We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay for the location and price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Quality Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5100 Montero Way, Petaluma, CA 94954   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Petaluma
Certificate of Excellence
maryland
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“stay for the location and price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

this hotel is in rather a need of a makeover, but it was clean enough, the staff was friendly, and it was within walking distance to lagunitas, a casino, and a few restaurants and bars. the rooms are spread out all over so from check in you would walk back outside to get to your room. we stayed in a queen room and it was ok just seemed a little dingy from age.

the hotel does over a decent complementary breakfast back in the lobby including hot food, which was nice, so for the price in cali it wasn't too bad.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    94
    47
    16
    5
See reviews for
72
88
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, California
Top Contributor
559 reviews 559 reviews
98 hotel reviews
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Its not really near anything but the freeway. There are several buildings here. I had a quiet room, which was nice. Breakfast includes hot and cold items in the lobby. The coffee in my room tasted funny. Beds were a little lumpy.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia L, Owner at Quality Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hitch84, we appreciate your comments and I'm glad you mostly had a good stay. Your comment about the hotel not being by anything except the freeway makes it sound like we're located all by ourselves off the hwy which we're not.

Our cul-du-sac ends with the 101 Casino, which has a pretty good restaurant, Appleby's and Jack in the Box are right next door to the hotel. Across the main intersection of McDowell and Old Redwood Hwy, is a strip mall with mixed businesses that include Starbucks and not less than six ethnic restaurants ranging from Italian to Vietnamese to Chinese. Then there's Kohl's and Pier 1 Imports in the strip mall on the other corner of the same intersection with four more restaurants. Our location is surrounded by great support businesses that the locals use.

I hope you let the hotel know what room you were in so we can check out the mattress.

Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed there several times because it is close to where my company is located.

It is an older chain hotel in so so condition, but normally a good value (but not this past stay).

Room stank of old stale cigarette smoke and a refrigerated truck ran off and on all night and when I mentioned the truck as an annoyance all he said was that the driver was a customer and it only went on every 30 mins or so.

No going back for me, no matter how cheap they are!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia L, Owner at Quality Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
BobD, I was sorry to read your comments. We are in the process of re-training the Guest Service Agent you spoke to at the front desk about the refrigeration truck, and the Housekeeping Supervisor was told that the deep cleaning of that smoked - in room wasn't thorough enough.

This past month brought a change in management at the hotel. We hope that over the next few months new policies and procedures are set in place that put the hotel on a better track regarding customer service and housekeeping.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
44 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We weren't sure we wanted to book this hotel as there were several negative reviews. Our stay of 2 nights was great. We have a clean, quiet, comfortable room for 3 adults. There are multiple buildings in this complex. We stayed in Building 1 near the main lobby and these rooms were in great shape. We had no complaints. The owner was present at breakfast, welcoming people with a warm smile and a "good morning." Breakfast was very good with eggs, bacon, sausage, tortillas, waffles, cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, etc. The breakfast area was not large but there is an outdoor terrace at which we ate. We did not have a problem finding a table. The room was quite large and had everything we needed. We plan another trip next summer and plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in building 1 and it has been completely remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Room location near exit door...doors closing from cleaning staff and exits of customers caused doors slamming from as early 4am through the morning!!!!!! This spoiled a perfect experience with this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

After a horrible mess up with the rental car company, we had to find a motel at 1030 pm at night, which on a Saturday, is next to impossible and to even get a taxi to hold 6 was another night mare. Prices for most motels were out of this world. We called this one on a Whim, and it had a room available. It was small with two beds, refridgerator, hair dryer. They are outside motel rooms. There are places within walking distance but I wouldn't walk at night. Neighborhood is questionable for saftey. Manager had shuttle drive give me a ride to get milk for my toddler, so I didn't have to walk. :)
Breakfest was not the best, it was actually pretty gross. For a continental breakfest it could of been way better. Biscuits and Gravy, Gravy was poored out of can and was cold. No Cream Cheese for Bagels. So the positives on the motel, was price, staff was friendly and went out of their way for you and the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This Hotel, you might want to be careful, they raise their price in the summer calling it Summer rates. The Quality of the Hotel does not improve with the price increase. I have pictures of the towel racks with Scum, Mold, Rust, the toilet seat I sat on rocks, the business chair had some sort of white cream on the arm of the chair. Parking is terrible , if you can find a parking spot close to your room other wise you will find yourself across the street walking to the parking lot. Thank goodness it is not raining. The Hotel service is pretty rude and some have a I do not care what your problem is. In my opinion I complained about the issues above had a two night stay and they locked me out of my second night. I was left in the parking lot no where to go. You may get the free breakfast in the morning but be prepared to bring it to your room or eat in your car because the small front lobby area does not have enough room.
Good Travels but be careful staying here.

Room Tip: Try to request Building 1 or 2 possibly 3, but the other buildings are very close to the Huge Gambli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia L, Owner at Quality Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Ron A, it was good speaking with you earlier this week. As we discussed, I do not dispute any of your maintenance or staff observations and agree with all the points you made over the phone. To repeat part of our conversation, we are currently taking care of the GSA problem with re-training and developing a more comprehensive and thorough maintenance and housekeeping system to stay on top of room cleanliness. Thank you again for your honest comments, and I am very sorry for the experience you had on your last stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 5100 Montero Way, Petaluma, CA 94954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Petaluma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the southern edge of Petaluma, one of the oldest cites in California founded in 1858, stands the distinctive Cape Cod style complex of buildings that is the Quality Inn Petaluma. Rated three diamonds by AAA, the 108 room hotel serves as the travelers comfortable and convenient hub to historic downtown, pacific coast beaches, wetland hiking trails, golf courses, wineries and family farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Choice Hotels so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Petaluma
Quality Inn Petaluma, CA - Sonoma County
Petaluma Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.