We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mystery Train” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8317 US Highway 138, Phelan, CA 92371   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Phelan
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Mystery Train”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Historic US 66 is nearby if you want to take that drive. We stayed overnite to visit Wrightwood where you can have a peaceful day in town. The motel has all that you need, clean room , breakfast, helpful staff. Freight trains that keep rolling though day & night. The pool area was in great condition.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik L, Manager at BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
This motel is in a great location near the Historic US 66 and we do have helpful staff members looking to provide any knowledge they have about the surrounding attractions. Thank you for giving us the chance to be part of your trip visiting Wrightwood. By letting us know that our rooms are clean, many breakfast selections, and a great staff, we will continue to build on these attributes and provide great value to all of our guests. I hope you can give us another chance to provide a wonderful experience and I am confident we can achieve that goal.

Sincerely,

Mangement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    25
    18
    12
    6
See reviews for
26
10
18
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Agoura Hills, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Stayed here overnight to go skiing at Mountain High. This hotel was so much nicer than we imagined. Trust my review because even though we knew this wasn't a 5-star luxury hotel, we've stayed at some of the best places (Four Seasons Los Angeles, Four Seasons Bora Bora, the W in NYC) and know what we're talking about. Having said that, our room (ground floor, room 119, even parked our car 3 feet from the door to our room) was super clean with fresh linens and 4 fluffy pillows. The beds were perfect--really. Adequate lighting in the room and even though people have written about the highway noise, we barely noticed it. Just bring a sound machine or find an app on your phone if you think it's going to affect your night's sleep. Sink space was perfect, and to our surprise, the bathroom was not only fine but SUPER CLEAN. The shower was great and there's even a wall-mounted soap dispenser with soap, shampoo and conditioner. Because we didn't know what to expect, we brought with us a variety of things that we thought we'd need (soap, shampoo, Windex wipes) and we ended up using NONE because the room had everything and it was clean. There's a frig and microwave. Didn't use the micro and the frig worked perfectly. Not a huge fan of walking around barefoot on dirty hotel carpet, but the room was so clean, this was NOT an issue. Even my kid asked me why I wasn't wearing flip-flops, and I said, "this place is really clean. Don't worry about it." Now I know it sounds like I have an OCD about cleanliness, but that's not the case. I just don't like sleeping or using stuff that's not been cleaned, and this place satisfied me completely. TV had plenty of choices and we had what appeared to be a new remote. Had the breakfast the day we checked out and it exceeded our expectations. From other reviews, it didn't sound too good and we were prepared to go to the nearby McDonalds. Take it from someone who's eaten $30 breakfasts at the Four Seasons--this was totally fine and filled us up for a morning of skiing. There's instant oatmeal, three kinds of cold cereal, bread and bagels, and a few other items. We missed the eggs and hot selections because we got there late, but we didn't even miss it. Check out and in was super fast. Desk personnel were friendly and nice. When we left, I told the front desk person that I was going to write a really good review because we were really pleased. Overall, this place was--as I wrote in the title of my review--way better than we imagined.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik L, Manager at BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Your wonderful comments lets us know that we are on the right path to providing a great experience to all of our guests. We have worked very hard to make your stay with us a memorable and enjoyable experience. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and we will continue to find ways to improve. The amenities and breakfast selections that you have highlighted are terrific and we continue to look for ways to upgrade, but the compliments that you have given our staff members is terrific. They are indeed very courteous and accommodating. Please make sure to visit us again sometime soon in the near future.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean but the housekeeping sucks! My wife and I stay here often because I like to go rappelling at Morman Rocks right down the street from the motel. There have been several times that housekeeping never came by to clean the room. It's not like they are busy or anything. The beds are super hard and the continental breakfast is poor.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik L, Manager at BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you taking the time to complete this survey that details your stay with our property. We strive to provide a wonderful experience for all of our guests. Each staff member is assertive in providing the guests with a memorable experience. The front desk staff do a wonderful job welcoming the guests and making them "feel at home." Management places as much emphasis on hiring the correct housekeepers. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us. Our housekeepers do a meticulous job in making sure that the rooms are clean and comfortable. We also complete inspections for each room. Our complimentary breakfast includes: assorted bread, multiple pastries, coffee, juice, tea, cereal, and waffle with syrup on the side. We continue to think about our breakfast selections in order to provide the best breakfast for our guests. I hope that you give us another chance in providing you a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Great location and very cheap rate. Room was clean, beds nice and WiFi worked great. But, we had no hot water!!!

Breakfast was the usual awful hotel breakfast. They didn't even have real butter.

The sound of the freeway is very loud...but kind of like having a white noise machine.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
248 hotel reviews
Reviews in 182 cities Reviews in 182 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

what really stood out during my stay was how nice and accomodating the front desk personnel were. they went out of their way to be helpful, w/o the negative attitude you so often get at motels.
breakfast had a large variety of choices, including apples, oranges, oatmeal and cereals if you don't want the high-fat microwave foods.
the room was generally clean but the furniture was dusty and coffee maker was too dirty to use. nice to have a fridge and microwave and expanded cable tv.
the room was generally quiet considering that there are noisy highways and frequent trains nearby. i used the fan to muffle the noise at night.
housekeeping was subpar. on the last day there was none and sugar/creamer packets for coffee were not replenished.
i'd definitely stay again by using the discount rates online.

Room Tip: reserve 14 days in advance for a good discount on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stopped here to explore the area while traveling from Las Vegas to LA, and it was comfortable and conveniently located. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was a nice surprise. It was too cool to use the pool, and the highway is a bit close on one side, but overall it was great!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

When we ski, we just want a comfortable, safe place to stay - no hassle. This particular Best Western was just that...clean, extremely comfortable and convenient. Everyone was pleasant and professional and our room was truly wonderful! The staff was great, hardworking, accommodating...but - it was the guests that were pigs! (Geez people, pick up YOUR TRASH!) We wanted a bite to eat before our day started and they had microwave breakfast burritos, oatmeal, beverages, fresh fruit, pastries, hot coffee and chocolate - I mean, what do you expect? We were there to go skiing, not to dine. It was all so convenient and the quality of it all made our stay a fun one!

It is convenient to have a gas station right there too...and for those of you who like Del Taco, this Best Western is where you want to be at.

This Best Western is our solid pick for a great stay when skiing at Mountain High!!!
(Guests: Please don't trash this place...it's one of the last "nice" places to stay at!)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass

Address: 8317 US Highway 138, Phelan, CA 92371
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Phelan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Phelan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Phelan hotel located at the base of the scenic San Bernardino Mountains and enjoy a peaceful, serene visit in California. The BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass is conveniently located at the junction of Highway 138 and Interstate 15 just minutes away from Glen Helen Regional Park where guests may enjoy fishing, swimming, nature trails and camping. The Pacific Rim Trail, Auto Club Speedway, San Manuel Amphitheater, Green Tree Golf Course and Mountain High Ski Resort are all just a short drive from this Phelan, California hotel. Guests will also appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options. Each well-appointed room features free high-speed Internet access, an iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker, microwave and refrigerator. Visitors may choose to upgrade to a business suite or a specialty room which will accommodate up to eight people. The BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass offers a complimentary continental breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool and spa as well as beautiful mountain scenery. A friendly staff is standing by to ensure a comfortable and unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cajon Pass Hotel Phelan
Best Western Phelan
Phelan Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Cajon Pass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.