We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To err is human ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metro Hotel and Cafe

Save Saved
You added Metro Hotel and Cafe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Travelocity
and 4 more sites!
Metro Hotel and Cafe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   508 Petaluma Boulevard, South, Petaluma, CA 94952   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Petaluma
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“To err is human ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

To make it right makes people give you a shout out. We had a problem checking in and the owner personally intervened to make it right. It's a cute place with a good location. I'd happily recommend it because the owner takes a personal interest in doing the right thing. We're local (SF); we'll be back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    134
    31
    16
    18
See reviews for
53
210
56
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Tired of ordinary lodging and want a unique adventure? This hotel is not for everyone, but if you tend toward the offbeat and creative then you should consider Metro Hotel. Carefully decorated with Parisian artifacts and serving French coffee and pastries, you get an excursion of the mind in downtown Petaluma. As a bonus, the Thai restaurant next door is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I travel a lot for work so this hotel was a nice change of pace from a chain. My impressions are probably a bit different because it was a work trip, not a vacation (though I'd give it 3.5 if I could). The location is great - walking distance (1mile) from Whole Foods & several restaurants nearby. Even though it's on a main drag there is plenty of offstreet parking in the surrounding neighborhood (nice old houses, parks). Between the fairly busy street & having the 1st room at top of stairs I thought my room would be very noisy, especially over a weekend, but it was really quiet. Punchkey entry adds security as staff not there at night.

Room was spacious (bathroom was huge), beds clean & comfortable. Fixture etc worn as would be expected in old house. Not for folks with mobility issues--staircase is steep & windy (felt very tippy wrestling my bag & field gear up!) and claw foot tub has high edge that's easy to trip over. Not excited about housekeeping--got gravel on floor Friday night taking off boots & in shower, and on Saturday evening the pikes of gravel were still on floor & in tub. The "breakfast pastry" was actually stale-ish supermarket banana bread, bleah. The coffe system is only charming if you really don't need coffee in the morning--standing & waiting for water to drip slowly through a filter into a cup so small it's gone in 3 swallows.

My main issue is really that for what you get, it's overpriced, but I would likely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winters, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel is very cute -- kind of shabby chic/French. There are interesting gardens on both sides, and there will be a bocce court in back when landscaping is all done. Unfortunately, I accidentally rented a room in one of the "nests". It was a fine room, with a comfortable bed, a mini-fridge, and a coffee maker with good coffee supplied. But it was extremely quiet and isolated in a neighborhood of single-family homes. I really wanted to be in the main building close enough to walk to downtown Petaluma. So beware -- when it says 1.5 miles away, that's not a typo.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearlake, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This place is very charming and cute. I felt a bit like I was Alice in Wonderland with the oversized windows and decor.

Breakfast scene was a bit like a hostel (which I like) - very do it yourself in a bit a shared mini kitchen.

Some of the staff I thought was a little droll while some were super friendly and made me feel taken care of.

The location was great - within walking distance from downtown, but not in the middle of it. Quiet street with a few good eateries really close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We rented a two bedroom room for a weekend. The beds are very comfortable and very clean. The decor is eclectic - very fun. We enjoyed spending afternoons in the court yard drinking local wine. We walked to town and enjoyed several good restaurants. Staff was friendly and helpful. Sonoma, Napa and San Francisco very close by. It was a nice weekend and I would return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We loved everything about this place; the owner has a created a unique French-feeling boutique hotel that is welcoming, warm, and fun. The room had a great ambiance and was so relaxing. It is not your run-of-the-mill chain hotel, which I loved. No corners were cut when it comes comfortable beds, lush towels, cleanliness, and linens. The funky decor gave the hotel the kind of character I love. There is a little cafe/lounge area were you can make your own drip coffee - delicious - and tandem bikes you can take out for a ride. The location is perfect. We easily walked downtown where there are lots of great restaurants. The pricing was reasonable - I will definitely be staying here from now on when I visit the area.

Room Tip: Request a room with a patio. The two bedroom suite is very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Metro Hotel and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel and Cafe

Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Petaluma
Metro Hotel And Cafe Petaluma, CA - Sonoma County
Address: 508 Petaluma Boulevard, South, Petaluma, CA 94952
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Petaluma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Metro Hotel and Cafe 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
French European charm, Located in Sonoma County Wine Country, Only non smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Metro Hotel and Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro Hotel and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.