We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family-owned Chinese restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chinatown Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chinatown Restaurant
157 Kentucky St, Petaluma, CA 94952
707-763-7057
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 222 Restaurants in Petaluma
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Petaluma, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great family-owned Chinese restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

It can be a little difficult to park downtown for take-out food, but if you are in the area, it is worth a stop in. My favorite is the chow mein w prawns! Servings are very large too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yummy and fresh in very clean restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We had lunch here. I was floored at how clean the place was. They were very friendly. They didn't have the exact item I wanted on the menu. The waitress let me tell her my wishes and the chef made my dish the way I wanted. Above and beyond customer service.
I wish I lived here so I could go all the time.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Review your credit card statement!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

The food here was really not all that good. The sizzling rice wonton soup needed a TON of salt. The fried wontons were more chewy than crispy.

But besides that... the main reason why I am writing is because they overcharged me on my credit card. I gave them a standard 15% tip, but I guess they decided it was not enough and gave themselves a ~21% tip. (And the charge wasn't one number off as if it may have been a typo - the amount they charged was a completely different number than what I wrote on the receipt.) Fortunately my credit card reimbursed the difference, but that bogus charge definitely ensured I will not be coming back to this place.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding meal & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Beautifully appointed family-run restaurant. Excellent meal and pleasant service. Many thanks!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Excellent old-school chinese food. Awesome handmade potsticker/bun/pancake. Same ownership and consistently good for...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2008

Excellent old-school chinese food. Awesome handmade potsticker/bun/pancake. Same ownership and consistently good for the last 20 years. Only issue is you have to remember to request NO MSG, otherwise you get it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinatown Restaurant also viewed

Petaluma, Sonoma County
Petaluma, Sonoma County
 
Petaluma, Sonoma County
Petaluma, Sonoma County
 

Been to Chinatown Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chinatown Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.