We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for a Sonoma county visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma to your Saves list
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   745 Baywood Dr., Petaluma, CA 94954   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Petaluma
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good value for a Sonoma county visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Good hotel for Sonoma county, good price considering Napa Valley hotels can be ridiculously expensive. The rooms are OK, typical of mid range Sheraton hotels. Beds are great since they are the typical Westin/Sheraton heavenly beds. Restaurant food was adequate but somewhat expensive. Pool and jacuzzi was good except for the drunk people that have spent all day wine tasting, all they could talk about is how they drove from winery to winery tasting wines, in my opinion they need to get a life. Overall it's a good stopover for a Napa/Sonoma visit.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    152
    82
    26
    18
See reviews for
67
186
24
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manteca, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here because the rate was excellent and close to the wine country and the coast. The hotel was very nice and our room large, clean and very quiet. The hotel has a restaurant and lounge and the food was good.

This hotel is on a marina and not within walking distance to other restaurants or downtown area. However, it is a good location for taking day trips around the area and beats paying the high high hotel rates in Sonoma, Napa and Bodega Bay.

We would definately return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davsco99, General Manager at Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hello onthego,

What nice feedback, thank you! I have shared your thoughts with our team and we really appreciate it. Hope you can come back soon!

David Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

The website for this is good! The reality less so. It is on a tiny marina on a river, and if you ask for a room with a view of the marina, you also get a view of the highway. Downtown Petaluma is not within walking dustance, you have to drive. The hotel itself was nice , what you would expect from a Sheraton. There was also a very nice walking trail slong the river and marshes. It was quite thrifty also. If you need a convenient base in Sonoma, this is fine, not much by itself though.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

David Scott is the General Manager of the Sheraton in Petaluma and he has a great property. His staff is attentive and the hotel is clean and well run.. Great location, views are great, close to the funky downtown area. A great place to be in Northern California

Room Tip: Get away from the elevator! There is a buzzing from the electrical closet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Had a night stay on business this past week
Great town and good location. Used a suite night upgrade and got to my room to realize there was a cot in the middle of the room and the sheets were not on the king bed
Not sure why or how this could happen since the actual bed was made without the sheets. Would not come back, stay in San Fran

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davsco99, General Manager at Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hello eweinz,

Thanks very much for your feedback. Looking at your notes, I am sure your room was left to be finished the next day, yet somehow ended up in our system as ready and clean. Please accept my apologies for this. I hope you requested an alternative room and that the front desk staff was able to take car of you.

Best wishes,

David Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I was not overly impressed by this hotel. As a Gold Starwood member, we were given a room on the Elite Starwood floor. This did give us free water, and access to the Starwood room (forget what they called it) that had water, pop, juice, fruit, etc... Other than that, this floor does not get you anything, other than a nice view of the parking lot.

While we were staying here, there was a dog show in town. Everyone from the dog show seemed to be staying at our hotel. Dogs were everywhere! I love dogs, but this was a bit much.

Also, there was a wedding while we were there, and the loud obnoxious music was still going at 11pm. We had to call the front desk to ask for it to be turned down, because the base was keeping us awake.

The breakfast at Tolay was very good. I recommend the wrap.

Overalll, not terrible, but also not impressive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This property is located on the marina in Petaluma surrounded by beautiful landscaping and lots of trees. The spaceous lobby flows into the resturant providing an sense of open space seldom found in today's hotels. The staff is friendly and knowledgable of the dinning options and winery experiences in the area. The rooms are good sized and quite clean, and the beds provide the foundation for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma

Address: 745 Baywood Dr., Petaluma, CA 94954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Petaluma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Sonoma County Petaluma is close to the area's premium wineries, spectacular Pacific beaches, dense redwood forests, and a variety of golf courses, and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma Hotel Petaluma
Sheraton Petaluma
Petaluma Sheraton
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.