We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ano Nuevo Elephant Seal Tours

Ano Nuevo Elephant Seal Tours
Pescadero, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We visited first week of July when the elephant seals were molting or changing skin. We didn't join any tour, but we stayed in Costanoa camp and lodging which is only few miles away. The seals were moving slowly and basking under the sun, though I think they are probably more active during mating season when the bulls, or male elephant seals, establish themselves among the others.

We saw probably 10 of them from the first lookout. The volunteer guides were helpful and friendly. Be ready to walk about 2 miles. Toilets are located at the museum at the beginning of the trail.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    7
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
pebble beach
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“elephant seals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

we did not take a tour we just walked to see the elephant seals.the walk is long bout two and half miles through dirt and sand dunes.there are information signs that are helpful and interesting.there was a volunteer standing at the last viewing area and she answered all our questions.do not let the distance scare you off,the walk is enjoyable.sneakers with socks are a good idea a bottle of water for sure.there are bathrooms at the beginning of the hike and an outhouse in the middle of hike.this was a perfect day glad i did it!!!!there is a parking fee,i don't know how much because i paid ten$ for parking for all state parks for the day.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitwick, UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Superb, do not miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

In February we visited this amazing reserve and went on the 2.5 hour tour; it was one of the real highlights of our whole two weeks travelling through CA. There were young pups, but the huge bulls were still fighting for their harems, an incredible sight (and sound). Our volunteer guide was superbly knowledgeable and we got extremely close to the colony. Brilliant value for money, but make sure you check on activity depending upon the season and book in advance at peak times.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic nature tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Lovely hike along the coastal bluffs just south of SF. Go in the winter (esp.Feb) when there are guided walks to the breeding elephant seal colony. Guides are very informative. Area is gorgeous. Great hike/walk, just enough distance without being too tough or too wimpy. The elephant seals are amazing. Stay at nearby Costanoa and go for the first or second walk in the morning.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Sobrante, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Full Blown nature for a short drive and walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The females are having their pups and the males are fighting for a harem. it's a 3.5 mile walk on gravel paths and loose sand dunes. bring water, sun screen, binoculars, camera or video, layered clothing, and a rain jacket as needed. wind kicks up away from the visitor center. tours are by reservation. there's a shuttle service available by reservation for people who can't walk that far - 1,000 ft walk on wooden boardwalk with a couple of benches. besides the bull elephant seals fighting and posing for positions, the pups waddling around and nursing - we saw porpoises and whales in the distance, sea lions and harbor seals, deer, and an assortment of shore and inland birds. only 1/2 hour drive from Half Moon Bay or Santa Cruz - along beautiful Hwy 1. we stayed overnight in Half Moon Bay for our early morning tour time.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ano Nuevo Elephant Seal Tours also viewed

 

Been to Ano Nuevo Elephant Seal Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ano Nuevo Elephant Seal Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.