We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When comparing hotels, almost everything is included here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Pebble Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Lodge at Pebble Beach to your Saves list
The Lodge at Pebble Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 17-Mile Drive, Pebble Beach, CA 93953   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Pebble Beach
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“When comparing hotels, almost everything is included here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The Lodge at Pebble Beach is out of this world. The views are like none you will ever see anywhere else and the service is unsurpassed.

What's remarkable about Pebble Beach when compared with other luxury properties, is that they don't nickel-and-dime you. High speed wireless internet is included free-of-charge, parking is included, and the business center is free (including unlimited printing). There are no bottles of water in the room with outrageous price tags on them; instead, housekeeping brings two complimentary bottles in the morning and two more at turn-down. In fact, even the soft drinks and snacks in the mini-bar are complimentary.

You even get 2-hours in a Lexus for free. I chose the LS 460 and took it on the 17-Mile Drive, which boasts incredible views.

There is a $20 service charge per night of you stay, but that includes all tipping for the bell staff, concierge, and housekeeping.

When you check in, the bell staff will find you a parking place and then put your bags on a golf cart and take you right to your door. Ice is brought to your room daily, there is no need to run anywhere with an ice bucket.

The staff is beyond helpful and takes care of any need you may have.

The restaurants are great. Be sure you have a drink in the Lodge at sunset overlooking the 18th hole, eat lunch at the Beach Club, a tucked away gem with incredible views that is missed by many guests. The Bench and Stillwater Grill also overlook the 18th green, with views of the mountains and the ocean.

Go into Carmel if you can - dolphins swim around the beach, and there are neat shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: If you are deciding between the Lodge and Spanish Bay, I would recommend staying at the Lodge. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    40
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
32
108
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsford, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The Lodge is a very nice place. I stayed in a mini-villa that was not in the main building. It was very nice. There was a fireplace inside our room, as well a great view out the back sliding glass doors. The beds were comfortable, and the service was incredible. Being on property at Pebble Beach was great, it made the entire experience so much better. It was very convenient being so close to the golf course, if I were to play pebble beach again, I would definitely stay at the lodge. The only downside to it was the price. It was an expensive place to stay in, and the amenities of the room didn't completely equal the steep price that we had to pay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

An Amazing place to stay and relax. The views are special and the weather so cool and moist. One of the more relaxing places to stay with great restaurants on the premise and lots to do and see if you want or enjoy the balcony's for that special view that is hard to find anywhere. I go here once a year to unwind and recharge my batteries for the rest of the year. Oh..The Golf is not too bad either..

Room Tip: Waterfront is best on the 18th green.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

If you are reading this review I am going to assume you are 1) a golfer and 2) have already decided to cross Pebble Beach off your bucket list and are just working out the details. For an avid golfer this is a forget about the cost, must make pilgrimage you have dreamed of for years (as it was for me). With you in mind, I will focus this review on what I learned from my stay and what I would do differently was I offered a mulligan.

First of all a brief overview of the Lodge Facility. The lodge itself is a beautiful old building with stunning views of the 18th hole and the ocean beyond. It houses several restaurants, the lobby and memorabilia from the various events held there. In front of the Lodge one finds a large putting green (kind of the town square) surrounded by shops on 2 sides and the first hole on the last. While the lodge feels turn of the century, the other buildings are more mid century and one almost expects Bob Hope to come strolling down the walkway.

The rest of the lodge (where the guestrooms are) is disappointingly plain and feels more like a mid level condominium complex than a luxury resort. That said the room interiors are large and nicely appointed although no where close to what one would normally expect at this price. The biggest novelty was the wood burning fireplace, perfect for the cool climate. That however, brings up the biggest issue we had with our room, no A/C. We live in a cool climate and have no A/C at home either but we have windows and fans. The rooms at the Lodge have neither, only a large sliding door (with no screen) and unless you leave it open the room gets stuffy. We were on the second floor and chose to leave it open while we slept but we would not have been comfortable doing this had we been on the ground floor. And even with this the room remained so stuffy my wife had trouble sleeping. We found the reservation agent we worked with to be completely unhelpful in selecting a room to meet our needs. In hind sight she kept suggesting the newer facility at Spanish Bay but to us that would not have been the same.

