We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC !!! Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Pebble Beach

Save Saved
You added The Lodge at Pebble Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lodge at Pebble Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 17-Mile Drive, Pebble Beach, CA 93953   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Pebble Beach
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“FANTASTIC !!! Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed at the Lodge for 4 days this had to be the best service i have ever recieved in my life. The gentleman at the front desk Travis,was so helpful,polite, a refreshing smile just a very nice young man.Thank you Travis keep up the good work we apperciate you. I hope your employer is good to you.
See you next time!

Room Tip: Ask for Travis, excellent guest service!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    33
    15
    9
    3
See reviews for
26
93
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Old Saybrook, CT
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

And I wasn't here to play golf. My wife and I were attending a conference and couldn't pass up the chance to return to Pebble Beach again. We ended up with an oceanfront room, literally just a wedge shot from the 18th green. Though we were disappointed to find 2 Queen beds instead of a King, it certainly didn't spoil our trip. After all we still sleep together. Our room was quite nice with a real fireplace, sitting area, marble bath & shower, makeup table and various amenities. The staff throughout the resort have been helpful, friendly and generally wonderful. This has been a stay to remember.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

If you want to get a tee time months in advance, you need to stay at the Lodge. Since we were on a very tightly planned golf trip, there was no other option than to stay here. The pros of the lodge are that the accommodations are nice, that the location is as convenient as one can imagine, and that the food at the restaurants is very good.

The rooms are OK. Nothing spectacular, really. Our room was right on the 1st fairway, so that was cool. The room had a functioning, wood burning fireplace, which was cool. Bathroom is all marble and nice and bedding was good. In the bathroom, only oddity was that there was no fan. That can be kind of a problem if you know what I mean.

As far as food goes, we ate dinner right in front of the fireplace at the Lodge where you can order from both the Tap Room and Stillwater Grill menus at the same time AND you have access to the full bar. That was a great experience. We ordered sushi appetizers and I then went with pan seared cod, which was fantastic. Their cocktails are excellent and we ordered some 2006 Heitz which was very good with dinner. Breakfast was eaten right across from the first tee box and it was what one would expect. Solid but unspectacular.

The bad news about the Lodge (and Pebble Beach Resort) is that everything is crazy expensive. Since PB mandates that you can only reserve a tee time way in advance by staying there, they have no incentive to price rooms relative to the competition. Result is that rooms are regularly well over $700/night. When you combine that with a round of golf that will set you back $500 plus a caddie or greenfee (another $80 + $25-$50 tips), you are looking at North of $1300 for a night of hotel and a round of golf. That's really nuts by any standard. The food is also very expensive across the board, although it doesn't hurt quite as badly after you have already shelled out $1300 for hotel and golf.

I would say that this was really a once-in-a-lifetime trip if for no other reason than doing it frequently will make you bankrupt :) Next time, I would op to stay a few more days, play 18 holes a day, stay in Carmel/Monterey and try to arrange tee times close-in so that I wouldn't have to stay at the Lodge purely for cost reasons.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

This has been on our life's to do list for years and it was a blast! We needed to stay 2 nights to be able to book Pebble Beach a few months out. The price hurts a little but it was excellent and glad we did it. We booked a standard room in the Lodge (they called it Lodge Garden), no view of ocean or golf course but we had a private garden patio with a water feature, very relaxing! Things started off wonderful with Terry, our bellman who gave us a quick tour of the property, we were early and could not check in before the tee time. The room was huge, sitting area, fireplace, large bath with separate shower and tub. Clean. We were in McComas Building which is just steps from the pro shop, the main Lodge and the shopping. Very easy to run up to The Gallery Restaurant and bring back pastries and breakfast sandwiches to enjoy on the patio at your own leisure. Played Pebble with a caddie, Chris was fantastic, and I would definitely recommend doing this, you'll get tips you wouldn't figure out otherwise. 17 Mile Drive was fun to do and I can't wait to watch the AT&T now that I'm familiar with where everything is. Something we will remember for a long time!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater MA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I tagged along on a friend's business trip otherwise this place is well beyond my budget. It was amazing. The staff was kind, the spa extremely pricey but if you are splurging anyhow then I think you should plan on a visit to the spa. The SPA was beyond amazing. Negatives for what you are paying (which I wasn't) 4:00 p.m. check in is unreasonable. Also maybe because it is a golf resort then it is geared to that but I would have liked to know that there was a gym. Okay maybe I wouldn't have gone but I would have liked to know it existed. Tip: for those of us that don't have massive amounts of cash the Pebble Beach Market is a great alternative for sandwiches and deli fare. I did shop at the lodge as well every staff member was amazingly polite and friendly.

Room Tip: We had an amazing room with a fireplace and an outdoor jacuzzi. The bathroom was the nicest bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

I give it zero star if I could!!!!! Came here for a mini vacation with my husband on a 3 days weekend... Unfortunately, the only memorable experience is disappointment after disappointment! We got to the hotel at 10am on Sat... The staff at the front desk told us the room was not ready yet which was fine b/c my husband had a tee time at 11:45am... We had our luggage checked in and we were told to go check in at the front desk after our round of golf. At 5:00pm we checked in and got our key and the bellman took us to our room but the minute we opened the door we saw instead of a king size bed which we have requested, we were given a 2 queen size bed room. The bellman immediately apologized and called the front desk to find out what happened. Then we were told they will switch us to a king size bed the next day and all we had to do was to call the front desk to take care of our begs and move us to the new room. Sunday morning we called the front desk to ask the status of our room switching situation after my husband returned from golf. First the staff told us there was no room available then after getting organized he told us the manager had reserved a room with light size bed for us... So we were told to leave our bags with the bellman and just check back in when we return from our outing. When my husband went to get the key to the new room at 3:40pm.. He was told by the front desk staffs that the room is not ready and no check in before 4:00! I have never been to any hotels that is this disorganized! We pay $800+/night and instead of memorable stay experience.. We got upsetting and disappointment experience! When I went and complain.. They said king size bed is not guarantee.. If it's not.. Why did your stupid staffs at the reservation department guarantee guests during the reservation?! Then knowing the fact that you guys already messed up and that you will need to switch our room why there was no rush order for the house keeping to clean up the room so it would be ready when we returned?! Check out time is 12:00pm.. So it took 4 hrs for house keeping to clean?! Everything was excuses after excuses and seriously bull crap! I have stayed at many high end hotels.. This is the first time to have such horrible experience!!!! I WILL NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE OR RETURN EVER IN MY WHOLE LIFE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We usually stay at low to mid-priced hotels. But for once in our life we went top shelf. And WOW ! Mystical....magical.....I was continually amazed that I was even there...walking the hallowed grounds. Service was great ! No need to tip. Resort is much smaller than I imagined. A must take is the bagpiper at sundown at Spyglass...around the fire pits. We played one round at Pebble. Better than I imagined. Walk and take a caddy. Our caddy, Pat, was great ! Helped my son's game, pointed our the local history and residents. We had a great weather day. Lots of photos taken and we still finished in 4:30. The room was awesome ! Look out my front door on the 1st tee. Look out my slider onto the Pacific. Yes, its pricey. But take out the home equity loan and treat yourself !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lodge at Pebble Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Pebble Beach

Address: 1700 17-Mile Drive, Pebble Beach, CA 93953
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pebble Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Pebble Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Pebble Beach 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lodge at Pebble Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Pebble Beach Hotel Pebble Beach
Hotel Pebble Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Pebble Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.