We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sax's Joint

Sax's Joint
317 Petaluma Blvd S, Petaluma, CA 94952
+(1)(707) 559-3021
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 222 Restaurants in Petaluma
Cuisines: American, Diner
Restaurant details
Indio, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Don't miss this treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Our son heartily recommended Sax's Joint when we visited him, so off we went to enjoy breakfast ~ and what a delicious breakfast we had!! I had the French toast with raspberry cream cheese topping. Four thick sliced pieces of French bread perfectly cooked and crisped, served with hot maple syrup on the side. The star of the table was my husband's corned beef hash. The portions of hash, potatoes, and eggs were dramatic to behold,but forkful by forkful there wasn't a scrap left on that plate because it was too good to leave. Corned beef hash is his favorite dine-out treat and he pronouced this version even better than that of his usual North Hollywood choice, Eat. Try Sax's: excellent service, wonderful food, colorful locals and right downtown.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Kid friendly, large portions, inexpensive, nice staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Where the old Marvin's use to be. We love this place! Kid friendly, nice wait staff, fun 50's décor. The prices are VERY reasonable. We have been there for breakfast and two lunches and each time, the food was great.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Go here really hungry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Go hungry because the portions are immense! And tasty! What a darling place just like walking into the past with that old school diner feel and good customer service. Do you remember good customer service? Well get it here with classic diner fare. Something really homey here where you just feel like you are eating with family. Love it. And just plan a light day after that chicken and waffles.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
1 review
“Chicken & Waffles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The best chicken and waffles at a breakfast joint ever. Seriously! You get 1/2 a chicken and your choice of an original, thin, crispy waffle OR a beautiful, thick, Belgian waffle. Want to top that?? Substitute a bacon Belgian waffle for $2 more. If you're going to do chicken and waffles, this is the best and ONLY way to do it. Breakfast is served hot, home-made and fresh at 5 am daily and they serve fresh squeezed OJ and grapefruit juices! The restaurant serves REAL butter and makes their own jams from scratch for all of the tables. Cute, little, 50's style diner. If you're looking for authentic 1950's, it's a bit off, but if you're looking for a modern 50's style diner, this is the place. The portions are huge, they have excellent French Roast coffee, a friendly wait-staff, 50's tunes on the jukebox, the gals are all gorgeous and it's run by a mother (they call her "MeeMaw") and two daughters, Tiffany & Kimberly.
They cook your burgers to order, have the largest malts and shakes I've ever seen, supply fresh made soups and cakes and pies daily and are an all-around just a cheery bunch. They're open from 5am-3pm daily except major holidays and are perfect for early morning eaters, as I'm pretty sure they're the only Mom & Pop joint in town that open that early. Want great service?? Ask for Marissa. Easy on the eyes, a total fire cracker and a real winner when it comes to giving you the best possible service as she checked and double checked our order to make sure it was what we wanted and came back promptly after we had taken our first couple of bites to make sure everything was to our liking.
Go by, say "howdy" and enjoy breakfast or lunch. They've only been open 2 weeks and are still working out a few kinks, but it's well worth it. Fabulous new diner!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sax's Joint also viewed

Petaluma, Sonoma County
Petaluma, Sonoma County
 
Petaluma, Sonoma County
Petaluma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Sax's Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sax's Joint, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.