We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pebble Beach and Spanish Bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Pebble Beach

Save Saved
You added The Lodge at Pebble Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lodge at Pebble Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 17-Mile Drive, Pebble Beach, CA 93953   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Pebble Beach
Long Island, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pebble Beach and Spanish Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed for just one night. We stayed in a garden view room on the ground floor. The room was beautiful, very clean and fully stocked, with a real fireplace all set up to be lit. I would have expected nothing less. We went to the Lodge for a before dinner drink and was disappointed, the lobby was crowded and Tap Room was worse. We had dinner reservations at Spanish Bay so we decided to catch the shuttle instead. The lobby in Spanish Bay was massive, plenty of couches, a fireplace and even outdoor firepits. With waiter service we were able to get 2 cocktails before dinner. If we were going to stay again, which we said we would, we will stay at Spanish Bay.

Room Tip: If staying in the garden view rooms be sure to get ground floor, anything higher you'll be looki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    36
    16
    9
    3
See reviews for
31
99
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at The Lodge at Pebbles Beach for two nights in August 2012. The entrance gate to Pebbles is amazeing, you feel that Pebbles has that wow factor and a stay here will not dissapoint you. The staff is serviceminded and friendly. The Lodge with its restaurants is exclusive and with a fantastic golfing atmosphere. Our room was bigger than expected with a nice sofa and extra seating groupe. The bathroom had everything you expect with marble details. We had a room with seaview and a beatiful balcony. Just loved it.

We played golf at both Pebbles Beach and The Links at Spanish Bay. The weather was colder than expected, around 10 degrees celcius, with some headwind. My Golfeing dream was fullfilled and I'm sure I'll come back. It's costly but priceless to stay here If you're a golfer, a must for everybody.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have stayed at the Pebble Beach resorts before but this was the first time at the Lodge. We had a ground floor room adjacent to the famous 18th green which was perfect for us two golfers. We really liked the service everywhere from the moment we arrived. We felt as if we really mattered. Liked the fact that the soft drinks and snacks in the room were complimentary. We did use the fireplace on two evenings which gave the already very comfortable room that special touch. We ate at Roy's on the first evening. The food was great and they took care of my gluten-free diet - AND remembered every time we ate in the resort. We ate Thanksgiving dinner, a new experience for us, in Peppoli. Great food and service despite the fact the restaurant was packed. If you are a golfer this place is a must.

Room Tip: If you are a golfer, a room facing the 18th green is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Great service from the moment we arrived. James the concierge went out of his way (and yes, I know it's his job) to make us feel welcome. I often find hotel service a little 'fake' - but not here. They truly do seem to want you to have a great stay. Our room was superb, the food was great, and the golf course was, well - Pebble Beach... We had high expectations going in that were difficult to meet, but they were blown away with everything we experienced. I even forgot my passport in the room and they couriered it to me at the SFO airport (for only a small charge). Kudos - this bucket list trip will not be our last - we will be back as it was worth every penny.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Pebble Beach was on the bucket list to play gplf. We found we needed to stay 2 nights to play on Pebble Beach course. I felt the price was over the top when i booked however the golfing experience made up for the cost. We had a garden view room which was fine as we spent very little time in the room. The room was a very good size with room for decent sized lounge furniture and open fire. We played golf at Spyglass and Pebble Beach, both spectacular courses. We ate at Roy's at Spanish Bay which was great. Be there in time for the sunset and sit outside around the open fires with a drink and watch the sunset. We also at at The Bench at Pebble Beach where we were disappointented with the ambience, the food was fine.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you are considering splurging on yourself or your wife for that "bucket" list trip, you must consider The Lodge at Pebble Beach. I had the pleasure to visit this past June and experience the tradition like none other. My wife does not golf but she was blown away by the sheer beauty of coast line at Pebble and the 17 mile drive. While staying at the Lodge, the staff provides you with a "FREE" two hour use of a Lexus vehicle! What hotel gives you that experience?? We used it to visit Carmel which is just down the road. We drove that area along with the 17 mile drive. The staff upgraded our room with a view of the 18th - spectacular. The rooms are stately and my wife is still looking to buy the same mattress and sheets as what they provided. The bathroom had a sitting area along with a separate sink, shower and tub. It even had a fireplace. They even provide complimentary snacks and drinks in the room - nice touch. A great tip - my wife and I would take strolls in the early morning along the cart path of PB. It is after all, a public course and it is quite the site to see a sunrise from the 18th tee box. Although the overall trip was expensive, it is in a league that I normally do not get to experience - but well worth it. Service was great and the location even better. Need I say the golf was great?? I like it when you gather at the first tee, people watching as you tee up, the starter announcing your name - felt like I was playing the Pro Am.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upgrade that has a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

If you are a golf player, you have to make the trek to Pebble Beach. I stayed at The Lodge in Pebble Beach and it was spectacular. I wish I could give 6 stars for location!! If possible, try and get a room on the 18th hole, it is very convenient and has a fantastic view. If you are playing golf for the first time be advised that the course is cart path only. It is truly designed for walking. I would suggest getting a caddie, (an extra $80 per player not including tip but truly worth it). The Lodge also provides shuttle service to the Inn at Spanish Bay and the Spyglass golf course. Spyglass is also cart path only and I would advise carrying your bags if you forgo the caddie. If you are playing multiple courses, ask the pro shop and they will transfer your clubs so they are there waiting for you at each course.
The Tap room is a great steak and bar located at The Lodge. You will likely see celebrities or dignitaries. Great steaks and exceptional wine list. In the Lodge there is also a new restaurant called The Bench, very nice and a bit more modern-signature dish is the coffee-rubbed steaks-also great wine list. The Bench has fire pits in the patio which overlooks the 18th green. Cigar friendly usually after 9pm
Must not forget to mention the Inn at Spanish bay has a bagpipe player at sunset in their patio...very interesting.

Room Tip: Ask for something near the 18th hole. It is very convenient and has fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Pebble Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Pebble Beach

Address: 1700 17-Mile Drive, Pebble Beach, CA 93953
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pebble Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Pebble Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Pebble Beach 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your The Lodge at Pebble Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Pebble Beach Hotel Pebble Beach
Hotel Pebble Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Pebble Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.