We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elephant Seals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ano Nuevo State Reserve

Ano Nuevo State Reserve
New Years Creek Road, Pescadero, CA
(650)879-2025
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Pescadero
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to the largest mainland seal colony in the world.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Elephant Seals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Check out the state park's website to see when the best time of year to see the seals is. I went in September which is actually supposed to be the worst time to go, however, there were plenty of them! The view of the beach, cliffs, sand dunes, etc was beautiful. A must see when cruising down highway 1. I wouldn't consider this a hike since it is only a couple miles total and can be accomplished in 2-3 hours.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    31
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Saved at the last minute”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We paid 10usd and trekked some way to see the elephant seals but still needed binoculars to see properly when we got to the coast.

We trekked back a little disappointed when a large deer nearly walked straight into us which made the trip worthwhile on its own.

If you want to see elephant seals close up there is a much better place further down the coast, stay on highway one and you will see the cars parked by the side of the road.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Outstending place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We love every minute in the State Reserve. We were lucky to get a very sunny day when a huge group of sea elephants where on the shore. They were making a lot of specific noise.
The park itself is beautiful and we enjoyed the hike a lot. Also the park stuff was very helpful and explained to us a lot of things about the park and wildlife.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

What a great place to hike. Been there rain and shine. Always a seal or a few hundred to see. Just fantastic. Isn't California a great place to live in!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Don't miss this beautiful stretch of California beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We have gone there several times. The absolute best thing to see are the elephant seals when they come there. Go on a ranger tour. It is an amazing thing.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ano Nuevo State Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Ano Nuevo State Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ano Nuevo State Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.