We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything that we needed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma to your Saves list
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   745 Baywood Dr., Petaluma, CA 94954   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Petaluma
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Everything that we needed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We did not book this hotel for the hotel's view, although we had friends who said they really enjoyed being able to take some very enjoyable walks around there. We were in California to do sightseeing, so views, location of room was not important. Room was clean, comfortable. Staff was very helpful and accimodating. We found that the hotel was ideally located to access not only all the wine areas, but when we were "wined" out, we were able to take some absolutely beautiful drives to the coast and oyster bay regions. We would have no hesitation in staying there again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    151
    82
    26
    18
See reviews for
67
186
24
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We selected this hotel thinking it would be a good base for exploring Napa Valley, the hotel is in an industrial complex, it's view is of a parking lot or a bypass bridge with a crane, the floors we're dirty, the staff were all students and the restaurant was a poor. We planned on staying 2 nights but at 4 am decided that nothing was going to make this hotel work so we used our Marriott points and switched to Renaissance Napa Valley which was the best decision we could have made. Tried to Club Lounge where there were only battle hardened road warriors scavenging the buffet

Room Tip: Personally I would just skip this hotel as an option
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We decided to stay here because we're SPG members and because we have a small dog. Everyone was really friendly and helpful and the location was great. The hotel is on a small marina and directly outside the door is a wooden boardwalk path that meanders through a wetland area. It was perfect for morning and evening dog walks and we even saw some cool birds. On the walk, you can see a nearby off-leash dog park. We drove to that, too. The rooms have mini fridges and there was laundry on each floor. Petaluma has some great coffee (Acre), excellent brunch and bread (Della Fattoria), a nice little river walk, some cute shops and friendly people. It was the perfect location to go to the gorgeous Sonoma Coast beaches, to and from San Francisco, Marin County, Sonoma, Napa, Healdsburg, Calistoga, nearby hikes and more.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the marina are further from highway noise.
See more room tips
Green Features: We got points back for not having maid service daily and they recycle.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I typically go with Starwood hotels because of our status. We spent one night here with the goal of visiting a couple vineyards and then heading back to SF. They upgraded us for free to a marina view room and had a wine tasting in the lobby that evening. They also offered us passes for free or discounted tastings at a few wineries w/in a half hour from the hotel. They had cabs lined up there so we had no trouble getting to and from local spots (though you should drive to the wineries as the cabs are not cheap). The original Lagunitas Brewing company is in Petaluma so we were able to go there at night and then had a great meal at Risibissi in town. The next morning we were able to grab a latte in the lobby before heading out. It was a great stay. Nothing fancy, but just right.

Room Tip: choose the Marina side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed here for just 2 nights. The location was perfect for where we needed to be. Staff were friendly and made the stay pleasant. The rooms were very clean and cosy. It's a Sheraton which means a 5 star hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is simple but clean and very nice! We stayed here for a wedding in Novato and spent a day of our trip wine tasting nearby. Great location and comfortable stay. I definitely DO NOT recommend eating at the lobby restaurant. The service is awful and the food is not impressive. If not for that restaurant, I would have given the hotel a perfect rating. The hotel is also a little pricey...

Room Tip: Some rooms are quite a big larger than others. We were right next door to someone we know and our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

As a frequent flyer and spg loyalist, I was completely turned off by this property. The floors in the hallways were dirty, there was unmopped water in the elevators from swimmers for several hours, dirty food plates remained in the hallways for an entire day, and the rooms weren't cleaned properly. We had dirty towels left in our bathroom and the glasses they gave us were disgustingly stained. The concierge lounge was overrun with unruly children, attended by inattentive staff who didn't restock food or beverages or clean up dishes. The Tolay restaurant in the lobby had dirty dishes and utensils on the tables, served an over-cooked eggs benedict, and disregarded our request for unbuttered toast. The location is the only spg property within an hour radius of wine country.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma

Address: 745 Baywood Dr., Petaluma, CA 94954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Petaluma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Sonoma County Petaluma is close to the area's premium wineries, spectacular Pacific beaches, dense redwood forests, and a variety of golf courses, and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma Hotel Petaluma
Sheraton Petaluma
Petaluma Sheraton
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.