We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must golf for serious golfers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Pebble Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Lodge at Pebble Beach to your Saves list
The Lodge at Pebble Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 17-Mile Drive, Pebble Beach, CA 93953   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Pebble Beach
Waterford, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A must golf for serious golfers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The best part of this trip was golfing Pebble Beach with excellent caddies. I would have paid twice the fee to golf the course, the views and the experience was amazing. We also golfed Spyglass, the course was nice but very beat up. The room was surprisingly roomy and well stocked, great beds, nice balcony. The food was nice, sitting outside by the fire pits watching people play the 18th green was the best part of every evening!

Room Tip: Ask for balcony ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    40
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
32
108
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Went to Pebble last week for my 60th birthday, on my bucket list. Two nights, three rounds of golf , so excited. Unfortunately, from the moment we got there, we experienced too many miscues for a resort of that cost & stature. Very surprised to read other reviews about the champagne etc.that others received for their special occasion. The desk clerk did say Happy Birthday as I handed over my Amex card. Confusion about what we paid for at first course, no problem, told them we would straighten it out later at the front desk. Thought we had a package and based on email we received from PB, they said they understood the confusion, but no , we hadn't paid for the golf , just the room. Listed price per room ( $745) on email, tee times ( no prices) then deposit amt.$3380., then deposit pd. by our Amex. We assumed that was 1/2 pd as a deposit. That was really the entire room pd in full for both rooms for two couples. Ok, so it's going to cost us more than we thought. But when trash cans in ladies rooms at courses are overflowing onto the floor, not even given a bottle of water at the golf courses that cost $265- $480 pp to play & two hours before we check out, we return to our room to find the door wide open with the maid cleaning our room( said she just wanted to get a start on it), I'm more than a little disappointed. Felt ripped off. Realize that there is great demand, but don't abuse. Stayed in many resorts around the world, felt much more appreciated & taken care of as a customer .

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The Lodge is a nice facility. The rooms are large and updated, along with the bathroom. As part of a $20 facility fee, your non-alcoholic minibar usage and food is included in that fee. Which is nice. But to be honest you are not staying here for the room; it is the courses that you are here for which are fabulous. Your game gets better by playing the courses, and the common facilities are to be expected of the price you are paying. This is not a place to bring someone who does not play golf; they will be bored.

Their spa is adequate and their pool is just ok.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was the highlight of a 40th anniversary trip, and it did not disappoint. Playing Pebble Beach golf course once is a must do for every serious golfer. For a serious golfing couple it is mandatory, so my wife says. Spectacular scenery better even than I expected. Rooms are elegant, spacious, and comfortable. Food is my only complaint. Tap room food was very good for a "steakhouse" (never eaten at a steakhouse that did not serve baked potatoes) but so noisy that it drove us away the first night. The Stillwater Bar and Grill had a relatively limited menu with what we thought were poor selections. The selections we chose were not very good. Every thing else about the lodge was great. The price of the experience to play the Pebble Beach golf course, (green fees and room rates) are a bit excessive, but it is Pebble Beach.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the 18th green for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

If you are a golfer, you already know that you should experience paying those courses, but even if you are not a golfer, you should experience a stay at the Lodge. Staff is top notch, food is very good, and 17 mile drive is a great experience by walking, biking, or driving. As everything else in town, it is pricy though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfville, Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here for my partner's 50th. Obviously, this place is a landmark and we were in awe of the golf course.

The hotel is not worth the price paid, and I share the other reviewer's comments about ambient noise. It was VERY loud very early in the morning.

The room was large and the bathroom, in particular was lovely. The housekeeping was excellent, and the hotel provided champagne and a birthday card. Room service was wonderful and staff were caring and completely professional.

There is no air conditioning. We found that keeping the balcony door open helped, but this increased the noise.

If money is no object and you love golf, by all means stay here. There are many other places that have equivalent views and service at half the price.

Room Tip: There is no air conditioning, so you may want a room on a lower level or one that does not receive a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Every golfer should experience Pebble and the Lodge can be a part of that experience. However, the noise coming from below our room every morning starting around 4:30 was something I did not expect from a high end resort. Trash being emptied, carts and trucks passing, loud talking,etc. we were on the 2nd floor and it was warm so we opened the windows (no a/c). Service and staff were exceptional however. Food was very good.

Room Tip: We were in room 340. Close to first tee and putting green. I do not recommend anything that backs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Pebble Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Pebble Beach

Address: 1700 17-Mile Drive, Pebble Beach, CA 93953
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pebble Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Pebble Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Pebble Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Lodge at Pebble Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Pebble Beach Hotel Pebble Beach
Hotel Pebble Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Pebble Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.