We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience at Quality Inn Petaluma” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5100 Montero Way, Petaluma, CA 94954   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Petaluma
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice experience at Quality Inn Petaluma”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We needed a place to stay at the last moment. The desk manager at the Quality Inn in Petaluma was very helpful, courteous, thoughtful,efficient, and pleasant when we walked in. Our room was comfortable, quiet, clean, and had all the amenities we needed. A full hot breakfast is included in the price of the room. [They could use a little more space in the eating area, but the food was plentiful and tasty.] We will definitely stay here again the next time we are in Petaluma, California.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    78
    38
    15
    4
See reviews for
58
74
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Never stayed at a Quality Inn before but we had a wedding to attend in Petaluma and this was one of the choices. Despite many four and five star reviews this is not a hotel falling in these categories. I'm not sure what "average" means but if so many people rated this hotel above average, their frame of reference must include Motel 6 and sleeping in their cars.

On the positive side, the staff tries so hard to please and breakfast is more than generous. There are no bedbugs either. But -- the hotel is seriously understaffed in terms of housekeeping. On one occasion our room was not made up until 5 pm (despite calls and visits to the front desk) and on two other days not until 3:45 pm. The women are clearly overworked, but tried so hard to be cheerful. The carpets are dingy and wearing shoes and socks seems advised. The Quality Inn served its purpose, but for the price (yes, it's the busy time of year) remember this is a low budget motel.

Room Tip: See your room before checking in. Ask for a "quite room," away from the highway and const...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Road noise very bad, room basic accommodations, one night is all I would ever consider. Looking for a great place to eat to remove this place out of my mind tonight.....my suggestion do more research.

Room Tip: Find a place not next to a freeway....and pay more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia L, Owner at Quality Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
sesshi101, thank you for your comments. Our hotel is set-up in seven separate buildings. We do have buildings that are more set back from the highway on ramp. However, a light sleeper may not find that perfect sound proofing, but we do respect a guest's request to be moved or to find a suitable room to their liking. Even up to now many hotels are built at a major intersection for the convenience of easy on and easy off the highway, but as you mentioned - research is the key before you reserve your room or even asking about the location of your room when you arrive is highly recommended.

We want our guests to have a good experience with us, I wish yours would've been better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Wife and were looking for a stop over before starting Napa wine tasting. The Quality Inn is located at a busy interchange, noisy construction project for summer of 14. Avoid building 7 if at all possible. Staff friendly and helpful. Good breakfast bar ... Rooms ok for 2 STAR probably more like 1.75 STARS. Downtown Petaluma is very nice with a couple good tap rooms and eateries. Nice surprise for a stop over stay!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia L, Owner at Quality Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
JohnV, thanks for your comments. Thanks to voter funding the highway system in our area is being upgraded, the unfortunate thing is that the construction won't be complete until 2016. Most certainly you can request a room in another bldg.

Our town is coming into it's own as a destination. With downtown about a mile away, it's good to hear you went exploring and found some great things to do. I hope it was our Guest Service Agents that were able to steer you in that direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The location is excellent and the room was very client but ..... it was a beautiful day and we checked in around 3 pm and wanted to lie by the pool to unwind before dinner. There were approximately 8 recliners and they were all taken. The pool area had room for at least 20 recliners. It was still about 80 degrees and no where to sit and recline by the pool. Just a handful of empty plastic straight back chairs. So frustrating when you can't enjoy something you paid for. The room had paper thin walls. Every time someone flushed the toilet you could hear the water gushing down the pipes. The person above us seemed to pace the floor and move around furniture until 1 am. The doors in the shared hallways make a loud noise the rattles the walls.

Room Tip: For $200 and all of the noise it's not a good value at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia L, Owner at Quality Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
DianeF thank you for your comments. You're right, we could have more recliners out on the deck especially during the summer when the afternoons are gorgeous, but we would like to keep a certain amount of open space available so guests don't feel so hemmed in.

During our summer season our rates can be very high but as you said, our property was clean and we're in an excellent location - thank you for those positive comments.

Visit us again as the season winds down, the weather will be just as nice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Great Hotel, Great Staff, Amazing free breakfast!!!!

Very helpful at check in with ideas of where to eat (the 101 Casino has an amazing $9.99 Prime rib dinner every night!). Kindly put us in a room away from the folks there for the Beer Circus so we could have a more peaceful rest :)

Walls were a little thin, but once we turned on the fan we didn't hear a peep and I am a VERY light sleeper!

Quick access to the highway for trips in to the city or up the shore.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed her for 6 days in May 2014. We found this to be a great location for wine country tours and other Northern California activities. This hotel is clean and very well managed. The breakfast is great.

Dave & Barbara

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 5100 Montero Way, Petaluma, CA 94954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Petaluma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the southern edge of Petaluma, one of the oldest cites in California founded in 1858, stands the distinctive Cape Cod style complex of buildings that is the Quality Inn Petaluma. Rated three diamonds by AAA, the 108 room hotel serves as the travelers comfortable and convenient hub to historic downtown, pacific coast beaches, wetland hiking trails, golf courses, wineries and family farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Petaluma
Quality Inn Petaluma, CA - Sonoma County
Petaluma Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.