We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fresh experience in a world of chain hotels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metro Hotel and Cafe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Metro Hotel and Cafe to your Saves list
Metro Hotel and Cafe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   508 Petaluma Boulevard, South, Petaluma, CA 94952   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Petaluma
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A fresh experience in a world of chain hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

When you travel a lot, while you appreciate a clean chain with nothing new to expect other than a clean bed - the Hotel Metro is your salvation from the doldrums. Super clean, super comfortable. Loved the quirky furnishings!

Petaluma is a great stop in and out of the Bay area, as it's a community filled with organic food and great restaurants at much less cost. I feel at home here to rest up, then hit the Big City, and get out as fast as I can!

Room Tip: We had an outside room with a vaulted ceiling and skylights. Ask for that one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toospirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed at the Metro for three nights as part of a wedding weekend in Petaluma. The hotel is totally quirky and not at all like any "mainstream" corporate hotels -- our room had a bathroom much like you'd find in an old home -- so don't expect standard comforts. But if you want a super clean, very interestingly decorated, off beat place to stay, the Metro is for you! The staff were great and friendly. When you book, be sure you are aware of the airstream rooms so you don't get booked there unless that's what you want, and be aware also that our room (204) had no windows (we did have a skylight). All in all, though, we had a great stay at the Metro and would stay there again if ever back in Petaluma.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pegali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights while visiting relatives in Petaluma. We booked Anna's Nest a quirky little 2 bedroom cottage in the grounds of the hotel.

The relaxed laid back feel of the hotel and staff made us feel at home, a very help yourself attitude, perfect when travelling with children.

We found Anna's Nest very clean and spacious, it really was a home away from home. The bedrooms were large and the Master bedroom had a circular bed!!

The town centre was a short walk away and although we ate with our relatives there is no shortage of lovely looking restaurants. There was a list at the hotel of recommendations which was a lovely touch.

The town is very quaint and pretty, and our children loved the play area which was a 2 minute walk away.

Our stay here was relaxed and fantastic and we would definitely stay again if we had the chance.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Elspeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Yes, we would stay here again! Very clean, fun and funky, very loveable! Staff is great. Super location for visiting wineries and a beautiful drive up to Mendocino. If you have a chance do stay here..walking distance to town is a plus.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank blmunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
menlopark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The decor at Metro Hotel makes you feel like you're in a French antique/curio shop and museum, but it's your home away from home. Your uniquely decorated room is comfortable, but be sure to also enjoy the lovely garden/grape arbor, pond and outdoor terrasse, whether to relax during the day/evening and/or while savoring Peet's coffee at breakfast. A mere 10" walk from downtown, and personnel is friendly/helpful. We'll defnitely return and bring family, friends. Metro Hotel is a treasure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjmMenlopark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

My friend and I were planning a wine weekend and decided to book the Metro because the price was right. This place was unique, charming, and well appointed, especially considering the great deal we got! The highlights were the DIY pourover coffee in the lobby, the luxurious comforters on the bed, the many indoor and outdoor spaces to relax (including a cafe table on the patio outside our room).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bcor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This characterful hotel is full of quirky stuff in the downstairs communal areas, which added to it's relaxed atmosphere. The high ceilings and large ensuite were appreciated in our fairly spacious room, with worn timber floors and roughly painted doors adding to the ambience. The fairly noisy A/C unit outside our room detracted somewhat from the otherwise nice outdoor patio area, but thankfully cut out and was quiet during the cool evenings.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room opened onto the garden area, which the kids loved. If only there was a gate bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaluma
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Petaluma Inn
0.6 mi away
Hotel Petaluma
Hotel Petaluma
#5 of 8 in Petaluma
3.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 8 in Petaluma
4.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
9.6 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#4 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 stars 463 reviews
19.6 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#1 of 26 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel and Cafe

Address: 508 Petaluma Boulevard, South, Petaluma, CA 94952
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Petaluma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Metro Hotel and Cafe 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique style that'll make you feel like you're miles away in a chic French inn, yet feel right at home. Luxurious queen beds, a clawfoot tub and shower, cable TV, maid service, not to mention complimentary crepes and pour over coffee in the morning!Located in Sonoma County Wine Country. Only non smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Metro Hotel and Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Petaluma
Metro Hotel And Cafe Petaluma, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing