We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky and Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metro Hotel and Cafe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Metro Hotel and Cafe to your Saves list
Metro Hotel and Cafe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   508 Petaluma Boulevard, South, Petaluma, CA 94952   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Petaluma
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Funky and Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

On the plus side: comfy bed, clean, colorful decor, huge bathroom, lovely little courtyards and wonderful shared spaces especially if you like to chat with other guests.

Down side: if you like all the modern conveniences and extras, a few are lacking so if it's important to you you'll go elsewhere - ability to control temperature (the whole building probably set at 72 or so, glad I brought a blanket - I tend to get cold), good water pressure, toiletries other than one bar of soap and one shampoo, sink faucets that combine hot and cold water. Guests make their own coffee one cup at a time. There can be a line up. Fortunately guests upstairs quieted down at 11 p.m., with hardwood floors throughout an old building you can hear a lot.

All in all I enjoyed it and would stay there again, but I like unique places as long as I'm comfortable.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs if you can and towards the back - away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    168
    40
    19
    18
See reviews for
78
268
63
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012 via mobile

For us the things in a B&B that win us over are the owner interaction, the "breakfast" and decent bed comfort. The Metro checks all our boxes and even goes an extra mile or two. While there is little service at breakfast (it's a DIG coffee station and store bought crumb loafs for the taking), the cafe is really the" second kitchen" to the rooms. This sets up for potential "community" interaction.
We stayed in Anna's Nest, the two story full kitchen two bedroom/one bath in the property adjacent to the main hotel.
One tip I would suggest for next visitor to Anna's Nest: pack dishtowels and paper towel (they don't stock either) and prepare for poor pans. You may just intend not to cook to make your experience that more enjoyable.
we have an infant and find Anna's Nest works well for our needs.
would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, FL
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We enjoy boutique hotels when traveling so to avoid the cookie-cutter appearance of the value inns. Metro is surely unique: sort of french farm house meets looney tunes. But they take the stereotype of french hospitality at little too far. Arthur acted appropriately aloof as if we were imposing on him by checking in. The morning coffee is delicious so long as you're up early enough to get some; when its gone, its gone and good luck finding anyone to refill the bowl. Our room was large and brightly painted with a bath that featured a small claw-foot tub/shower, pedestal sink and commode. But the plumbing was right out of Groundhog Day: first you get hot water from both faucets, then it turns cold. When we mentioned this, Arthur asked what room we were in and responded, "Oh, 187, yeah that happens there." Really! The location is great; right next door to an excellent Thai restaurant and within walking distance to several more. Try Dempsey's for dinner and any of the breakfast places which the hotel recommends. Metro is a good value compared to Napa/Sonoma prices and if you don't mind quirky, try it. Note also that the cafe in the name is a self-service pastry bar with fridge.

Room Tip: Ask if the plumbing has been fixed in 187.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Great location (and right next to a fabulous Thai restaurant). Our ground floor room was extremely clean, with our door opening out to a small, central garden area. Although I was able to hear light traffic and I am a light sleeper, it wasn't loud enough to bother. Breakfast is "make your own" delicious Peet's coffee with slices of pastries in a sunny little cafe area. I much prefer these small funky hotels to boring chain hotels - I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Check A/C possibilities if traveling in the summer - Petaluma is hot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I have been dreading getting to this review because it means i have to revisit my stay here. with that, i will make this as quick as possible.

my entire family stayed here this summer for our annual vacation. my mother, grandma, uncle and brother stayed in anna's nest and my boyfriend and i wanted to do something different and stayed in the Bambi. the location of this hotel is was nice so i guess that is what my one star will be for since i am forced to give one....

anna's nest was cute enough, but in the world of boutique hotels was a joke. maid service was not to be seen for 4 days out of our 6 there.

here is the important part. let's get to the airstream. we were 100% prepared for a small unit and most likely not the comfiest bed. we travel a lot, we get it. however, this was completely ridiculous......

The first obvious warning sign came when the front desk woman asked if anyone had emailed or called us about our room. ummmm, no contact at all since we booked online many months previously....none at all.

we turn the corner as she is asking us this to see our airstream is literally cut open on one whole side and is covered in 2 layers of clear plastic. she promises this is ok and no one has had any issues. oook, let's get inside... holy mother of---. someone had started to make the wood frame to support the plastic wall and where the airstream's metal was cut off there were open wires and insulation just floating around making a part of the already very tiny space unusable. she said this was a very temporary issue (but it was obviously a long term situation) and that there were no other rooms for us to stay in so we would be getting a discount. she could not tell us how much, so we decided to take a chance....

the plastic was "insulated" with duct tape and in the morning there was no way to cover the huge clear plastic to shield the sun. soooo fun to get up at the crack of dawn on your vacation. no chance of getting back to sleep because the bed was actually made of eggcrate foam with a thick piece of plastic that curled up and was crudely cut so that it scratched you at night (obviously mastered by their on site maintenance dude that wasn't exactly friendly.) i have no idea if this is normal, but there were flies coming out of our toilet like there was a fly war in there. not f'n pleasant to be using the facilities early in the morning and when you flush a half dozen flies torpedo out of the basin and swarm the minuscule bathroom. shower water was hot at least... thank god.

bottom line, this trailer should have been closed during maintenance. we received a pathetic discount of $20/night- so still paid almost $200 for two nights in this horrid little place. ended up staying on the couch in anna's nest the last 3 nights. we were visiting local petaluma family and they are mortified that this happened since they recommended the place. they will never make that mistake again and neither will we.

for $99/night we could have stayed in the nicer, mainstream, hotel down the street with a real bed, 4 WALLS, no flies torpedoing out of the toilet and a river view.... just saying.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I won't say much because it's already been said and it's correct. However, if you'd like to experience accomodating hospitality in a peaceful, quiet setting all within walking distance of downtown Petaluma, this is definitely your place. Self-serve European coffee and pastries in the AM, an industrial style refrigerator to accomodate whatever snacks/beverages you'd like to bring and the most comfortable beds in the planet make this my new favorite when visiting the North Bay/Wine Country area.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely but if you are a couple who are traveling with children, request the suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I've stayed in hotels all over the world (23 countries and counting) and I absolutely refuse to stay in the big chains (Marriot, Hilton etc.). Metro Hotel is a fantastic little independent hotel option in Petaluma just a few minutes walk from the antique shops, restaurants and cafes that make Petaluma so adorable.

Why would you spend your money to go on vacation and stay in a hotel room that looks exactly like the one available in your hometown?

The Metro Hotel and Cafe is cute, quirky and memorable. I will be going back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaluma
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Petaluma Inn
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 8 in Petaluma
4.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Petaluma
Hotel Petaluma
#6 of 8 in Petaluma
3.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
9.6 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#4 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
10.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel and Cafe

Address: 508 Petaluma Boulevard, South, Petaluma, CA 94952
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Petaluma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Metro Hotel and Cafe 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
French European charm, Located in Sonoma County Wine Country, Only non smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Venere so you can book your Metro Hotel and Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Petaluma
Metro Hotel And Cafe Petaluma, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro Hotel and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.