We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be coming here again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   745 Baywood Dr., Petaluma, CA 94954   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Petaluma
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“We will be coming here again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. I wouldn't say that it is up to the standard of some other Sheratons that I've been to but we enjoyed our stay here.

We chose this hotel because it was 1) a Sheraton 2) it was close to Bodega Bay where were spending most of our day and 3) we could bring our dog without any extra charges!

The grounds overall were clean. The pool area could have used a little attention since it had a few empty plastic cups and a band-aid near the whirlpool. I appreciated the free wifi throughout and there is a Starbucks on site. The front desk staff are also the baristas and I can only imagine how crazy it can get.

The rooms were clean, nicely decorated and furnished. I have no complaints about the rooms. They offer 2 kinds of pillows and the bed was comfortable. We had a Marina view room.

The location is excellent since it is less than 30 minutes from the ocean or Napa. Having the Sheraton located along the marina was nice but it sounds nicer than it really is but I'm not knocking any points off nor am I adding any. Petaluma itself is a nice destination on its own so make sure you take the time to walk around. There is nice coffee shop in the same complex as the Sheraton and i recommend making a stop there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    140
    69
    20
    15
See reviews for
59
173
22
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We checked in late at around 10pm. As a SPG platinum member we got a room at club level facing to parking lot . Quiet enough. The only staff seemed to be happy to see us was the porter man, who was helpful. We did not see any marina 'view' even at am when we walked around, quiet different from hotel picture. We got a small view of it at the club lounge - a few docked boats with little water and highway. Overall, I gave a below average rating for the hotel for both hardware/the faculty and software/limited service in comparison to other much better served sharetons in bay area.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la, california
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Rooms were disgusting. Far from clean. Curtains had dirty stains all over them and our pillows had BLOOD stains on them! !!!
We arrived so late that we didn't have the energy to switch rooms, so we just threw the pillows off the bed. But when I emailed Sheraton regarding their gross rooms, all they did was reactivate my Sherwood card. Umm, no thanks! How does that help how gross your rooms are , Especially for a 4 star hotel?!?! I have no idea how they got that many stars with unsanitary rooms..

That being said employees were very nice. Cute design of the building by the marina.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davsco99, General Manager at Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Travel Lover,

Having just read your review I hope you will accept my sincere apolgies for your poor experience. We take pride in the quality of our rooms and our cleanliness standards and we clearly let you down. This is the first I have heard of this incident and I would like to make it right; please contact me at your convenience to discuss it.

David Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

One star off for nothing special. Just felt like a typical Sheraton in a fantastic area (if great food and drink and charming small towns nestled between beautiful rolling hills is your kind of thing).

We were traveling with a small child and they gave us a larger room close to the elevator and far away from the dueling parties that were a bit raucous at the hotel that night (once in the room, we could hear nothing). Like all Sheratons, the room was clean and comfortable.

The restaurant was just so-so, especially considering the great options in town. It's not in the best part of Petaluma (to be honest it's a bit in no-man's land) but it's close (5 min drive). The town holds its own against the dozen others in the surrounding area. Go to Bovine Bakery for breakfast - delicious!

We got the room for 7,000 Starwood Points which makes it a total bargain.

Room Tip: Room 370 was larger with a good view of the marina and right next to the elevator - good for traveli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stay at this hotel 4-5 times per year when we visit the Wine Country. We love the location and access to The Club Lounge. Our most recent stay for the New Year's holiday was somewhat disappointing. We are Starwood Platnium Members and were actually given a difficult time at check in. This has never happened before. We were "upgraded" to a handicapped suite. Upon seeing the room, we decided to move to a regular room. I might add, the couple with whom we were traveling were upgraded to a 2 story suite! Our room lacked toiletries and coffee. On our second day, housekeeping did not arrive until 5:00 PM. It seems as if they have reduced staff for a holiday weekend. Disappointing. Mike in the Club Lounge was the bight spot of this trip

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, FL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in September 2012. The hotel is in Petaluma but not within walking distance to downtown. We took a cab downtown one night and it was really cheap. The hotel is very nice, clean, good bar and food. The pool was nice but it was too cold in September to use it.

Petaluma was such a nice surprise. The downtown area is really pretty and great for walking around. Excellent restaurants!!!!

This hotel is in a great location if you have a car and are going to travel around wine country. I think we were in downtown Sonoma in 25 minutes or so and the drive is nice.You can also access other wine regions easily.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is decent place to spend a night but not a vacation spot. Let me start with what we liked about the hotel:
- Great service in the club lounge. Breakfast was excellent, evening snack was average. The hotel did accommodate our request for a vegetarian option for the evening snack
- Staff was friendly, hardworking
- Green choice option allows you to earn $5 in food and beverage credit or 500 SPG points

The not so good
- The fan in the bathroom did not work, one of the bulbs in the lamp was not functioning, safety deposit box could not be opened. Overall the hotel can use an upgrade.
- The hotel does not have microwave ovens in all rooms as advertised on their website
- Little or no recognition to Platinum members. For our 2-day stay, we were not upgraded to a suite (possibly due to sell out)
- The closest wineries are about 12-15 miles away
- We were there to celebrate my brothers 21st birthday. At the time of reservation and during a follow-up call with Sheraton Reservations, they made a big deal about this birthday and made a note on our account. I was expecting the hotel to surprise us with a small dessert - but that didn't happen. I must admit that we did not explicitly request for a birthday treat.

Overall an above average experience but certainly there is room for improvement.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have a better view of the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma

Address: 745 Baywood Dr., Petaluma, CA 94954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Petaluma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Sonoma County Petaluma is close to the area's premium wineries, spectacular Pacific beaches, dense redwood forests, and a variety of golf courses, and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma Hotel Petaluma
Sheraton Petaluma
Petaluma Sheraton
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.