We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids loved the jump pillow-nice tent sites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Petaluma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA
Save
You added San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA to your Saves list
20 Rainsville Road, Petaluma, CA 94952   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Kids loved the jump pillow-nice tent sites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

It had a nice area for tent campers and since KOA's mostly cater to RV's it wasn't too crowded in this area. It was crazy windy in the evenings, like someone told me the coldest winter they ever had was a summer in San Francisco! I wish they had a wind break set up for the tent area. But its nice to be able to wash dishes at a warm water sink in the camper kitchen. Like most KOA's its a really nice campground with great amenities. A nice but expensive break from state/national campgrounds. If you have kids they'll love this KOA. But it wasn't too crazy noisy at night for people without kids.

Its about a 35 minute drive from San Fran., traffic leaving the city was bad between 3pm and 7pm. after that it was better.

Room Tip: They were nice about letting us switch to a better tent site after we had a chance to look the sites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    34
    8
    11
    6
See reviews for
40
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
salt lake
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

It was a so-so campground but ridiculously overpriced for what you get. The sites are so close together you get wet when the guy in the next campsite sneezes. (or when your neighbor lights his campfire your rig gets covered in sparks and soot). When we were there the campground was about 75% full which meant the pool was inaccessible due to the crowds and there was no room to breath or walk anywhere without bumping into someone (noisy at nite too). Its too far from San Francisco (45 minutes) so don't assume you are close to san fran. I would never go back-there are better deals out there.
Meanwhile we did salvage some fun, grins & giggles by: 1) renting a car from enterprise in petaluma-they pick u up from campground so it made things easier 2) we stopped by windy hill winery (about 3 miles north on 101) and 3) sheldon wineries (about 10 miles north on 101) and had a blast. Fisherman's wharf in san fran is very touristy but loads of fun too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
I am sorry that you were not 100% pleased with your stay with us as it is always are goal to provide a fantastic vacation and facility. We are surrounded by many fantastic wineries and I am glad you were able to experience a few of these.
I believe your stay occured during our fourth of july celebrations. With the 4th falling on Wednesday, we had celebration the weekend before, on the 4th and the weekend after which were all very well recieved and yes we were full. We have the largest pool and lounge area of any Campground or RV Park in the San Francisco Bay Area, with over 10,000 sq ft of lounge area. It is unfortunate you were unable this great space. The dates surrounding the fourth of July are the most requested and also a holiday rate.
As for your site size, we have many differing sizes of pull thru sites and perhaps you were in one of our smaller sites. However, even our smallest sites are wider than many of the surrounding RV parks standard sites. We are fortunate to have firerings on everysite but this is the first time I have heard of someone feeling the firepit was too close to the next RV. What site did you stay in as I would like to double check the firering is where it should be. We offer very large end sites with nice furniture and plenty of space to enjoy a campfire with room to spare. I believe an end site would have helped in making your vacation everything we had hoped it would be.
I appreciate your input as our family always strives to provide the best in facilities and customer service. We will use your input to improve.
I hope you enjoy the remainder of your vacation and have safe and fun travels
Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I reserved two tent sites for my 7 yr old son to have a bday party. It was the best party he said he had ever had! Between the pool/jacuzzi, petting zoo, movie at the pool, the huge jumpy, rockwall and hayride, I couldn't have planned a better party! All the kids had a blast. Not only that, I could bring my small dog and they have a dog park! Everything was clean and their store is packed with anything you may forget AND it was reasonably priced! I just booked another site for the fourth of july weekend since we had so much fun. I also want to add, the staff was super friendly and very helpful. I've told all my friends about it. Loved it here!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnemucca, Nevada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We had an excellent time at the campground. We took the San Francisco tour with John as our tour guide and we were completely satisfied. John was very friendly and made us feel welcomed. We really had a good time and would highly recommend the campground and the tour.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

We took the tour into San Francisco right from this campground. Our guide was John. He grew up in SF so was the best possible guide. Perfect way to see the city and not have to drive there. The campground is nice and the staff is helpful. We also took a self guided tour through Sonoma county on their recommendation.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearlake, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

A well run park that really takes care of campers and lodgers well. It is located in the midst of wine country and is lovely and quiet. John, the San Francisco driver/tour guide is the best tour guide that I have encountered on any trip. The city was his back yard while he was growing up and his knowledge was amazing. He loves this city and it shows.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blind River, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

John led us on a professional and very personal tour of San Francisco. We visited places along the way, and he showed us many different vantage points of the San Francisco bridge and other sites. His personal recollections and knowledge of the area and its social/political history made the tour very interesting. We felt safe and comfortable with John's driving skills, navigating around unexpected detours, hills and narrow streets. The interesting and informative 9 hour tour was well paced with stops for exploration and washroom breaks. With pickup and dropoff at the KOA, who could ask for more?

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

Address: 20 Rainsville Road, Petaluma, CA 94952
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Petaluma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Petaluma
Number of rooms: 312
Also Known As:
San Francisco North / Petaluma Koa Hotel Petaluma
San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.