We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Family Friendly Find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pescadero's McCormick House "Bed & Biscuit" Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pescadero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pescadero's McCormick House "Bed & Biscuit" Inn
358 Stage Road, P.O. Box 784, Pescadero, CA 94060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Pescadero B&B and Inns
Mill Valley, California
1 review
“Lovely Family Friendly Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed here with our two young daughters (1.5 & 3.5) over Thanksgiving. We were able to have the entire second floor to ourselves, thus enabling us to have our own separate bedroom from the children. The children's room was a victorian dream come true, especially suited to little girls. Our every encounter with Linda, from speaking on the phone before we arrived, through our stay, and after (as we had left a very important stuffed animal behind!) was lovely. (Linda is the very definition of the term.) As mentioned, we had left a stuffed animal behind which Linda actually called to alert us to and then went to the trouble of mailing back to us. Beautiful touches abound throughout the two rooms. A really great place to stay in the area, particularly if you are traveling with small children.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BedandBiscuitInn, Owner at Pescadero's McCormick House "Bed & Biscuit" Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We didn't realize, until today, that we could reply to reviews we've received, so this is a very belated "thank you" to you and your lovely family!

We are delighted that you and your sweet girls were happy with your rooms. Making our "Aunt Fanny & Sister Beth" room especially pleasing to kids (of all ages!) was one of our favorite parts of decorating the Inn.

Thank you, again - it was a such a pleasure having your family stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arusha, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed here as a family of 5 (3 adults + 2 kids). The 'master suite' was beautifully decorated with a bed and bedding more luxurious than my own. The 'kids room' (1 double and 1 singe bed) was equally charming and my girls didn't want to leave as they had so much fun with the breakfast-in-bed tray and antique dolls and books. (This room might be less appealing for boys!) The location is great and easy walking distance to town for meals. The shared bathroom is fine for families, but probably not appropriate for two couples unless they know each other well. The delicious scones, 'Peet's' coffee, and organic half-and-half were a real treat in the morning. The gardens have great potential but currently need maintenance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

My only regret is that we had to cut our trip short. When we got home I noticed my husband I were going about our unpacking and getting settled into our home in an unusually quiet, distant, sort of spaced - out way. It wasn't that we hadn't enjoyed our trip to Pescadero, but rather our hearts and heads were still there. There was something magical about this humble, unassuming antique house that sits amongst the green rolling hills, old growth trees complete whith white hoot owls, I still have one of their feathers I picked up from the garden. It is just a few miles from the most beautiful California coast line you can imagine. This place was so relaxing and charming it was one of the best one night trips I have ever had. The bed was fantabulous, it is warm, comfy and soft, you will not want to leave it. The biscuit was delicious, I mean really delicious, melt in your mouth delicious. The kind of delicious that makes you say " ummm, you gotta try this " I think they were left by the sugarplum fairy herself but Lisa will tell you she put them there. If you want a restful place to catch your breath, relax and realize life is good go here. I could go on and on but you get the point. Thank you for sharing your home Lisa, you are a jewel

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

We decided to take a last minute family weekend before school started. In looking for a close getaway, we chose Pescadero based upon its proximity to the coast and a review we had read about Duarte's Tavern. In searching for a place to stay, we came upon the website for the McCormick House "Bed and Biscuit" Inn. What sold us was the "Friends and Family Suite" rate. My husband and I had out own room and our teenager had her own room--all for one rate.

We had the top floor of the house to ourselves--2 well-appointed bedrooms furnished with antiques and a full shared bath in the hall. We each had our own coffee station with Peet's coffee and delicious pastries and organic fruit for the morning. The beds were extremely comfortable and the surroundings were quiet. The nighttime silence was interrupted only on the first night by the screeching of a local owl who was hunting!

The room was also supplied with great magazines and books including the local newspaper and a book about historic Pescadero which includes photos of the McCormick House. Lisa and Mauro were excellent and attentive hosts. Lisa made a reservation for us at Duarte's Tavern the night we arrived. They have created a wonderful haven in this small community. Our stay was exactly what we wanted--totally relaxing and good practice for the art of "doing nothing." Staying at the McCormick House is like staying at the beautiful home of close friends. We will definitely go back again.

Our weekend in Pescadero happened to be the same weekend as the annual Pescadero Art and Fun Festival (P.A.F.F.). Despite the festival, there are a lot of things to see and do around Pescadero...or you can practice the art of 'doing nothing' lounging in the garden on a Saturday afternoon at the McCormick House.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

We just returned from our stay at the McCormick House, What a wonderful place to stop! The home itself is set off the road on a beautiful piece of land. Flowers, Shrubs, Trees, walk ways, it is just the prettiest setting, and the fragrance, take in the fresh air and sweet smells, you have now entered an oasis of serenity! We were welcomed by two very beautiful WHITE cats, each having one blue eye and one yellow, how cute and friendly. We were a little taken-a-back upon entering, just not sure where to go, not sure we weren't entgering someone's home, but there was Mauro, one of the owners, he promptly gave us a warm welcome and up we all went to the room for the night. WOW, it was just beautiful. Everything was done to the enth degree - talk about decor, they had it right! The room was full of antiques, even the alarm clock, which surprised me, because most places just put in a digital one! Lighting is perfect, a lamp wherever you need one, read, the lamp was well palced. The dresser, yup, there was another lamp. And the little alcove with the coffee pot (Peets Coffee) was all set up with fruit, homemade Muffins or Scones every morning. Everything you could possibly need was at hand, cups, cream, water, sweetner, paper goods, garbage and of course another beautiful and well placed lamp. Large closet, great for those of us traveling, but staying several days. Then we get to the bed and bedding, WOW, I wish
I could recreat this in my home, the FEATHER BED was something you just dream about (literally), you sink into it and then top it off with yet another feather down quilt, so great, it was hard to unfurl out of in the AM! The quilts, pillows, chairs, setee, drapers etc, wow, a delight to the eye and a most inviting place to relax, read a great book, drink coffee/.tea and just veg out! We totally enjoyed every minute. The Lav was another wonder - you were supplied with everything anyone could ever need or want - especially if you forgot anything, Lisa had it on hand in stock in the closet, Plush towels, wash cloths, Organic Lavender Soaps including shampoo and cream rinse, not to mention the extra toothbrush, q-tips, tissues and various unsundries! You will want for NOTHING! Especially if you need a quiet respit from the variety of area vacation spots. Half Moon Bay is only 22 miles as it Santa Cruz, great places to visit during the day, but remembering all the time you will have this GREAT home to return to. We thank Lisa and Mauro for all their hospitality, friendliness, and most of all the warm and lovely oasis they have provided in their home called the McCormick House. Thank you both!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pescadero's McCormick House "Bed & Biscuit" Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pescadero's McCormick House "Bed & Biscuit" Inn

Address: 358 Stage Road, P.O. Box 784, Pescadero, CA 94060
Location: United States > California > Pescadero
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pescadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pescadero's Original "Bed & Biscuit" Inn ~ a sweet, rural retreat, for romance or rest ~ in a historic seaside village ~ less than an hour from San Francisco and the Silicon Valley! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pescadero's McCormick House "Bed & Biscuit" Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pescadero's McCormick House "Bed & Biscuit" Inn to your Saves list