We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Turkish Ever.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Real Doner

Real Doner
307 F Street, Petaluma, CA 94952
707-765-9555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 215 restaurants in Petaluma
Cuisines: Turkish
Restaurant details
Petaluma, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Turkish Ever.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a small hole in the wall that most people would drive right by. Big mistake...this family run place has the best Turkish food I've ever had. The Baba Ganoush here is the first I have ever liked enough to finish, the hummus is
fantastic, and the lamb kebabs were perfectly done and full of flavor...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    10
    9
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good ethnic food in Petaluma”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The kabobs and doner seem authentically Turkish and are definitely tasty. We tried the Turkish red wine, too, since it is their only choice, and we enjoyed it. Service is very informal. You order at the counter and then they serve at your table. Our server was friendly and helpful. When a little girl at the next table threw a fit because they had no ice cream, the server even offered shaved ice with rosé syrup, which she said she ate as a child in Turkey.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Quite enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I agree with a lot of the comments posted for Real Doner, the place has friendly staff and the food is fresh tasting. For the kebab plate, I suggest taking bites with a bit of kebab, the sauce, the rice, and salad - it gives a good flavour combination. Like other reviewers, I used Trip Advisor to select this place. I think this is a restaurant in Petaluma that really stands out in a good way.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Were we in Anatolia?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Friendly people, clean restaurant, fresh tasting, authentic Turkish food at fair prices. The Lamb and Chicken Kebabs were excellent with the yoghurt sauce. We will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, California
Top Contributor
690 reviews 690 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 290 cities Reviews in 290 cities
387 helpful votes 387 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had dinner here as we passed through Petaluma. We used the TA reviews as a guide. Vern had the Lamb Kebab and I had Chicken, both were tender and juicy. The history of the place and meaning of the name were worth the stop to understand since it sounds funny to me. A Real Turkish establishment with excellent service, delicious food and quaint surroundings.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Real Doner also viewed

Petaluma, Sonoma County
Petaluma, Sonoma County
 
Petaluma, Sonoma County
Petaluma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Real Doner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Real Doner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.