We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Pebble Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Lodge at Pebble Beach to your Saves list
The Lodge at Pebble Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 17-Mile Drive, Pebble Beach, CA 93953   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Pebble Beach
Corbin, KY
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at the Lodge at Pebble Beach in a spa room! The price is crazy but I have to say it was spectacular!!! Playing Pebble Beach Golf Course was on our bucket list and we couldn't get a guaranteed tee time without staying at the lodge so we did it!! I have to say the spa room was worth the price!!! We loved it!!!

Room Tip: The spa room was fabulous!!!! We had a whirlpool outsid that was completely private and a wood-burni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    40
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
32
108
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manakin Sabot, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Dating back to 1919, the buildings are unimpressive until one enters their room. The rooms are large with a living room area and fireplace. Beautiful furnishings and incredibly comfortable bedding. The views are unparalleled. Bathroom area is perfect with a large shower, bath, separate vanity areas, and shampoos, etc. from the Spa. I was with a group of hard headed guys on a golf trip and even they had appreciation for the quality.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Other than being a golf mecca, the whole experience is fun - the shops, the sights, the people, the food, oh, and when the fog lifts, the views. I couldn't get enough of the views. It is VERY expensive for the average person, but if you can do it once, it's worth it.

Room Tip: September and October are the best "fog free" months
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Our group of seven adults had a fantastic time during our visit to historic Pebble Beach. There were seven of us in four rooms, and they did a great job keeping our rooms close together. We particularly enjoyed being able to hang out together in the larger of the four rooms and ordering room service while sitting around the fireplace (in August!).
It is a very special experience that most folks won't get to enjoy because of the expense involved. So if you are some of the lucky few, have a great time!

Room Tip: Paying for an ocen view room right next to the 18th green is an experience that you should really co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed in a suite overlooking the 18th Fairway at Pebble Beach. What a view and look into history. The newly remodled suite was very, very nice, although we couldn't get the wood to burn in the fireplace. We guess there was just too much moisture in the air. We also ate multiple meals at the Lodge. All were perfect and we got to eat an appetizer at the new restaurant called The Bench. The appetizer was called Bone Marrow. It was amazing. We've never heard of it before but it was just awesome. While at Pebble Beach we played golf. The golf course was also amazing. We weren't pleased with the lack of respect shown to us by the caddies people who chose to use caddies. We did not use caddies and chose to take a golf cart (free if you stay at the Lodge). They walked up behind us with clubs clinking (while we were hitting) and even talked while we putted. We assume our experience on the golf course would have been entirely different if we had chosen to take caddies. By the way, we are over 60 years old and were entirely comfortable using a cart. My handicap is 9.0 and I had no problem playing the course at all. Even with that said, our experience was awesome. Once in a lifetime for us. The suite was perfect!

Room Tip: You definitely want an Ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

There are not many golf resorts my wife truly enjoys but Pebble Beach is one of them. The classic lodge rooms with there wood burning fireplaces, numerous perks, and overall amazing service makes even a non golfer forget that golf is what made this place. The only reason I don't give it five stars is that the price needs to be lowered a tad. We stayed in the lowest price room with a view of the first tee box and fairway, and I felt the quietness of the location was nice to truly relax. The golf is obviously amazing and since I've played there before I can suggest you skip playing Spanish Bay and get rounds at Pebble and Spyglass which are both bucket list courses. If you need a break from Pebble courses get in a round at either Poppy Hills or Pacific Grove both great municipals with much lower prices. For the non golfer you get to use the Pebble Beach Swim and Tennis club which has a very nice pool right on the ocean with views of some of the best holes on the course. The restaurants in my opinion are good but nothing to write home about. You're better off driving into Carmel to eat at night in my opinion.

Room Tip: Make sure you inform them if you are there for a special reason, we got all kinds of stuff in our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Most hotels that provide the level of service and amenities that The Lodge provides would be rated 5 stars. But, I am only rating it with 4. Why?

In this echelon of premium properties, the stakes are raised. Pebble Beach is one of the most expensive hotels in the United States, and does provide an exemplary level of service and accomodations. But, there are some things that it could do that would improve its standing amongst these properties.
1) There are a lot of "general public" and "tour bus" milling about the grounds. I wondered quite a bit during my trip if rooms were as secure as they could be due to this. Also, as an example, as we finished our round on 18, there was a group of foreign tourists near the 18th green who were allowing their children to play in the sandtraps! No one from the property was willing to say anything.
2) I think they cut some corners because of the "motel" style rooms that open to the outside rather than hallways, and having centralized corridors. This cheapens the feel some.
3) The property is very spread out. The workout club is about 1/2 mile from the rooms (which isn't a problem if you are going to go workout, but for a swim in 55 degree weather, it makes it a little daunting).
4) The restaurants are very good but not great.

The positives though outweigh these things in overall satisfaction. This is a wonderful, once-in-a-lifetime experience. The employees are generally very friendly and helpful, especially those on the lower rungs of the ladder...such as golf course starters, bell hops and waitstaff. All in all, a "Very Good" hotel at this price point and level of expectations.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 3rd floor of the Garden View blocks to have a great view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Pebble Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Pebble Beach

Address: 1700 17-Mile Drive, Pebble Beach, CA 93953
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pebble Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Pebble Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Pebble Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Despegar.com so you can book your The Lodge at Pebble Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Pebble Beach Hotel Pebble Beach
Hotel Pebble Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Pebble Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.