We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay at Petaluma” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma to your Saves list
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   745 Baywood Dr., Petaluma, CA 94954   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cyber Monday Exclusive
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Petaluma
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay at Petaluma”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed at Sherataon Petaluma in June 2014 for 4 days and found the Hotel is an excellent one for the value & purpose of our visit.
We were 4 adults and 2 kids staying in 2 inter connected Rooms. Rooms were well furnished and kept claen and neat.
Houekeeping employees used to regularly visit us and check if any help or services are needed.
The front Desk people were also very courteous and helpful. They were willing to spend their time to understand the purpose of our visit and helped in identifying places suitable for kids activities.
Restaurant is unique and gives out best food as needed.
Pool is kept clean and almost by the side of Restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Hello Nathan,

Thanks very much for commenting about your stay. I am very glad you enjoyed our rooms, restaurant and pool area and thanks for complimenting our Housekeeping and Front Desk staff.

Thanks again and safe travels!

David Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    150
    82
    24
    18
See reviews for
65
184
24
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherman oaks
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

When I checked in, I needed to extend my stay by a third day due to personal reasons, and the lady at the front desk did tell me that she can extend my stay herself and that I can do it on points. So she did...or so I thought-more on that later.

No club lounge access was provided for me and after I inquired why, she said it's only for spg platinum members. I had access at this time last year though. As she opened the side door to the front desk to give me the luggage cart, I explained to her I had access last year as a gold spg member and asked why it changed, but she had no response and closed the door on me. Kinda rude, no? I called spg and they had no reason either as to why I had it last year at this property and not this year.
Very confusing and inconsistent. It's not fair to provide it one year then take it away the next. One of the reasons I reserved this hotel was on the basis of access to the spg club lounge. It's very convenient and I get it at other Starwood properties all over the place as a spg gold member. That's inconsistent. I gave up complaining to them.

As soon as I got into the room, it was apparent by the look of the blankets in disarray, and some on the floor, that the room wasn't cleaned. I lugged my luggage and family outta that room then tried to call the front desk from the room, but no one answered after trying twice for about 5 minutes. Went downstairs, told them what was wrong with the room. No apology offered from that lady. She gave me a new room, but unfortunately it was the furthest from the elevator.

As I went into the new room, security lock box was not working. Called front desk twice again and no one picks up the phone again. I gave up trying to complain.

Bathroom floor towel was missing. Another annoying thing.

NOW, same lady at the front desk, 24 hours later, called me and said I have to actually call spg to extend my stay even though she said she took care of it then and there as soon as I arrived yesterday. Weird how it can't be done at the front desk. Well, as my kids are all dressed up for the pool and waiting for me, I called spg and spent 25 minutes on the phone wasting time taking care of something that I thought was taken care of already!

We all go to the pool, and unfortunately, the jets in the jacuzzi weren't working. The button doesn't work!

I got more one night at this hotel, then I'm done. This is the worst spg hotel I've ever had. It's too bad too because it was fine when I was here last year in August!

Will never come back to this shoddy service of a hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Hello Jared,

I am very sorry to hear of the disappointing stay you had with us this week and sorry we did not connect prior to your departure. I was hoping to discuss the issues personally with you prior to your leaving so we could attempt to resolve them or make suitable adjustments to your account. I will be following up with the team here; your experience was not acceptable and was far below our standards.

Please accept my apolgies and thank you for your feedback.

David Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

There are so many dogs that are welcome at this hotel that it is inevitable that some of their bugs get left behind in the rooms. We came home with bug bites all over. Room was wonderful, but we will never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Humanone,

Thanks very much for your comment on TripAdvisor. I am concerned you believe you were bitten while here at the hotel, perhaps as a result of the fact we are a dog friendly hotel. We have a very careful room inspection procedure that we follow when guests who have stayed with their dog depart, and if needed, special deep cleaning is done.

As we are located adjacent to both a river and a marshland, it is more likely you were affected by a possible insect bite from either of those areas. However, this is a matter I would like to discuss with you further, so if you see this response, Please call me at 707-283-2905.

David Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Staying here on business for a few days my first thought was this hotel would be a great getaway hotel for a newlywed couple. It is quiet, comfortable and the service is impeccable. The food in the restaurant is really good. I'm very big on sheets, bedding, ect and the sheets here are absolutely clean, new and fresh feeling. You will sleep really good as the mattress is really comfy.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thanks for your great review, Topdiamond!

You have mentioned one of Sheraton's primary features, our Sweet Sleeper beds and bedding. All Sheratons feature these great beds and bedding and I am glad you found them so comfortable. FYI, if you like you can shop for both the beds and bedding at this website:

www.sheratonstore.com

Thanks again and please come back soon!

David Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed here for a few nights on a visit to Wine Country for 30th wedding anniversary and loved it! The rooms were lovely and the beds were extremely comfortable. Staff was pleasant and the ambiance was great. Get a room on the club floor as a Starwood preferred guest - really good breakfast and nice snacks in the afternoon. The pool was terrific and a welcome break after hours of wine tasting. An easy ride to Sonoma and Napa wineries. Would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thanks so much for your very positive review and congratulations on your anniversary! I am really glad to hear you enjoyed both the hotel and your visit to wine country. Please come back soon!

David Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here briefly as part of a travelling holidays. Hotel is quite nice and a fee minutes drive from the fabulous town of Petaluma. I misjudged from the pictures and thought the hotel would directly access the marina (I.e. perhaps have a bar or restaurant with outdoor terrace on it) but it doesn't.

Staff are very friendly and the facilities are good. Wifi throughout. I recommend taking the walking trail right next to the car park.

Would stay again although would probably get somewhere in the town itself.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hello Improvised,

Thank you for your awesome review and comments! I am really glad you enjoyed our city of Petaluma and the hotel. You found the hiking trail through our adjacent wetlands and bird sanctuary, that walk is a real treat!

Safe travels back to Ireland and we hope to see you back in California soon!

David Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the sea ranch
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I was driving late and called to book a room. Good thing, only two rooms left. They were hosting a large wedding so rooms were in short supply. My room was very nice, on the 4th floor, clean and quiet. I will stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, General Manager at Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hi Steve,

Very glad we had a room for you on one of our busy nights and that you had a very nice stay. As you live in Sea Ranch you may have an opportunity to stay with us again.

Best wishes until then,

David Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma

Address: 745 Baywood Dr., Petaluma, CA 94954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Petaluma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Sonoma County Petaluma is close to the area's premium wineries, spectacular Pacific beaches, dense redwood forests, and a variety of golf courses, and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma Hotel Petaluma
Sheraton Petaluma
Petaluma Sheraton
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.