If, as I expect, you are an avid golf fan this is completely outweighed by the fact that you are in the center of the greatest public golf course in the United States. If this is you I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else unless you absolutely can't afford it. To this end I suggest the following: 1) Get an ocean view room. Yes, they are ridiculously expensive but so are the other rooms and this is probably a once in a lifetime trip! The reason isn't the ocean however, these rooms sit right on the 18th green so you can sit on your patio and watch all of the action. 2) Play Pebble more than once. You just can't take it all in over a single round and you will be so excited you will probably score poorly (as I did) too. Maybe it would be the case anyway but you will go home wanting to do it again even more than you wanted to do it in the first place.

While the Lodge is dated and in no universe worth the rates they charge, but you don't stay there for the rooms. I would do it again in a heartbeat and go even bigger next time.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are worth the extra dough
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We have never visited this part of CA before and we were very impressed when driving up the resort. The location is amazing!! The grounds are very well maintained and of course the golf course is spectacular. We arrived to the resort early (around 1pm) and were not able to check in so we drove to Carmel for lunch which is about 10 min. away. When we got back to the resort around 3, some of the other people in our party were able to check in but our room was not ready yet and were told to come back at 4pm. I went back to the front desk at 3:52 and was told by the front desk I had to wait till exactly 4pm before they could release my room, which I felt was a bit ridiculous, especially since 2 other parties we were with had already got their room keys. I waited in the lobby and at 4pm walked up to the desk and then was given our room keys.
We had a room with a slight ocean view on the 2nd floor. The week we were visiting they were actually having a "heat wave" (in the higher 70's). When we went to our room, we noticed that there was no AC, only a heater. There was also no ceiling fan, which would have made a huge difference, as the room was quite warm. There was a balcony that had sliding doors, so luckily being on the 2nd floor, we could keep these doors open all day/night to let the cool breeze in. Although at night, it could be a little noisy as the room was near the street leading up to the resort lobby area and you could hear the cars drive by and a lot of people talking/laughing when walking to their rooms. All in all thought the room is VERY nice and spacious with a living area and fireplace, large bathroom with separate shower/tub, a separate changing area and a large closet and built in drawers. The housekeepers would come in the evening and ask if you wanted a turn down service, in which they also left bottled water and chocolates.
We ate several nights at "The Beach" right on the 18th hole and overlooking the ocean. Food and drinks were delicious but the service could use some improvement and it was quite slow and they kept changing waiters every so often at our same table. (this happened all three times we ate here) We also ate breakfast (twice) at the restaurant near the putting area which was very good, but again service was very slow and each time had to locate our waiter to bring us the check. My husband played 3 rounds of golf and had an incredible experience and said the caddy's were so friendly, so much fun and very knowledgeable! Although there were some negative aspects of the stay, overall we had an amazing time and would definitely visit again. The scenery cannot be beat and we would definitely recommend this resort to anyone planning a visit to the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Expensive, and very first class. Very helpful staff, from the bellman to the housekeeper to the waiter bringing drinks on the terrace. And, of course, the golf. Pebble is a course you'll always do better on the second time around (because you know what's on the other side of the hill), but what a treat to play.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We were fortunate to share 3-nights at The Lodge with friends and clients this past weekend at Pebble Beach. From the moment you walk in the door until the minute you drive out, this place is First Class in every way!
Amazing views, the beauty of the ocean, the golf course, wonderful rooms with first class service and excellent food. It is a golfers paradise but also a great place for a romantic weekend.
Dinners at The Tap Room, The Bench, and breakfast at The Gallery made for great culinary experiences. A corkage fee of $35.00 per bottle at The Tap Room is the only negative I can comment on.
Pebble Beach is one of my favorite places on earth.

Room Tip: Try to book a room that faces the 18th fairway....amazing views of the ocean and world class golf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Pebble Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Pebble Beach

Address: 1700 17-Mile Drive, Pebble Beach, CA 93953
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pebble Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Pebble Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Pebble Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Despegar.com so you can book your The Lodge at Pebble Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Pebble Beach Hotel Pebble Beach
Hotel Pebble Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Pebble Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.