We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Breakfast!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tea Room Cafe

Tea Room Cafe
316 Western Ave, Petaluma, CA 94952-2919
707-765-0199
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 215 Restaurants in Petaluma
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
washington dc
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrific Breakfast!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Go to Tea Room!! You might think it is a girly place from the name. It really isn't. It is a casual, comfortable, busy place with outstanding food. Five of us hit the place and ordered, found a place to sit at about 9am on the weekend. Right after that, though, it was tough to find a place to sit. Just go - you'll love it.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    10
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
petaluma ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Local favorite with gluten-free options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Now, Tea Room has added gluten-free to their pancake menu! These pancakes have a wonderful texture & taste. When I have houseguests or visitors from Marin/SF, adult or child, they insist we go to Tea Room. You don't come here for the service; much of it is do-it-yourself, but for those of us who love it, this only contributes to the feeling of "this is our place". If you want to be waited on, you'll want to go somewhere else. But the food here is just so exceptional. Want a low-cost breakfast, try the soft-boiled egg with "baton" (toasted baguette). The scones are the best in the world. If they can invent a gluten-free scone, that'll be GF heaven. In the meantime, GF people can get the delectable pancakes or eggs bennie without the homemade biscuits. Excellent espresso too.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winthrop, ma
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

went here based on the reviews, to be honest there was more wrong than right, first, it is crowded, but u are required to order (and pay for) your food before you select a table, so my question is- what if the food is ready but u still don't have a table?? my feeling is - I want a table before I committ my money.. the food was a little overpriced, no menus so you have to stand at a blackboard- in everyones way- to read the menu, I forget what my husband had, he said it was pretty good, but I had some baked egg thing, which was completely raw, it took a while to get a waiters attention, by the time he brought it back my husband was done eating and my egg dish was so overcooded it was inedible.. I left, seriously- hungry, and went around the corner to a nice little grocery store and got some fruit and a muffin to hold me.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cool Locals Spot - Must Visit at least Once!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

What a cool restaurant. The place only takes cash and personal checks. How cool, a place that trusts you enough to take an out of a\state personal check. On to the review...their food is diverse and unique. We went for breakfast and enjoyed some omelets, granola, and some bacon. The fresh squeezed OJ was really good. This is primarily a locals spot and I would say it is worth a trip for a locals breakfast. Enjoy!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of my favorites for...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

One of my favorites for breakfast! I especially love the salmon & cream cheese omelet! Great scones, relaxing atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tea Room Cafe also viewed

Petaluma, Sonoma County
Petaluma, Sonoma County
 
Petaluma, Sonoma County
Petaluma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Tea Room Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tea Room Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.