We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Tent Cabin Night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costanoa Coastal Lodge & Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Costanoa Coastal Lodge & Camp to your Saves list
Costanoa Coastal Lodge & Camp
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   2001 Rossi Rd at Hwy 1, Pescadero, CA 94060   |  
Hotel amenities
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Tent Cabin Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had possibly the best tent cabin available - #30, isolated and facing the mountains. Maybe the last week of April is the time to be at Costanoa. We pretty much had the entire tent cabin area all to ourselves. Super quiet, clean cabin with great bed warmers and no noise.
Wish we'd stayed a few more nights.
Staff was very friendly and efficient.
Climbed Chalk Mountain for excellent vistas and returned to the hot tub to watch the moon rise.
Highly recommend...

Room Tip: Tent Cabin #30 has a private view of mountains and seems totally secluded, even though it's near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    95
    45
    55
    28
See reviews for
70
131
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Camp Costanoa
“You can take a short walk from Camp Costanoa to beautiful beach area or trek a bit further down the beach to a viewing deck on the cliffs”
The trek to the Beach from Camp Costanoa is less than half mile, and from the beach to the north you can see Pigeon Point Light House Station in the distance.
The trek to the viewing deck from the beach is approximately quarter mile. Be advised, the trek from Camp Costanoa to the viewing deck is moderate, expect lose sand, easy hills, no restrooms, not wheel chair advisable, there are no life guards on duty and most of the waters in the area are rough. The beach area is wonderful for playing or wading in the surf; however, the BEAUTIFUL beach area and the BEAUTIFUL coastline are so amazedly awesome that you are reminded.., “It’s a Beautiful Day” don’t let it get away”” The trek from Costanoa to the viewing deck is definitely a bucket list must.
Do not forget your Water Bottle and Camera.
““Are You Going To Stand by the Side or Ride?””
Quote from. X-2 @ Six Flags Magic Mountain, California
Lots of Love.., for You. CoCoMoe @ You Tube Channel littlemoesquared

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los gatos, ca
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We went to Costanoa after getting a very good bargain through a Groupon type deal offered by Google. If we had paid full price, our excitement might have been a bit more reserved. As it was, we got a great deal on a tent that had access to the hot tub attached to the lodge, a complimentary bottle of wine at dinner, and a massage that was the best I have ever had. The restaurant was quite good, with abalone, cioppino, and fresh catches of the day. Very hearty breakfasts as well, which was good because the hiking is plentiful and only moderately taxing. The ocean was about a half hour's walk, so we did that one morning before breakfast. The tents are spartan, with no heating other than the blankets on the bed. There is electricity, but of course no TVs. A great retreat and a great way to slow down and smell the eucalyptus.

Room Tip: You have choices ranging from traditional hotel rooms, some as suites, down to cabins that are heate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The first time my husband and I visited Costanoa, it was over the Christmas break. We stayed there because we were attending, on a whim, a wine dinner. The dinner was fabulous, the wine was great, the whole event was over the top. The room was great, they had a wreath-making class (for a small added fee) the next morning, as well as a craft's fair. The entire weekend was wonderful --- quiet, comfortable accommodations, and the food in the restaurant was 5 stars! Certainly a hidden gem. There was zero wifi, but after an afternoon we were used to it. I jumped at the chance to purchase a Groupon for another stay and ended up coming by myself. Management had changed since my first stay, and the chef had left, too. Front desk staff were blase upon my arrival. Room was shabby -- worn through fabric on chair arms, chips on the bathtub, holes from sconces being relocated were never spackled, can light was hanging out of the ceiling. Front desk gave me the incorrect time for my spa appt., then was snotty when they called to tell me I was 20 minutes late. Spa ended up shorting me my massage time because of the mix-up. The food in the restaurant was just alright. The staff in the restaurant seemed timid and as if they didn't know what they were doing. Even after tipping nicely the first meal (to let them know they could count on my generosity), they didn't seem to care. On my second night there, one of the outdoor cats slipped in the door and was allowed to sleep in the hearth a mere foot from my table. Not wearing a flea collar. I was SO disappointed, as our first visit was idyllic and we talked this place up all over. Even the Groupon rate for the 2nd stay was WAY too much for what I got.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else, unless you're a camper. They have campsites ranging from tents to canvas ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long beach
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This place has been a favorite of mine since it opened. It is just enough off the beaten path (hwy 1) that you will feel like you are camping, even though you are not. I don't care for the fact that it is now a koa motorhome park as well, but when we go, in the fall or early spring, we haven't had too many issues with unsightly RV people. I have stayed in the covered tent cabins. They have real beds, access to the comfort stations (bathroom) and access to the hot tub in the lodge. While I think the tent cabins are really cool, especially when you can hear the ocean, or hear barking packs of foxes while snuggled in an electric blanket...they are not all that private. Note: turn out the lights before undressing to avoid a shadow peep show for passers by! You get towels and a robe, etc, but our choice now that we have a little one is in the main lodge. The views on the valley side are the best. Make reservations at the resturaunt, go horseback riding and relax. There are tons of activities within the property, or just nearby; Butano State Park, the Elephant Seals & Pescadero...follow the goats to sample yummy goat cheeses. While not always the best customer service, they do try to please in a layback, earthy kind of way.

Room Tip: In the lodge, go for the valley views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

This was my first experience with glamping. The campsite and surrounding area are beautiful. The food was awesome as was the service provided by the team members. Camping in the tents was still pretty rustic. Having a bed was great, but it was still pretty cold!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

A great place for a romantic and active getaway. I had stayed in the lodge many years ago and it was very nice. At the time the Cascade restaurant was not in place and not having a good place to eat on the premises was inconvenient.
Move forward about a decade and I stayed in a canvas tent, a wonderful way to feel outdoors without roughing it. Loved the heating blankets that you can turn on in the evening and find your bed warm when you return from dinner. Loved breathing the fresh cold air at night and in the morning without being cold. The "comfort stations" are very, uh... comforting, warm, and clean. I even tried the outdoor shower and it was very pleasant.
The Cascade restaurant and bar is awesome. Great California cuisine, superb service and if you like martinis, their Negroni, my favorite drink, is one of the best I have had in a long time.
Of course the surrounding trails and beaches were splendid. Take the loop trail behind the resort and continue on by crossing the highway in another loop towards the Bluff and you will have an extraordinary diversity of landscapes all in 9 miles.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costanoa Coastal Lodge & Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costanoa Coastal Lodge & Camp

Address: 2001 Rossi Rd at Hwy 1, Pescadero, CA 94060
Location: United States > California > Pescadero
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Pescadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Costanoa Coastal Lodge & Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forget rough and rugged camping, here you can camp in luxurious style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Costanoa Coastal Lodge & Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costanoa Coastal Lodge & Camp Hotel Pescadero
Costanoa Coastal Lodge And Camp
Costanoa Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costanoa Coastal Lodge & Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.