We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off-Beat, Great Location, Clean and Quirky” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metro Hotel and Cafe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Metro Hotel and Cafe to your Saves list
Metro Hotel and Cafe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   508 Petaluma Boulevard, South, Petaluma, CA 94952   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Petaluma
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Off-Beat, Great Location, Clean and Quirky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed at the Metro for three nights as part of a wedding weekend in Petaluma. The hotel is totally quirky and not at all like any "mainstream" corporate hotels -- our room had a bathroom much like you'd find in an old home -- so don't expect standard comforts. But if you want a super clean, very interestingly decorated, off beat place to stay, the Metro is for you! The staff were great and friendly. When you book, be sure you are aware of the airstream rooms so you don't get booked there unless that's what you want, and be aware also that our room (204) had no windows (we did have a skylight). All in all, though, we had a great stay at the Metro and would stay there again if ever back in Petaluma.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    146
    35
    18
    18
See reviews for
63
229
58
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights while visiting relatives in Petaluma. We booked Anna's Nest a quirky little 2 bedroom cottage in the grounds of the hotel.

The relaxed laid back feel of the hotel and staff made us feel at home, a very help yourself attitude, perfect when travelling with children.

We found Anna's Nest very clean and spacious, it really was a home away from home. The bedrooms were large and the Master bedroom had a circular bed!!

The town centre was a short walk away and although we ate with our relatives there is no shortage of lovely looking restaurants. There was a list at the hotel of recommendations which was a lovely touch.

The town is very quaint and pretty, and our children loved the play area which was a 2 minute walk away.

Our stay here was relaxed and fantastic and we would definitely stay again if we had the chance.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Yes, we would stay here again! Very clean, fun and funky, very loveable! Staff is great. Super location for visiting wineries and a beautiful drive up to Mendocino. If you have a chance do stay here..walking distance to town is a plus.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
menlopark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The decor at Metro Hotel makes you feel like you're in a French antique/curio shop and museum, but it's your home away from home. Your uniquely decorated room is comfortable, but be sure to also enjoy the lovely garden/grape arbor, pond and outdoor terrasse, whether to relax during the day/evening and/or while savoring Peet's coffee at breakfast. A mere 10" walk from downtown, and personnel is friendly/helpful. We'll defnitely return and bring family, friends. Metro Hotel is a treasure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

My friend and I were planning a wine weekend and decided to book the Metro because the price was right. This place was unique, charming, and well appointed, especially considering the great deal we got! The highlights were the DIY pourover coffee in the lobby, the luxurious comforters on the bed, the many indoor and outdoor spaces to relax (including a cafe table on the patio outside our room).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This characterful hotel is full of quirky stuff in the downstairs communal areas, which added to it's relaxed atmosphere. The high ceilings and large ensuite were appreciated in our fairly spacious room, with worn timber floors and roughly painted doors adding to the ambience. The fairly noisy A/C unit outside our room detracted somewhat from the otherwise nice outdoor patio area, but thankfully cut out and was quiet during the cool evenings.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room opened onto the garden area, which the kids loved. If only there was a gate bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penryn, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

checked into the airstream trailer room at the metro and what a trip.
Location was great close enough to down town to walk ( great no DUI) .
And the trailer what a gas! As my wife said "it's like being in a space capsule" cue "ground control to major tom"
Staff was great . Wish I had more time to hang out in the hotel looked great . Will definitely be back

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metro Hotel and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel and Cafe

Address: 508 Petaluma Boulevard, South, Petaluma, CA 94952
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Petaluma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Metro Hotel and Cafe 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
French European charm, Located in Sonoma County Wine Country, Only non smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Metro Hotel and Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Petaluma
Metro Hotel And Cafe Petaluma, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro Hotel and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.