We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Quality Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5100 Montero Way, Petaluma, CA 94954   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Petaluma
Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

The hotel is made up of seven separate buildings each with interior entrances to rooms. Our room was fairly small with about 3 feet on the side and foot of the bed and about 8 feet on the other. A small mini frig was a nice addition. The bathrooms were a little dirty (gray grout) but overall OK. The breakfast was modest with pastries, cereal, fruit and hot waffles (make them yourself). Coffee and tea were available 24/7 in the lobby as well as a computer with internet access and printer. Despite it's proximity to the highway, the rooms were quiet and the windows opened (if you so desired). Not many food options in the local area with the exception of a few already mentioned by other reviewers. The hotel is about a 10 minute drive from downtown Petaluma.

  • Liked — breakfast included
  • Disliked — older hotel with some upgrades
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    85
    42
    16
    4
See reviews for
62
80
11
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2008

We chose this hotel on a recommendation from a friend. There were several of our friends/families staying there together for an event. We all agreed - very large, spacious suites. The property is very clean. The beds are comfortable. The pool and jacuzzi are clean.

This given, however, we all agreed that we would rather stay at the more upscale Sheraton down the street, as the rate was not significant enough to be a factor.

This hotel is perfect if you are travelling on a budget, have kids, and need a lot of space. Our room consisted of

A large living room with a couch (that could pull out to a bed) a desk (free wireless), tv, kitchenette with small fridge and microwave.

A large bedroom with a king-size bed, dresser, tv, and vanity area.

A bathroom vanity/closet/dressing area. Connects to a bathroom with a jacuzzi tub / shower.

The hotel offers a continental breakfast that is included in the rate. It offered pastries, bagels, yogurt, fruit, dry cereals, instant oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, and a make-it-yourself waffle machine. Juice, milk, coffee, etc. We skipped it the first day and opted for the IHOP across the street. The second day we had the continental and it was just "ok."

Overall I would say the thing I liked best was the large rooms. But at this point in life I want a hotel that offers room service. :)

  • Liked — Large rooms, comfortable beds, cleanliness.
  • Disliked — No frills. Simple and basic.
  • Stayed January 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2007

This hotel is pretty basic but it is a good deal for the price. We stayed in a queen room w/ refridgerator for $84 per night. They also have kitchenette extended stay rooms, and rooms with couch and refridge/microwave. When we checked in the first evening they offered hot cider and cookies. Continental breakfast in the morning includes hard-boiled egg, cereals (cold and oatmeal), bagels, croissants, yogurt,. fruit. The front desk staff are really friendly and helpful. The cleaning staff is also very friendly. I would recommend this place, it is not fancy but worth the cheaper price.

  • Liked — Price, free breakfast, friendly staff
  • Disliked — highway noise
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

We (two adults and two pre-teen kids) stayed here for a total of three nights at the beginning and end of a two-week California trip. If you want an ornate lobby, a fancy on-site restaurant, and a concierge, this isn't for you, but for a moderately-priced, basic hotel this would be tough to beat.

Both times our room (two queens and a rollaway) was very clean, quiet, and adequately sized so we weren't overly crowded. Our room (and I think most rooms, though I'm not positive about that) had a microwave and small refrigerator, and the free in-room high-speed internet access worked perfectly. (There is a computer with internet access in the lobby if you don't bring your own computer.) The hotel has a nice pool and hot tub. A continental breakfast (bagels, yogurt, cereal, danish, excellent large muffins, etc.) is included in the room rate. The staff was uniformly pleasant and helpful. Our only complaint, and it's minor, is that the showerhead is too low for adults to use without stooping.

We used the hotel as a base station for Point Reyes National Seashore, a great place to explore tide pools, sit on the beach, climb rocks, and see wildlife. Point Reyes is a pleasant 40 minute or so drive (you'll pass lots of cows) from the hotel.

  • Liked — Nothing to complain about.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2007

This is a most beautiful area of Central California. About 45 minutes north of San Francisco amid lush rolling green hills and vineyards. I stayed at Quality Inn in Petaluma for the last 2-3 visits for periods of one week or more. The staff is friendly and helpful, my room was very clean. The pool and spa area was spotless and the pool and spa crystal clear.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2007

We visited on a Saturday night. Our room was fresh, neat, and quite spacious -- as was the site itself. Staff was friendly and helpful.

The kids loved the pool. My son even commented on how sparkling clean it was, and he was right -- there was something about it that seemed particularly clean and inviting.

We stay in Choice hotels fairly often and this was by far the best we've visited. Clerk gave us a quiet room at our request. I generally sleep poorly in hotels, but got a surprisingly good rest here.

  • Liked — Clean and appealing
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2007

Okay, it's only a Quality Inn, but I have to say, we were very satisfied with our stay and would definitely stay here again. In the past we have stayed at the Sheraton Petaluma--obviously a higher class of hotel--but this time we wanted to save money, so we tried the Quality Inn and were so happy that we are never going back to the Sheraton. Our room was very generously sized (I think we were in an "Executive King" type room) and well-appointed with safe, fridge, and microwave. Though the property is right near the freeway, we did not hear freeway noise; maybe some rooms are better positioned than others. I needed web access and they had an open computer in the lobby for the use of guests--perfect. The connection went down a couple of times, but was fixed promptly and cheerfully by hotel staff. All staff members were friendly and helpful--no vacant stares or mumbled words here. We did not partake of continental breakfast but it looked better than the usual spread. Didn't use the pool or jacuzzi either (it was February) but it was nice to know they were there. In short, this place is a great value (we paid $90 for our room) and well-located for day trips around wine country.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — A little hard to find
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 5100 Montero Way, Petaluma, CA 94954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Petaluma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the southern edge of Petaluma, one of the oldest cites in California founded in 1858, stands the distinctive Cape Cod style complex of buildings that is the Quality Inn Petaluma. Rated three diamonds by AAA, the 108 room hotel serves as the travelers comfortable and convenient hub to historic downtown, pacific coast beaches, wetland hiking trails, golf courses, wineries and family farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Petaluma
Quality Inn Petaluma, CA - Sonoma County
Petaluma Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.