that you stay with us again. I am confident we will provide another memorable experience.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

The staff was so nice and the view was beautiful. You can't beat this place, I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik L, Manager at BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We are glad that you had an amazing trip and enjoyed your stay at our property. The compliments that you have given the staff are quite insightful and it lets management know that we doing our best to provide guests a memorable experience. They are always ready to share any knowledge that guest might have. We would like to have you come again shortly.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass

Address: 8317 US Highway 138, Phelan, CA 92371
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Phelan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Phelan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Phelan hotel located at the base of the scenic San Bernardino Mountains and enjoy a peaceful, serene visit in California. The BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass is conveniently located at the junction of Highway 138 and Interstate 15 just minutes away from Glen Helen Regional Park where guests may enjoy fishing, swimming, nature trails and camping. The Pacific Rim Trail, Auto Club Speedway, San Manuel Amphitheater, Green Tree Golf Course and Mountain High Ski Resort are all just a short drive from this Phelan, California hotel. Guests will also appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options. Each well-appointed room features free high-speed Internet access, an iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker, microwave and refrigerator. Visitors may choose to upgrade to a business suite or a specialty room which will accommodate up to eight people. The BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass offers a complimentary continental breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool and spa as well as beautiful mountain scenery. A friendly staff is standing by to ensure a comfortable and unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cajon Pass Hotel Phelan
Best Western Phelan
Phelan Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.